33 Reviews

Family loves it!!!!The meatballs are great when they first come out of the oven. It is hard not to eat them before putting them in the sauce.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Renee H. February 22, 2007

These meatballs are delicious. I prepared using Prego instead . I also subbed oats for crumbs.My husband said it was the best spaghetti he'd ever had he went on and on . Truly a keeper. Thanks!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l.church June 08, 2010

The flavor was EXCELENT and the meatballs really made this dish. SO satisfying and SO tasty. The measurment of meatballs to sauce was perfect. Just enough of everything and plenty left over for tomorrow! Thank you for sharing! P.S. - For fun I added mushrooms and a splash of red wine to the sauce before simmering and I browned the meatballs on the stove before putting them in the oven. Turned out fantastic.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. Baker March 06, 2010

I was looking for a "meatball" recipe. ( I will try the sauce another time as already had some simmering on the stove). Did not have dry breadcrumbs on hand so used 1 & 1/2 cups of fresh bread crumbs and added the herbs, plus some dried parsley to the crumbs before adding to the Ground Chuck. These were absolutely the BEST meatballs I've ever eaten. Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
M. Joan February 08, 2010

I had never made spaghetti sauce without my trusty jar, so this was really easy and so-o-o good. Everyone enjoyed it. I added about 1/4 cup of red wine during the one hour simmer time, too. Served with garlic bread, a green salad, and a glass of merlot...this was totally fulfilling! Thanks a lot.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Freda2 Brown July 17, 2003

We're STUFFED! It took a while to make but boy was it worth it!! Everyone loved the meatballs and the sauce sure is much better then the store bought. I used Mediterranean Basil leaves in the meatballs and sauce I think it really added to the overall flavor. I served five of us and there is still enough sauce for another meal. Thanks for the recipe Sheri it is a KEEPER!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J June 25, 2003

My wife and I made this but the only meat we had on hand was a mix of beef and pork. WOW the result was absolutely outstanding! Sorry Mom, this is without a doubt the best meat balls and sauce combo that I've ever had. Still salivating 4 weeks later!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Chelios January 31, 2015

Wrote a review earlier today and don't know what happened to it. What I said was, I did not know how to rate this. Because I liked the meatballs very much and will keep the recipe for them. But I did not like the sauce. It tasted strongly of tomato paste and just was not very good, in my opinion. I do, however, thank you for sharing your recipe with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Okra November 28, 2011

I thought this recipe was absolutely fantastic. I've made it 3 different times now and consistantly have gotten amazing compliments on it. The only thing I do different is I make the meatballs but throw them into the sauce 30 minutes before the sauce is done and they cook up just fine and it cuts the time down a lot and still tastes great! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Choochamo November 03, 2011

This is almost as easy as opening a jar, and it tastes sooooo much better. My son was asking for his spaghetti with meatballs and I chose your recipe and am so glad I did. I served this with a lettuce salad and garlic bread. Thank you so much for sharing a favorite of your with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour February 28, 2011
Spaghetti Sauce and Meatballs