Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spaghetti Sauce and Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spaghetti Sauce and Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on February 22, 2007

      Family loves it!!!!The meatballs are great when they first come out of the oven. It is hard not to eat them before putting them in the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      These meatballs are delicious. I prepared using Prego instead . I also subbed oats for crumbs.My husband said it was the best spaghetti he'd ever had he went on and on . Truly a keeper. Thanks!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      The flavor was EXCELENT and the meatballs really made this dish. SO satisfying and SO tasty. The measurment of meatballs to sauce was perfect. Just enough of everything and plenty left over for tomorrow! Thank you for sharing! P.S. - For fun I added mushrooms and a splash of red wine to the sauce before simmering and I browned the meatballs on the stove before putting them in the oven. Turned out fantastic.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      I was looking for a "meatball" recipe. ( I will try the sauce another time as already had some simmering on the stove). Did not have dry breadcrumbs on hand so used 1 & 1/2 cups of fresh bread crumbs and added the herbs, plus some dried parsley to the crumbs before adding to the Ground Chuck. These were absolutely the BEST meatballs I've ever eaten. Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2003

      I had never made spaghetti sauce without my trusty jar, so this was really easy and so-o-o good. Everyone enjoyed it. I added about 1/4 cup of red wine during the one hour simmer time, too. Served with garlic bread, a green salad, and a glass of merlot...this was totally fulfilling! Thanks a lot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2003

      We're STUFFED! It took a while to make but boy was it worth it!! Everyone loved the meatballs and the sauce sure is much better then the store bought. I used Mediterranean Basil leaves in the meatballs and sauce I think it really added to the overall flavor. I served five of us and there is still enough sauce for another meal. Thanks for the recipe Sheri it is a KEEPER!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2011

      Wrote a review earlier today and don't know what happened to it. What I said was, I did not know how to rate this. Because I liked the meatballs very much and will keep the recipe for them. But I did not like the sauce. It tasted strongly of tomato paste and just was not very good, in my opinion. I do, however, thank you for sharing your recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2011

      I thought this recipe was absolutely fantastic. I've made it 3 different times now and consistantly have gotten amazing compliments on it. The only thing I do different is I make the meatballs but throw them into the sauce 30 minutes before the sauce is done and they cook up just fine and it cuts the time down a lot and still tastes great! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2011

      This is almost as easy as opening a jar, and it tastes sooooo much better. My son was asking for his spaghetti with meatballs and I chose your recipe and am so glad I did. I served this with a lettuce salad and garlic bread. Thank you so much for sharing a favorite of your with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2011

      The meatballs are wonderful. Sometimes I sub 1/2 lb of italian sausage with the beef. I'm not a big meatball fan, but my boyfriend keeps asking for these again and again. It's great on the nights I don't know what to make for dinner. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

    • on August 12, 2009

      The meatballs are incredible and so easy to make! This is a fabulous recipe and a hit with the family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2009

      We really enjoyed this spaghetti sauce & meatballs... I started this on the stove, then threw it into my crock pot to simmer while we went to the movies. I followed the recipe pretty closely, adding a teaspoon of Italian seasonings to the sauce, omitting the black pepper and adding a couple dashes of crushed red pepper. Also, I omitted the sugar - I don't think it needed it. I didn't measure my olive oil, but I don't think I used anywhere near 1/4 cup. I just coated the bottom of my pan with it. Also, I added the suggested amount of garlic and thought it was the perfect amount (I had read through some of the comments that said there was too much garlic) - but I really enjoy the flavor of garlic in Italian cooking. The meatballs were really good - they had great texture and really added a lot of flavor to the sauce. I only put in 1/2 of the amount of basil and oregano in the meatballs, and added some dried parsley. Also, I added a finely chopped onion to the meatball mixture. This made a LOT of meatballs & sauce - we'll have left-overs tomorrow & I still have plenty to freeze for later. Great recipe, one I'm sure I'll make again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2009

      I used this recipe for the meatballs because I haven't ever made them before. I make my own sauce and it's always been a chunky meat sauce. Craving spaghetti and meatballs, I found this recipe and tried it out. I doubled the garlic and grated parmesan. They came out so yummy! Great recipe, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      I've tried many spaghettti sauce recipes on 'zar. Some are very labor intensive and some are very simple, but I always come back to this one. (I don't usually follow any recipe for meatballs.) The taste is equal to time and labor put into it. I don't feel like I toiled too much for a 'okay' result and it certainly doesn't taste like it came out of a jar or took 15 minutes to make. Thank you, Sheri.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      I have never used a recipe for sauce before, the spice on this was just right. I thought the meatballs were a little heavy, but the taste was good. The next time I will cook the meat in the sauce like i usually do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      This is my absolute favorite spaghetti sauce recipe because I use my home grown tomatoes(instead of diced) Any other recipe I tried is too acidic with garden tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      I just made the meatballs, not the sauce. We both loved them, but it ended up seeming like too much garlic. I cut the recipe in half, and used one large clove of garlic. The too-strong garlic taste might have been because of the large clove. I'll try this recipe again using a smaller clove.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      This is an excellent recipe. I did not use more than 1/8 cup olive oil however. Otherwise I followed recipe exactly and it was exceptional. Meatballs were firm, great tasting and moist; the sauce held together well, was not watery and very flavorful. (I took 1/2 of the recipe to a friend who had a knee cap fracture.) Very easy to put together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2007

      I have always been scared to make this from scratch, for no good reason... I LOVE THIS! We all loved it. Excellent, not complicated, wonderful meal. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spaghetti Sauce and Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (993 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1392.0
     
    Calories from Fat 691
    49%
    Total Fat 76.8 g
    118%
    Saturated Fat 25.5 g
    127%
    Cholesterol 406.7 mg
    135%
    Sodium 5403.5 mg
    225%
    Total Carbohydrate 94.0 g
    31%
    Dietary Fiber 16.5 g
    66%
    Sugars 44.1 g
    176%
    Protein 88.7 g
    177%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites