Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spaghetti & Puttanesca Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spaghetti & Puttanesca Sauce

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on March 21, 2007

      Excellent sauce and easy to make. I love my puttanesca sauce a bit more spicy, So I increased red pepper flakes, add a few dashes of red pepper sauce (Tabasco) and about 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper. I also felt it needed to simmer more than twice to time to get to right thickness. In the last few minutes, I tossed in 4-5 large shrimp per person. This is a keeper Maine-iac!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2014

      Puttanesca sauce is something that could be made with quickly and with few ingredients. The ingredients were common to an Italian kitchen. It isn't supposed to be cooked down into a sauce. The tomatoes would have been fresh, and would have been thrown in and cooked through, but still distinct. It's really good either way, but I prefer having the pasta almost ready to go when I throw the tomatoes in. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2013

      Nice! I added a little sugar and extra dried chills, and simmered the sauce for a lot longer. Next time I'd use more olives and capers as they were few and far between. Then again, maybe I should have chopped the olives a lot finer and at 500 grams I used slightly more pasta than called for in the recipe which would be the equivalent of around 453 grams.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2011

      It was dad's night to cook and I chose this. This was very good and very easy. I used diced canned tomatoes and fresh basil, because I like fresh basil. I even dropped some shrimp in it towards the end because when I worked in a restaurant during college that was how we served our Puttanesca. I served it over angel hair pasta for something different from spaghetti.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      Just a wonderful sauce!!! I am a lover of onions, so I chopped some up and sauteed them along with the garlic. A 5-star recipe!!! Thank you for posting!!! Oh yeah, I added a tad bit of sugar since I like a little bit of sweetness in my spaghetti sauce... ciao!!! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      I thought this was excellent. I did add a chopped onion that I let cook a little too long, so the sauce was on the sweet side -- my fault! I'll follow the recipe exactly next time, and I'll love it even more. It very closely resembled the restaurant dish I was trying to recreate, and I appreciated that it didn't include any anchovy paste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

    • on January 07, 2008

      I fixed this last night & even my meat eating hubby said it was good. I loved it & it was even better for lunch today. Couldn't find the capers in the fridge - I thought it needed something so I added a little balsamic vinegar. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      I have had this with tomato sauce but its better the way it is written here. I can see why the scents would entice anyone. Not neccessarry but, sometimes I add GREEN olives to this recipe. Its so very good. And sub the parm cheese for soy chees or leave it out and it's VEGAN!!Yes! tHANK YOU

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      Putanesca..... indicating "women of the night"...or "Harlots Pasta"...it was easily made with common ingredients...also said to entice suitors with its fragrance....definitely a great sauce....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      An Italian waiter once told me that putanesca is a derogatory word in Italy meaning btch. I don't know if this is true but this is a btching recipe. Fantastico!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2006

      This is a keeper! My husband and 5 year old both raved over the flavor. My son didn't even care when he ran out of spaghetti. I could not find anything close to a 35 ounce can of tomatoes (let alone romas), so I ended up buying around 2 pounds of fresh roma tomatoes. Word of advice: blanch and peel! I also realized the cooking time would have to accommodate raw tomatoes versus canned, so I scrapped this the first night and ate at On The Border. This afternoon, I took out the ice cold sauce, picked out only the tomatoes and hand peeled each tiny tomato bit (AAGGH!). I then put the mixture in a large saucepan on low and took a nap to recover. About four hours later, I tasted the sauce and thought it was too acidic. I dumped in about a teaspoon of sugar, a sprinkle of salt and extra basil. It then tasted perfect! I was asked to make this again. If I do, I will search high and low for canned, PEELED tomatoes. Thanks for a great recipe and hand workout!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2004

      I loved this easy yet distinctly different sauce. Perfect for olive lovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2003

      Excellent recipe. I modified the recipe a little bit. I used 1 tbs. olive oil and used the canned diced tomatoes. Excellent recipe. Even my husband likes it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spaghetti & Puttanesca Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (404 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 618.9
     
    Calories from Fat 163
    26%
    Total Fat 18.1 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 250.3 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 97.5 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 7.7 g
    31%
    Sugars 9.6 g
    38%
    Protein 17.6 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes