Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spaghetti Aglio Olio (Spaghetti With Garlic and Oil) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spaghetti Aglio Olio (Spaghetti With Garlic and Oil)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 01, 2009

      I make this often. I never add the chilies, my husband wouldn't like it that way. In the summer, when we have fresh tomatoes I'll slice up some and toss them in with the garlic and oil. This is also good with some fresh arugula or spinach tossed in at the last moment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

    • on September 23, 2009

      I grew up in an Italian household and we called this Greasy Spaghetti growing up. I haven't had it since my Nana died, thanks for reminding me of this. Added a 1/4 cup Parm at step 10. Was wonderful. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      Excellent recipe... gets a little dry n very filling... but worth it at de end.. initially was very apprehensive to make it.. as it wasnt de usual spaghetti recipes.. but was surely worth the try ... would recommend it for sure..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      I left out the breadcrumbs on this one but other than that made as directed and it was so simple to prepare. I only used a sprinkling of chili peppers, as we don't like anything too hot. Using a ladle full of pasta water did help with keeping the pasta nice and moist along with the oil. We loved this and will use again. Next time I may add in some zucchini, yellow squash, green and red peppers and string beans for a veggie dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      Outstanding. For a lower calorie option, try eliminating the bread crumbs altogether, and using 3/4 pound of spaghetti. We also substituted sun dried tomatoes for the chilies. This fed 5 of us, even though we didn't have a side dish. Wonderful flavor, and not dry at all. You can also put a tablespoon of grated Parmesan cheese on top of each serving, but the recipe is so flavorful the Parmesan really isn't needed. Even with Parmesan cheese, a serving of 1 1/2 cup of cooked and prepared spaghetti comes out to less than 400 calories per person.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2006

      Well, this recipe looked really good, but the actual dish doesn't measure up. It was too dry and didn't have any flavor. My husband and I tried to think of ways to make it more to our liking, but without completely changing the recipe, we couldn't come up with anything. Definitely won't make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2006

      Fantastic recipe. It's quick and easy, and I had most of the ingredients in my kitchen, except for the garlic, which I substituted half an onion for. Since I used too little pasta, there were a bit too many breadcrumbs, but it was still good nonetheless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2004

      haven't made it yet, but it's just the recipe i've been looking for. Ladling pasta water, brilliant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spaghetti Aglio Olio (Spaghetti With Garlic and Oil)

    Serving Size: 1 (172 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 776.9
     
    Calories from Fat 272
    35%
    Total Fat 30.2 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 4.3 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 214.1 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 106.2 g
    35%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 18.7 g
    37%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Italian parsley

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites