Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spaghetti Sauce to Die For Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spaghetti Sauce to Die For

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on October 02, 2001

      Very Good. I used fresh tomatoes though since I have so many. And fresh basil. Other than that, I followed this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2001

      My 11 year old made this as a math project. He used all ingredients and exact measurements. It is wonderful. Easy to make. Worth the extra time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2002

      My family loved this sauce. Instead of 2 Cups of water I added 1 cup white wine and 1 cup of water and it was very good. This is one that I will keep and I am making it again and will double the recipe and freeze some.....Thanks for sharing this! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2002

      The recipe was pretty easy to follow and the results were great! I did skim on the time though from the recommended to about 45 min worth of shimmering as I was pushed for time and it still tasted really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

    • on December 18, 2009

      Oh my goodness this is the best spaghetti sauce. I will never buy a jar of sauce again. Very easy and delicious. Thanks for sharing this recipe Luke Meakins :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      YUM! Love it, my child loves it! Also great over shrimp, and to use for lasagna, which I am using what I froze last time

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      I didn't care for this much. To me, it wasn't anything special other than a normal spaghetti sauce. I was hoping for a "unique" taste. The only difference I made was using ground turkey instead of beef. Normally there isn't that much of a flavor difference with me, but who knows. I've made some awesome meatloaves with turkey as well as meatballs so I thought this would be okay as well. Back to basics I guess.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      I added half wine and half water in place of the 2 c. water. I also added mushrooms and omitted the green peppers (personal preference). Great sauce recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2007

      Tasty! Easy, full of flavor. As suggested in reviews, I also used 1 c. dry white wine and 1 c. water instead of water alone. Had to add a bit more sugar and salt and forgot the lemon juice at the end, but it was still great!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      good basic sauce. I used it as the basis for a deliciuos fridge cleaner (basically any thing that didn't glow in the dark )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2005

      This was a very nice sauce -- thick and tasty. I, too, used fresh tomatoes from the garden and substituted a little wine (about 1/2 cup) for some of the water. Because I was using fresh, juicy, run-of-the-mill garden tomatoes rather than "paste" tomatoes, I cooked them up a bit first before adding the meat and spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2005

      Just a basic sauce. Nothing really jumped out at you. We added some red pepper flakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2005

      This recipie certianly did not need any adjustments. I however have a garden that is out of control so I changed a few things to fit my needs. I omited the ground beef and the green pepper. I used 7-8 cups fresh chopped tomatoes, added another can of tomato paste, and 2 tablespoons fresh parsley. I also just threw it in the crockpot overnight. It is an amazing sauce and it actually woke my hubby up in the middle of night because it smelled so good....LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2005

      I really liked this recipe. I started making it at about noon and served it at 5:30pm. It simmered all that time and was great. I left out the lemon juice, and the following day I turned it into chili for unexpected dinner guests! Imagine that!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2005

      My youngest DS requested spaghetti for his Birthday supper, so I thought I would give this one a try, so glad I did, time consuming but worth every second (Hmm..so this is what 'real' spaghetti sauce tastes like) I'm usually time crunched and opt for jarred!. Instead of adding white wine like one reviewer mentioned I added Burgandy wine-Ohhh.. the aroma! I did add an aditional 1/2 c. water and an additional 1/2 c. red wine because I added #92095 Authentic Meatballs to this. Thanks so much Luke Meakins!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2005

      I would use this recipe again. I think the secret is cooking it so long. Also, was able to use my fresh herbs. Very good~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2005

      I had looked high and low for a great spaghetti sauce, this one hits the bulls-eye. I just put a little less oregano and more basil. FABULOUS!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2004

      This recipe is great! My five year old daughter helped. It was very easy to follow,easy to make and it taste like you were in the kitchen for hours!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2004

      Very good recipe. I left out the green pepper as well as I find it doesn't look overly appealing after a long simmering time. I added 1 T Italian seasoning near the end as we like it a little spicier. Next time I may substitute 1 pound of Italian sausage for one of the pounds of ground beef just to give it more zing.Overall it is a great recipe that I highly recommend. Thanks Luke for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spaghetti Sauce to Die For

    Serving Size: 1 (530 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 427.8
     
    Calories from Fat 209
    48%
    Total Fat 23.2 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 8.9 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 102.8 mg
    34%
    Sodium 1208.8 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.7 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 5.1 g
    20%
    Sugars 14.7 g
    58%
    Protein 31.5 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes