Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spaghetti and Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spaghetti and Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on December 18, 2009

      WONDERFUL. I have never made spaghetti before and was looking for a tasty recipe. This was was perfect. My husband and I loved it. I made the recipe as it is listed but couldn't get a hold of the fennel head. The only thing I added was red crushed peppers to add a zing to the sauce. Will make this again because it was tasty and overall easy to make. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2011

      This is a great recipe, I do not use the fennel just because I don't have it in my pantry, sometimes I use the red wine and sometimes I don't (depending if there is any in the house) tastes great either way I also add slices black olives.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2011

      I can't believe I haven't rated this recipe - it's delicious! I just made it for the third time today - love it. We thought the sauce was perfect and the meatballs divine (I had never baked them before and what a great idea - they actually stay round) Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2010

      Red sauce with fennel in it was a new one for us. I thought I'd love it, as I love anise and licorice and have been known to eat plain fennel seeds. And even though I didn't add the sugar, as we prefer a more acid tomato flavor, the sauce was too sweet. We also felt the need to add a large amount of black pepper, over a teaspoon, a serious amount of salt, 2 teaspoons, and a good teaspoon of red pepper flake. On it's own, I'd give the sauce 2 stars.

      The meatballs are worth 4 stars. I baked them in mini muffin tins which do a great job of collecting the drippings. I made the sauce yesterday and simmered the meatballs for about an hour, then tucked the whole thing into the refrigerator over night. Today, DH told me he'd had a midnight snack of a few of the meatballs. That's high praise from my self-identified, food snob spouse.

      We had this for dinner tonight. I'm keeping the rest of the meatballs but not the remaining sauce. While I doubt I'll use the meatball portion of the recipe again, it's similar enough to my usual recipe, I will add some fennel seeds into the mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2007

      I made this tonight and it was wonderful. I couldn't find fennel heads, so I omitted them and I also couldn't find italian tomato sauce so I used italian crushed tomatoes. I let my sauce simmer for about 1 1/2 hours and it came out wonderful my whole house smelled so good. Thanks for a wonderful dinner. I had enough sauce to freeze for another meal. Thanks, KadesMom!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2007

      Wow, the fennel is what really makes the sauce!! No star rating yet for me, bc I was only able to simmer the sauce for about 20 minutes with the meatballs. I can only imagine the flavor if it had time to simmer down more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2007

      Awesome! easy to make, and tastes great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      A KEEPER! The best I've tasted and I'm a chef. My family loved this! The fennel is the secret ingredient that makes the dish sensational. If you can find fresh fennel, use it; but if not, use fennel seeds. Awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spaghetti and Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (391 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 739.1
     
    Calories from Fat 292
    39%
    Total Fat 32.5 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 11.5 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 140.9 mg
    46%
    Sodium 1821.0 mg
    75%
    Total Carbohydrate 67.7 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 5.2 g
    20%
    Sugars 13.8 g
    55%
    Protein 43.9 g
    87%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tomatoes seasoned with basil garlic & oregano

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites