Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spaghetti Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spaghetti Sauce

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on January 18, 2011

      We all thought this was really good. I too used only one can of paste and added some chicken broth. I put a little oregano and basil and some meatballs. I think it is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      The bones of this recipe I think are fairly solid, however, I found that by itself the recipe is bland. I fried my moose meat with the onion and garlic as other have to skip a step. I also didn't want the added fat from the butter. I pureed fresh frozen tomatoes from the garden to make my own diced tomatoes and then used a can of store bought tomato sauce and a can of tomato paste. I added 3 times as much fresh mushroom as called for in the recipe and also some fresh spinach (family favorites). I used stevia instead of sugar for a healthier alternative. For spices I used paprika as called for in the recipe. I also added oregano and basil as many others had. Because I used fresh tomato puree I had to add a little extra salt. For that extra kick I was looking for I added chipotle pepper and cumin. As I said the foundation is good but the rest leaves little to be desired. Won't be making this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      Made this yesterday with baked shells and it came out delicous.Used more ground beef and left out mushrooms as no one in the family loves them.Thanks for posting will definetly make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      Made this last night for a birthday dinner and it was a HUGE hit!! Made with ground turkey and added basil and oregano as suggested by others. Also cooked the onion along with the meat to skip a step. VERY good - my kids keep asking for left-overs today and are bummed when I tell them there are none!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      Delicious! It makes a ton (more than 6 cups for me), but it's worth it...I've put 2 more dinners in the freezer for later. I had some fresh tomatoes from my mom's garden (and I don't like fresh tomatoes) so decided to make this sauce...Used one fresh tomato with 1.5 cans diced tomatoes w/green peppers, well blended with an immersion blender. Left out the mushrooms and added about 1 tsp each basil, oregano and thyme. I made it without the meat and will just add it to the browned meat whenever I pull it out of the freezer. Made the sauce yesterday and made the first dinner tonight. Wonderful, thick, rich sauce! Thanks for posting! Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      I've been looking for a homemade spaghetti sauce recipe and decided to give this one a try when my daughter needed to make a spaghetti Valentine's Day lunch for school. I did make a few changes after reading some reviews: I used 1 can tomato paste, 1 (15 oz) can tomato sauce, 1 tsp basil, 1 tsp oregano, and since it was being served to children, I didn't add the mushrooms. We got thank you notes sent home from school saying it was the best spaghetti they had tasted!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      This is great. I added a little basil and oregano as others recommended. Used no salt added for all the tomato ingredients and didn't use the mushrooms. I simmered for about 90 minutes. Very simple to make and really great. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      I thought this was really good. I followed the recipe exactly, however, left out the mushrooms(for the kids). We did use the tip of another user and thined the sauce with some beef broth. Thanks Alot

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2006

      This is the best spaghetti sauce EVER! My family of four ate most of it the first night and finished it off for lunch the next day... The only changes I made were to use italian sausage instead of beef, and I used two cans of sauce and one of paste since other people said it was a little thick. Also, I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned as a personal preference. It came out perfect!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2006

      Excellent sauce! Tastes great cold too! Thank you. Sean

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2006

      This was so tasty! It is now my favorite sauce. Of course I tweaked it to out liking, more garlic, italian sausage. But the basic sauce is incredible!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2006

      Not much more that can be said. A very flexable sauce. I added 1 tsp of both oregano and basil and had to add 1/2 cup of Chianti wine...Had too. Everone I have introduced this sauce for loves it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2006

      I love this recipe. It is easy to make and tastes like you you cooked all day. It also freezes very well so I make extra and use for quick meals. I have not bought a jar of sauce since.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2006

      My son said give this five stars and we all agreed. This is the best s.sauce I've ever made! I used 1 lb. breakfast sausage, 1 lb. ground beef, 1/2 lb. fresh mushrooms, 2 cloves sliced garlic and less salt. I ommited the paprika but may have the courage to try it next time.(It's not something I'm familiar with and it dosn't sound Italian.) I'm looking forward to using my own tomatoes when they ripen! I made some pesto to go on the side. This was a very flavorful dish. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2006

      Loved it! I've tried lots, but I love the thickness in this one. I did hoewever modify it. Like, Michelle0706, I added 1 tsp of oregano and basil. I also added some cayenne pepper for spice and threw in an extra clove of garlic along with green peppers. Oh, and I used fresh tomatoes. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2006

      I had company today and thank God I was trying this recipe because I had doubled it so I would get at least 7 meals out of it. The company was unexpected and I had made another recipe for Spaghetti Sauce earlier in the week, and froze it. Now I have about 10 days worth of Spaghetti Sauce frozen. I try to keep about 30-40 days of food precooked in my freezer so that if I were to get sick my dad wouldn't have to go hungry. Looks like all I have now is spagetti and more spagetti. Exellent Recipe will use many times in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2006

      This sauce was very tasty. I added 1 tsp of both oregano and basil, as another reviewer had done. This is a very thick sauce and as I was simmering it, it started to stick to the bottom of the pan. I added 1 cup of beef broth to thin it out a bit and it was perfect. I also used a 6 oz package of fresh, sliced mushrooms instead of canned and sauteed them with the garlic and onion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2006

      Before this recipe is even done simmering, I can tell by the smell and early taste-testing it's a good one! Thanks for filling my house with great aroma and our stomachs with awesome spaghetti!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2006

      Thanks, Jenny. It just doesn't get any better than this!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2006

      This is VERY good!! I didn't add mushrooms only because I didn't have any, and I doubled the spices. Thanks for the yummy recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spaghetti Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (2251 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 577.7
     
    Calories from Fat 265
    45%
    Total Fat 29.5 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 12.0 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 123.3 mg
    41%
    Sodium 2123.1 mg
    88%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.2 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 8.6 g
    34%
    Sugars 28.3 g
    113%
    Protein 38.3 g
    76%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sliced mushrooms

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes