Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spaghetti Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spaghetti Sauce

    Average Rating:

    55 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 55

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2003

      AngelicFantasia, terrific recipe! I used homemade Italian sausage (given to us by friends) and followed the recipe exactly. It was delicious. I used for (Stuffed Cabbage Rolls) Stuffed Cabbage Rolls, by MizzNezz, and still had enough leftover to freeze for later and to share with the friend's who shared the sausage. Thanks for a winner! Oh, and it was so simple to get the sauce going on the stove while I spent a few hours in the kitchen preparing other things as well. : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2003

      I doubled the recipe when I made this and was able to serve 6 people and had enough leftover (which I froze in quart jars) for 2 more meals! I made it in the crockpot and let it cook on high for about 5 hours. I didn't add any sausage but served it with meatballs instead and it turned out great! It's an excellent sauce and much better than store-bought. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2003

      I made this (doubled it) for my once a month cooking. Used it on Calzones, and will use it for spaghetti. Wonderful flavor, and I love the texture. (I am accustomed to meatless sauces)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2010

      Excellent! I had to sub the sausage for ground beef because it was what we had, and it was still excellent! Thanks for a great recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2011

      This is way too salty. I followed the recipe exactly and used Johnsonville Four Cheese Italian Sausage. If I try it again, I will omit the 2 tsp of salt completely, and probably will use ground beef. I couldn't taste any tomato flavor - or any other flavor - other than salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2010

      This sauce was okay. I followed it, except I used 3/4 pound sausage rather than the 1 pound it calls for. I don't know what I did wrong, but it tasted bitter. I added a little more sugar and that helped. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2010

    • on November 09, 2010

      Great! Needed a good basic sauce so doubled the recipe, omitted the sausage, and added about a tablespoon of olive oil. Simmered on the stove. This made about 4 quarts of sauce, and I froze the leftovers in quart jars for future meals. Next time I'll try the sausage. Thanks for sharing the recipe! Update: Made another batch with Italian sausage and it was really good. Forgot to add in my earlier review that I cut the salt down. This time I followed the recipe for the sausage version, but added only 1 t salt, and my kids commented that it was too salty. I'll watch that next time. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2010

      With picky hubby, I was about to give up on making homemade spaghetti sauce. I wanted spaghetti tonight, so I looked one more time and found this recipe. It's the last one I'll ever use. Everyone loved it, even my son, who is even pickier than my husband! There were no leftovers. Next time, I'm at least doubling the recipe to freeze.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      Great recipe, Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

    • on March 20, 2009

      Very Good! My only changes were to skin the hot Italian sausage before cooking, and to add 1 tsp of ground fennel seeds which I feel gives it that authentic Italian taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      Yummy! This was great. I was attempting to make something to fill the "jarred sauce" void - both in my belly and in my wallet! I thought this was super easy and very yummy. DH and I ate half and froze the other half for later. I ditched the italian sausage and subbed homemade vegetarian meatballs. Will make again often! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      Thank you for posting. I loved this recipe and it's definitely worth making. I'm going to make another batch and double the batch size. My favorite part was the fresh parsley. I also used the fresh equivalent for the other spices as well and it turned out well. The house smelled great while this was simmering. I started by making this with Italian sausage made from chicken meat, and the sausage let out hardly any juice or flavor. The dish was really lacking without the meat juices, so I quickly put in beef sausage, and wow it tasted so amazing with that beef Italian sausage flavor! Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      This was a really nice deep flavored sauce. I didn't use any sausage. At first I thought it tasted too sweet, but after the 2 hr cooking time it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      I just had to put my review on this sauce. I was searching for a new recipe and was shocked to find this recipe. I have been making this sauce for years! I use the huge 128 oz. crushed tomatoes that can be purchased from Sam's for under $3. I get tons of leftovers to freeze and use for all of my Italian meals. I just double the herbs. I omit the sugar and decrease the salt. It is also great without the meat--I just add meat as needed to the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      Tasted great! Unfortunately, the tomato sauce I bought was actually pasta sauce and was already pre-flavoured. I think this detracted a bit from the flavours that the spices added. Had it been plain sauce this would have been even better! This does freeze very well (but we found that the italian sausage tasted a bit funny after freezing, which was really weird because that isn't usually the case). Anyways, don't make the mistakes I did and you'll really enjoy this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2007

      Yummy! I am not big on Spaghetti, but I have now permanently changed my mind. I did mine in the crockpot like some of the others and the house smelt wonderful! Good aroma!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2007

      This was good, my mom's is still better though. But it was not bad, better then any sauce out of a jar I had so far, and better then some restaurant sauces. I made it with sausage and ended up simmering it in the crookpot for 3 hours on high, then I kept it warm overnight and it ended up well blended and thick by the next morning. As with all bolognese type sauces, a loooooong heating/simmer time will improve taste and texture...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      Good flavor. Could be a little more hearty (sauce was somewhat runny). Saute 1 lb. ground serloin (or 1 lb. turkey for lighter cuisine) with the sausage. Transfer to a crock pot. Saute onions, garlic, 1 cup fresh mushrooms (or small can) and 1/2 green pepper. Add to crock. Then, "burn" tomato paste (3, 6-oz cans) in a little bit of olive oil in skillet. Decrease sugar to 1/2 T. Add one 15 oz. can of diced tomatoes and 3 oz. sliced olives (shredded carrots may also be added). The flavor was quite good. SERVING SUGGESTION: crusty bread with Dipping Oil (Dipping Oil for Bread).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spaghetti Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (384 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 531.4
     
    Calories from Fat 286
    53%
    Total Fat 31.8 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 11.1 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 64.6 mg
    21%
    Sodium 4560.2 mg
    190%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.1 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 7.5 g
    30%
    Sugars 24.3 g
    97%
    Protein 28.3 g
    56%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites