Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spaghetti Bolognese Sauce (Beef and Italian Sausage) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spaghetti Bolognese Sauce (Beef and Italian Sausage)

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on April 29, 2010

      Subbed smoked sausage for the italian sausage, canned mushrooms for fresh and added 3 shredded carrots. Absolutely the best "homemade" spaghetti sauce I've ever made. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      I've been looking for ages for a good homemade spaghetti sauce - I will be using this as my sauce for the foreseeable future - the flavor enhances with time - so I will be making it a few days in advance of when I actually want to use it. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2013

      Great recipe! I used turkey italian sausage to cut the fat content a bit. The result of this recipe is a thick, rich sauce that is wonderful on a hearty pasta like penne or linguine. The flavors are very complex yet not overpowering. I served this dish to a large potluck crowd and several people asked for the recipe. Someone even emailed me for the recipe months after the potluck, stating she was craving the sauce and wanted to make it... guess it is a memorable dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2013

    • on January 17, 2013

      Fabulous recipe. I make a lot of sauces, but I was looking for a heavy meat sauce to use up some leftover sausage and ground beef in the fridge. Found this recipe and am glad I did. Only change was using crushed San Marzano in place of diced tomatoes (didn't have any). This is a perfect rich sauce for a winter weeknight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2012

      Couldn't make is as delicious as I expected it to :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      I joined food.com just to post to you! Your recipe is so close to mine I couldn't believe it! I have been perfecting this recipe all my adult life!

      I use both bell and sweet red peppers, more oregano, some red hot pepper flakes which gives it a subtle bite to it.... I also find that the cheap red merlots do really well with this variation of spices.. no need to spend a lot of $$ on the wine for cooking (I know the great chefs argue that)...

      I just made it this morning and added the cheese and cornstarch to the sauce.. that I had never done before.. and it came out wonderfully!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2012

      Fabulous, thick, hearty bolognese sauce. Instead of thyme and marjoram used oregeno. I did not drain the tomatoes and needed no thickener. The cheese made it a perfect consistency. Really nice and meaty. Made it to my best of 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2011

      Excellent sauce. Not too herby and not too acidic. I skipped the cornstarch step as the sauce was thick enough. Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

      Easy enough, and turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      Made this exactly as the recipe read - wouldn't change a thing! Excellent......

      I found that the sauce did not need the cornstarch for thickening - the consistency was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

      This sauce was used as a "clean out my freezer and cupboard". I had a small package of veal that I minced in my food processor and some tomato sauce frozen. I did not use the mushrooms or bell peppers, but used grated carrots instead. This recipe is highly seasoned, so you might want to use a bit of caution. As for feeding 6 - 8 people?...I would say it would be more like 10 - 12. This sauce turned out really well and I would probably do this one again. Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      I loved this sauce !I made a couple of changes to it though to suite my taste . I used 2 bottles of Classico Fire Roasted Tomato and Garlic in it .I also used a mixture of 1/2 pound of hot and sweet italian sausage in it.I used more garlic than it called for.I also skipped the 'rooms.I also skipped the cheese.I drained hamburger and sausage really good.Instead of the olive oil I used the veggie oil that I usually use and it turned out great.My aunt loved this recipe and everyone who tried this loved it.I am planning on making it again this week or next!Thanks for such a great recipe!I hope that you don't mind the changes that I made to it.But, I Love it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2008

      You spend 1.5 hours making a bolognese and there's not one fresh tomato in it... o m g 2 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      Great sauce. I used all sausage and also added some oregano. Nice and thick and full of flavor. The perfect dinner for a cold day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      We enjoyed this very much! Because I don't like sausage, but the hubby LOVES it, this was a nice compromise for us! I made it exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing! Thanks so much for posting your recipe, it really is fantastic :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      This is now my family’s favorite Ghetti Sauce recipe. My kids love it and my husband forbade me to prepare our sauce any other way after he had a taste of this recipe. LOVE IT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      I made this with fresh tomatoes from the garden. About 2 gallons of fresh tomatoes; removed the peels and a quick run through the food processor. Cooked about 4-5 hours and added one small can of paste and doubled the spices. No cornstarch necessary. This has a great meaty consistency and canned up nicely!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      Some of the best spaghetti sauce I've had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      Tasty, Tasty, Tasty and packed full of Flavor. Keep this recipe handy because you will use it always.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spaghetti Bolognese Sauce (Beef and Italian Sausage)

    Serving Size: 1 (406 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 650.3
     
    Calories from Fat 345
    53%
    Total Fat 38.4 g
    59%
    Saturated Fat 13.1 g
    65%
    Cholesterol 97.8 mg
    32%
    Sodium 2600.4 mg
    108%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.3 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 7.3 g
    29%
    Sugars 21.5 g
    86%
    Protein 36.3 g
    72%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites