24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We all thought this was really good. I too used only one can of paste and added some chicken broth. I put a little oregano and basil and some meatballs. I think it is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hanson1326 January 18, 2011

The bones of this recipe I think are fairly solid, however, I found that by itself the recipe is bland. I fried my moose meat with the onion and garlic as other have to skip a step. I also didn't want the added fat from the butter. I pureed fresh frozen tomatoes from the garden to make my own diced tomatoes and then used a can of store bought tomato sauce and a can of tomato paste. I added 3 times as much fresh mushroom as called for in the recipe and also some fresh spinach (family favorites). I used stevia instead of sugar for a healthier alternative. For spices I used paprika as called for in the recipe. I also added oregano and basil as many others had. Because I used fresh tomato puree I had to add a little extra salt. For that extra kick I was looking for I added chipotle pepper and cumin. As I said the foundation is good but the rest leaves little to be desired. Won't be making this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby, Sarah & Eli's Mom January 14, 2011

Made this yesterday with baked shells and it came out delicous.Used more ground beef and left out mushrooms as no one in the family loves them.Thanks for posting will definetly make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmy April 26, 2009

Made this last night for a birthday dinner and it was a HUGE hit!! Made with ground turkey and added basil and oregano as suggested by others. Also cooked the onion along with the meat to skip a step. VERY good - my kids keep asking for left-overs today and are bummed when I tell them there are none!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nibbles & Bits January 26, 2009

Delicious! It makes a ton (more than 6 cups for me), but it's worth it...I've put 2 more dinners in the freezer for later. I had some fresh tomatoes from my mom's garden (and I don't like fresh tomatoes) so decided to make this sauce...Used one fresh tomato with 1.5 cans diced tomatoes w/green peppers, well blended with an immersion blender. Left out the mushrooms and added about 1 tsp each basil, oregano and thyme. I made it without the meat and will just add it to the browned meat whenever I pull it out of the freezer. Made the sauce yesterday and made the first dinner tonight. Wonderful, thick, rich sauce! Thanks for posting! Will definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 August 05, 2008

I've been looking for a homemade spaghetti sauce recipe and decided to give this one a try when my daughter needed to make a spaghetti Valentine's Day lunch for school. I did make a few changes after reading some reviews: I used 1 can tomato paste, 1 (15 oz) can tomato sauce, 1 tsp basil, 1 tsp oregano, and since it was being served to children, I didn't add the mushrooms. We got thank you notes sent home from school saying it was the best spaghetti they had tasted!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoriL February 25, 2008

This is great. I added a little basil and oregano as others recommended. Used no salt added for all the tomato ingredients and didn't use the mushrooms. I simmered for about 90 minutes. Very simple to make and really great. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ICKRS November 07, 2007

I thought this was really good. I followed the recipe exactly, however, left out the mushrooms(for the kids). We did use the tip of another user and thined the sauce with some beef broth. Thanks Alot

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goertzski October 08, 2007

This is the best spaghetti sauce EVER! My family of four ate most of it the first night and finished it off for lunch the next day... The only changes I made were to use italian sausage instead of beef, and I used two cans of sauce and one of paste since other people said it was a little thick. Also, I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned as a personal preference. It came out perfect!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
neona503 November 08, 2006

Excellent sauce! Tastes great cold too! Thank you. Sean

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sean 72 September 07, 2006
Spaghetti Sauce