Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spaghetti Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spaghetti Sauce

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on June 11, 2010

      Fantastic! My DH just raved about this sauce. We like our sauce smooth, so I used my immersion blender at the end of the second cook time. I added cooked ground sirloin (seasoned with garlic powder and salt) on top of our boiled spaghetti noodles, then the sauce. For the two of us, this makes enough sauce for dinner plus two more dinner size portions to freeze, and another smaller portion to use for meatball subs or whatever. I followed the recipe (using Cento brand crushed tomatoes), added a little more garlic, but no crushed red pepper (DH is allergic), which I know would have kicked it up yet another notch. Thanks for this simple, yet delicious recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2010

      This is worthy of 10 stars. I've been using another recipe for marinara for eons and this is so amazing!!! It definitely surpasses the other. I used more crushed red pepper and more garlic. Will definitely make this my go-to recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      Excellent sauce. The pepper mixed with oil gives it a wonderful depth of flavor, and the wine was perfect. I wanted to make this just as written, but I did modify due to necessity and my husband tasting the sauce before I was done, and forbidding me to change a thing! I used 30oz tomato sauce and 6oz tomato paste, and added NO chopped or crushed tomatoes. I otherwise made it exactly as written. I was getting ready to add the tomatoes (subbing some extra sauce for some of the tomatoes, because I was out) when my husband tasted it and begged me to leave it as is! It was wonderful and very, very well received! I only simmered it for an hour or so. We just couldn't wait!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

      This was wonderful! I especially loved the crushed red pepper mixed in with the oil; it gave the sauce a very "peppy" flavor! ;) I halved the recipe and added one diced carrot, which I cooked along with the onion and garlic. I also added a can of drained mushrooms. I added more sugar to taste (instead of the red wine) and used fresh herbs. The real award for this sauce comes from my spaghetti-hating husband who thought this was excellent! Thanks for a great vegetarian sauce!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

      Delicious marinara! It turned out to be even spicier than anticipated -- definitely not a bad thing, but we decided we'd like it better for 'dipping' instead of as a standard spaghetti sauce. So instead of boiling noodles, I fried ravioli filled with several combinations of meats/cheeses and toasted some garlic breadsticks. Totally yummy on both! There is one small correction that needs to be made to the directions, though. I cooked this in a 3-1/2 qt. pot, and the mixture came within an inch of the rim. In the 2-1/2 qt. size that's recommended, it definitely would have overflowed.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2012

      Delicious! We love this recipe! I decreased the crushed red pepper and added frozen Italian-style meatballs at the end. I cooked the sauce in my slow cooker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      This is a fantastic recipe for a basic marinara sauce! I followed the recipe as written although I think I used all diced tomatoes as that's all I had on hand. It turned out really well and is very flavourful. I froze quart sized bag portions to use for future. I made this on a Saturday night during family movie night....it really does sit on the back of the stove. Much better alternative than using jar pasta sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2011

    • on September 11, 2011

      Wow!! This is really a good spaghetti sauce. I was looking for a sauce that would go with my friend's meatball recipe Donna B's Meatballs
      . This was definitely it. I am not much for cooking with wine, but had a bottle of local red that I used. Glad I did, the wine was truly necessary in this rich sauce. I also cut the red pepper flakes and garlic in half as we don't do well with a lot of spices. This was perfect. Thanks so much for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2011

      Yummy! I followed the recipe exactly. The sauce is nice and thick and it is not too herby. Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2011

      I spent today trying 4 Zaar pasta sauce recipes (I have no life, and yeah, I know it's 'food' now, but I am still mourning Zaar). You win. I think I'll back off on the red pepper flakes to 3/4 tsp, but that's it. Hard as it was, I followed all 4 recipes exactly - which means I'll even be able to duplicate my success next time! Husband picked yours hands down in a 'blind' taste test (that was kinda fun). Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      Excellent recipe, nice and thick, It clings to the pasta quite nicely. I did not add the red wine because I forgot to do it and it turned out well. I did add brown sugar to make it sweeter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2010

      Very good pasta sauce with just the right thickness and hearty Italian flavors. I made exactly as posted except to cut the amount of crushed red pepper in half. I used half immediately and then froze the rest for future use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      This is a great, hearty red sauce and is a perfect compliment to a whole grain pasta. I made just a few adjustments to suit personal taste. I cut the red pepper to 1/2 tsp, and used 1 tbl each of basil and oregano. The slight bite of the red pepper and the wine add a wonderful depth to this sauce. Thank you so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      Great sauce! I added a package of mushrooms and some turkey Italian sausages. I also didn't have any basil so used Italian seasoning plus the oregano. Delish! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      I made this with only two minor changes, and it was absolutely excellent. I reduced the red pepper to 1/2 tsp and used fresh basil instead of dried because I had it on hand. I have a feeling this is going to be my go-to red sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      Tried it over the weekend and it truly is the best tomato sauce I've ever had! I added mushrooms and pair with meatballs. I won't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      My partner & I live in the Four Hills area of Albuquerque & this is very similar to the marinara sauce that we make & freeze for the year. As you know, one of the better Italian restaurants in ABQ is Mario's, & their sauce is not as good as ours. E-mail at leonetti00@aol.com Alan Leonetti

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      Wow, this spaghetti sauce is wonderful! No need for store bought sauce anymore! I used 4 tablespoons of butter instead of olive oil, ran out, for sauteing the red pepper flakes, onion, and 3 tablespoons of minced garlic. My red wine was Merlot and I had petite diced tomatoes so used those for the chopped. Did add 2 tablespoons of basil and 1 tablespoon or oregano. Added fresh ground black pepper and kosher salt at the end. My sauce cooked for 1 1/2 hours and was awesome. A thick rich sauce that sure did not need meatballs or sausage! Perfect seasoning with just enough heat from the red pepper flakes. Love this sauce and will be adding this to our family favorites! Thank you sweetomato, made and reviewed for PAC 07.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2007

      I made this for company and was very pleased with the rich tasting flavor. It was a nice thick texture (used 1 can diced-I assume is the same as chopped)and followed directions exactly, cooking on stove top. I used 1 tbs each basil/oregano and thought it was plenty. Thanks for posting your fine sauce recipe, Sweetomato. Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spaghetti Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (248 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 147.8
     
    Calories from Fat 53
    36%
    Total Fat 5.9 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 540.8 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites