Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spaghetti Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spaghetti Sauce

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on June 03, 2011

    • on July 06, 2010

      Best sauce ever!! Absolutely loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      FANTASTIC!!! I used diced tomatoes instead of crushed tomatoes since that's what I had in my cupboard and it still turned out excellent!!! The one other change I made was doubling the brown sugar [personal preference of course]. Definitely a 5-star recipe!!! TY for posting Ann Hugo!!! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2009

      This was a nice basic sauce, but I had to add huge amounts of seasonings to bring it 'up to snuff'. Given the quantities of meat and tomatoes, 1/4 tsp. of this and 1/4 tsp. of that was simply undetectable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      This was sensational. My family loved it. I didn't have the ground chuck or lean pork so i used what I had in my freezer which was a lb of ground turkey and 1 lb. of ground pork. It was so good I can't wait to have it again for lunch, and to freeze some for those busy days. It had such a sweet flavor to it, and very very meaty which is what my hubby liked. Thanks for posting this, will be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      Great sauce with plenty of meat. The only changes I made were to substitue red wine for the water, and I reduced the amount of salt. This was very good and the flavor was even better the next day. I froze the leftovers to use in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      thanks, this was just exactly what we were looking for

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2008

      This has become our new favorite spaghetti sauce recipe! I substituted merlot for the water and only added 1 can of tomato paste, but other than that, stuck to the recipe. The family loved it and when we are looking for a change from meatballs with are noodles, I'll be making this again! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2008

      This is a delish sauce! I doubled the recipe so I could freeze a ton and I'm so glad I did. You can eat this sauce without the spaghetti. I did wine instead of water but I kept everything else the same. Thank you for posting this one! I'm going to post a picture tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      I just made it sans simmer time (I couldn't wait), and I tried it out on some French bread. Very wonderful, but just a tad salty. I'll reduce that just a bit next time. Excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      I made this sauce yesterday, had a wonderful dinner and froze the rest for other dinners, made a second batch today because it was so good!!!! I will freeze it into dinners for the winter. I used my own tomatoes from the garden and sausage instead of pork, but otherwise exactly the same. It is an excellent recipe. Thank you. Sue H.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2007

      Great! Wonderful! I made this recipe for 15 person dinner. I left out the water,oil,and butter.Pureed my own tomatoes in the amount called for. Used ground turkey and deer sausage for the meat( rinsing meat after browned) and added a dab more spice than called for. This is a keeper. Thank you, ann!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2007

      I agree. 5 star sauce. I also work at a fire station and found this site while looking for a good meal to cook. This was an easy meal to prepare for the masses. I doubled the recipe to feed 9 hungry firefighters, normal serving sizes don't apply here! I used all fresh herbs, and used canned tomatoes, not from concentrate (no water added). I also doubled the brown sugar to make it a little bit sweeter. I can't wait to try it this summer with garden fresh tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      I reserve a "5-Star" rating for a recipe that is beyond excellent in it's category. This sauce is outstanding. I have made it twice and I think the flavor is remarkable. This is a GREAT spaghetti sauce. I am not normally a cook who follows a recipe to a "T" but I do follow this one. The measurements are accurate, the cook time is perfect, everything about this recipe works. Thank you for finally giving me a recipe that can stand up to my mom's spaghetti. The only change I made is that I use my Braun hand-mixer on the sauce once it is finished cooking. I have very picky eaters and this hides all of the delicious vegetables that give the sauce it's superb taste. Thank you, Ann!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      Wow! my family thought that it was restaurant quality !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2006

      If there is a better spaghetti sauce than this one on the planet, I've never had it! I thought that I had a great spaghetti sauce but this one makes mine run off into a corner and "skweak"! I made a few changes, not to make it "better" (it could hardly BE better), but just more to suit my tastes. MY changes: Italian sausage instead of regular ground pork (I get the fennel that way); 8 cloves of garlic; substituted dry red wine for the water. That's it. Next time, just as an experiment, I will add sliced black olives and sliced fresh mushrooms. Ann, you're father-in-law should have a huge shrine erected to his honor in Rome -- thank you so much for this fine recipe! big pat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2005

      This was great, NO substitutions. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2005

      Great spaghetti sauce, I actually enjoyed eating it in a bowl with a spoon, sans pasta. I agree with another reviewer, it's hard not to play around with a spaghetti sauce recipe--I substituted ground beef for the pork, added another 1/2 cup water, 1/2 lb. sliced mushrooms, doubled the oregano and basil, and a tablespoon of balsamic vinegar. I also put in 1 and 1/2 teaspoons of salt, rather than 1 tbsp. All these minor changes reflect personal choices --Ann, I kept thinking of your father-in-law, and hoping he didn't mind! My whole family rated it highly! Thanks a lot for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2005

      A very good pasta sauce thank you. I used red wine instead of the water, and a carrot instead of the green pepper. I had to dice my own pork small, rather than using the ground like you asked for. I poured off as much oil and liquid as I could at the end of step 3 to reduce the fat. This was excellent and will get made again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2004

      Spaghetti sauce recipes are not easy to follow. Too much temptation to add to them. I did, but just because of personal taste. I added a small can of sliced black olives, 1/4 cup red wine (merlot), and white sugar vice brown. At this house it was perfect. Thanks for a versatile recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Sauces Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spaghetti Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (553 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 757.8
     
    Calories from Fat 468
    61%
    Total Fat 52.0 g
    80%
    Saturated Fat 17.9 g
    89%
    Cholesterol 134.4 mg
    44%
    Sodium 2605.2 mg
    108%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.3 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 10.1 g
    40%
    Sugars 25.6 g
    102%
    Protein 37.8 g
    75%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes