Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spaghetti Alla Carrettiera (Thin Spaghetti With Breadcrumbs) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spaghetti Alla Carrettiera (Thin Spaghetti With Breadcrumbs)

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on November 12, 2010

      Very good! I weighed the pasta (spaghetti rigati) and parsley...the parsley ended up being one bunch without stems. I made this as directed with double the garlic and 6 tbsp total olive oil. I tossed everything together. This tasted really good but was a bit dry...my Hubby added extra oil and parmesan to his serving. I served it with chicken strips tossed in Greek seasoning on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      This dish is just amazingly good, and one would never suspect it by just reading the ingredients. I can usually tell if a recipe will appeal to my family, but this one surpassed my expectations. I used high fiber spaghettini and twice the amount of rough torn breadcrumbs from a quality nine-grain loaf. My vegetarian daughter sprinkled some parmesan cheese on hers, and my carnivore husband topped his with spaghetti sauce...each declared their meal delicious. Interestingly, my husband asked if there were bacon bits in the sauce because he liked the crunchy bits....the toasted breadcrumbs....and it made me think that next time I might try frying the breadcrumbs in bacon fat if I have any.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      so good! had it as a side dish with broiled salmon and some greenbeans, so easy! thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      I can't believe I forgot to add this one! This recipe made it into our Book #231450. 10/20/08 - Wow is this a great pasta dish! And because this dish is sooooo good, we did some research and found that it's traditionally a pasta dish served with a spicy tomato sauce, though there are also unusual variations on the theme and this is one of them,.. and a fantastic one at that! You are correct Noo, the recipe does take its name from the hand-drawn or mule-drawn "Carretti" (carts) that were used for bringing the wine and olive oil into Rome from the surrounding hills. This recipe is very unique indeed and gives it a wonderful buttery, crunchy texture to the spaghetti. We made as directed using regular spaghetti and also butter (and lots of it) along with the olive oil. We served it with Good Eats Chicken Kiev (From Alton Brown 2004) and they complimented each other quite well being different types of breadcrumbs (the kiev' using panko). For this recipe, we did use seasoned breadcrumbs as that is all we buy. Thanks Noo, we will be making this VERY often. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      As is so often the case, I was initially drawn to this recipe by the photographs, really liked the sound of it on reading it through -and just LOVED the finished dish. I used fresh breadcrumbs, processed and seasoned with rosemary, sage and thyme, and we enjoyed it with **Mandy**'s Baked Garlic Mushrooms. I didn't weigh the parsley and undoubtedly used proportionally more, and I added probably a cupful of chopped baby spinach leaves. And I just couldn't help a tendency to always want to double the garlic, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. An excellent example of just how delicious a simple recipe made with top quality ingredients can be. Thanks for sharing another super recipe, Noo! I'll certainly be making this again - and I'm thinking that next time maybe I'll add some pinenuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      WOW! Sometimes simple is best. I made this because I had some leftover spaghetti & no sauce. I'm very glad I did. I made fresh breadcrumbs and added some Parmesan cheese shaken over the top of the finished dish. Next time I would use more breadcrumbs it added a nice crunch with the pasta. Thank you for the excellent recipe Noo.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2014

      Well, this was a pleasant surprise. It's amazing how such basic ingredients can be transformed into such a yummy dish. I made this last night as a last minute side to go along with our Pan Fried & Oven Baked Steaks. It work out extremely well. Hubby poured a bit of Au Jus over the spaghetti, although I felt it tasted wonderful all on its own. I used my own home-made bread crumbs that I keep in a canister. I see that some reviewers suggested putting Parmesan cheese on it, but it doesn't need it (at least for a complimentary side). I had an idea... I plan to make this again, but add some cooked, cubed chicken breast meat to it. I think that would be a great quick & easy "all-in-one meal". Maybe then I will consider adding some Parmesan. Thanks for sharing your recipe. (Made for PRMR).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2013

      Amazingly simple and delicious!!!! I had this as a main and served as a side dish with fish for DH, this is a new favourite for me, thank you Noo! Used fresh herbs for the garden, used a little bit of a mix of thyme, parsley and oregano. Very yum! Made for PRMR tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2012

      Comforting and delicious a terrific combination. Will be made again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2011

      Yumma, yumma, yum! I love this stuff! It goes well with everything. My whole family enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing this one with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2011

      Simply delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2011

      Sorry about the low rating but for me it was just ok. I enjoyed it but don't know if I would make it again. Very glad I tried it though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      This had a great flavor but I just wish that the flavor was stronger and that there was more of it! Next time, I will decrease the ratio of noodles so that the spices go a little farther. Thanks for the post Noo! Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2011

      Who would have thought that this simple recipe would be 5-star yummy? I really loved the toasted fresh breadcrumbs. Whenever I'm looking for a quick meal, this will be one of my go-to recipes. I most always have these ingredients on hand. I used gluten-free noodles. Made for the Auzzie/NZ Swap

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      We really enjoyed this- and it was so simple to make! I made two small changes to the recipe. First, I replaced the parsley with green onion (no parsley on hand). Second, I added a few chili flakes and topped with parm just before serving. This is a beautiful dish that is easy enough for a weeknight, yet elegant enough to serve at a dinner party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2009

      I don't know why I thought would be good because I have never heard of pasta with breadcrumbs. Well, I'm glad that I followed my instincts, because it is absolutely DELICIOUS!!! Very quick to put together, tons of flavour and a perfect portion size for a meal. I will make this again for sure. The one and only change I made was that I used regular spaghetti. Made for TYM tag. Thanks Noo! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2009

    • on February 27, 2009

      Faves of 2008 Tag: OUTSTANDING!! I served this alongside a roast and it was delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      Excellent recipe with excellent taste and flavor. Made no adjustments, and this is a keeper, and should be a keeper for ANY pasta lover. Made for Zaar Stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      Delicious! I halved the recipe and eyeballed the ingredients as I threw this together. Also, I tossed everything together. Reminded us a little of stuffed artichoke pasta. DH, who is not a pasta fan, loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spaghetti Alla Carrettiera (Thin Spaghetti With Breadcrumbs)

    Serving Size: 1 (162 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 605.0
     
    Calories from Fat 230
    38%
    Total Fat 25.6 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 6.4 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 777.9 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 73.5 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 20.1 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes