Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spaghetti Sauce Italiano Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spaghetti Sauce Italiano

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on October 10, 2013

      Fantastic sauce! Will definitely make this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2010

      Very simple and very, very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      We made this recipe exact. I personally didn't care for the amount of heat that I had gotten from the red pepper flakes. Maybe we should have cut it in half. I didn't get much tomato flavor, probably could have used a better tomato paste. I also feel that the spices didn't add much to the sauce either, but may be better added towards the end to enhance the flavor a bit. We are keeping this recipe to have fun experimenting with. And one last note, when using fresh mushrooms you certainly don't need a whole 8 oz. I would suggest a bit less than half. 8 oz. canned would probably be okay. Thanks for posting Maine-iac!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      Great sauce, it takes a while to make but it is worth the wait. I didn't put a green pepper in because the peppers at the supermarket didn't really look good to me but I will put them in next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      VERY GOOD. Try using red bell pepper in place of the green pepper for a slight variation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      I made this last week and it was exactly what I was looking for in taste. Excellent flavor! I really love red wine added in spaghetti sauces. The only different thing I did was to put the can of diced tomatoes in the blender first to smooth them out a bit as I have a daughter who's not crazy about chunky tomatos in things. I also added 1 pound of lean ground beef to make a meat sauce. This would be great to make a double batch and freeze ahead. Pam

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2006

      I just made my second batch of this GREAT SAUCE. the first was as shown, the second was quadrupled. It freezes and thawes without loss of appearance or flavor. I fill sandwich sized zip lock bags, each holds 2 servings. When frozen. I place the bags into a larger bag that is labeled and dated. It's nice to have a freezer full of good stuff for quick meals or unexpected company.Thanx for sharing this great recipe. Pierre

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2006

      Very good sauce that I will make again and again. Definately printer worthy! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2004

      I doubled this recipe, which called for a lot of the WINE, but it simmered down nicely. I then added water to thin it some. Added some frozen Italian meatballs, and served 6 people easily (over whole wheat spaghetti noodles) with 2-3 servings left. I added fresh cracked pepper & 2 pinches of kosher salt, and I had to add a bit more sugar b/c my canned tomatoes were a bit bitter. Oh, I left out the green peppers b/c I didn't have any! Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2002

      This cooks a long time, but the time to put it together is minimal. It is very good. I made the whole recipe and there is only my husband and me so I froze the leftovers. I'll be curious to see how it tastes reheated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spaghetti Sauce Italiano

    Serving Size: 1 (328 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 196.5
     
    Calories from Fat 68
    34%
    Total Fat 7.5 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 351.3 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.7 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 12.0 g
    48%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites