21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very Good. I used fresh tomatoes though since I have so many. And fresh basil. Other than that, I followed this recipe.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lali October 02, 2001

My 11 year old made this as a math project. He used all ingredients and exact measurements. It is wonderful. Easy to make. Worth the extra time.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jackie3 December 04, 2001

My family loved this sauce. Instead of 2 Cups of water I added 1 cup white wine and 1 cup of water and it was very good. This is one that I will keep and I am making it again and will double the recipe and freeze some.....Thanks for sharing this! :)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janet W July 14, 2002

The recipe was pretty easy to follow and the results were great! I did skim on the time though from the recommended to about 45 min worth of shimmering as I was pushed for time and it still tasted really good.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
May January 13, 2002

Oh my goodness this is the best spaghetti sauce. I will never buy a jar of sauce again. Very easy and delicious. Thanks for sharing this recipe Luke Meakins :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DEANA L. December 18, 2009

YUM! Love it, my child loves it! Also great over shrimp, and to use for lasagna, which I am using what I froze last time

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lanie's Luxuries June 10, 2009

I didn't care for this much. To me, it wasn't anything special other than a normal spaghetti sauce. I was hoping for a "unique" taste. The only difference I made was using ground turkey instead of beef. Normally there isn't that much of a flavor difference with me, but who knows. I've made some awesome meatloaves with turkey as well as meatballs so I thought this would be okay as well. Back to basics I guess.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CabinKat February 18, 2009

I added half wine and half water in place of the 2 c. water. I also added mushrooms and omitted the green peppers (personal preference). Great sauce recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wholelottagall August 21, 2008

Tasty! Easy, full of flavor. As suggested in reviews, I also used 1 c. dry white wine and 1 c. water instead of water alone. Had to add a bit more sugar and salt and forgot the lemon juice at the end, but it was still great!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SReiff March 21, 2007
Spaghetti Sauce to Die For