Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spaetzle With Gruyère and Caramelized Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spaetzle With Gruyère and Caramelized Onions

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on September 14, 2007

      Heavenly! I made my own spatzle recipe. I followed the ingredients almost exactly. But, I did it all in the the skillet, I melted the butter and 1T.oil, added the onions and spatzle together and browned them at the same time. When they were done I added salt, pepper then shedded gruyere. Thanks for the wonderful blend of flavors!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2012

      I cooked this and served it with Authentic Viennese Goulash (Wiener Fiakergulasch). Man what a winning combination. This was just delicious, but I had a hard time with the technique. My son was saying he thought there was a tool that I could buy to make this. As the dough was a bit tough to get to go through the colander holes. I eventually started using a spoon with holes in it, but it took a long time. I did love it though and so did my husband who is wondering "when" I will do this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2010

      This was great and very simple. I will be making this again. Thank you for posting the recipe. Peace & Love, NcMysteryShopper

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2008

      How wonderful is this? what a great blend of flavors. Such a great way to spice up a simple thing such spaetzle. Mushrooms also taste really good with this too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      Yummy! OMGravy the onions on top ROCK! How delish! This was an awesome side that seemed like a good deal of work yet was not. It came together quickly with the majority of time being actual cooking. Dh is 100% German and loves this type of food. He raved over this and even took some left over to work for lunch! High praise from him if he touches a left over! :) Thank you for yet another amazing dish! Made for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      Talk about gilding the lily; gruyere and carmelized onions on heavenly spaetzle. I had my doubts about all that milk but the waiting period takes care of any concerns. Incredible recipe, NcMysteryShopper. Thanks for sharing it with the rest of us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2006

      My mother was from Alsace and made spätzle all the time, but I don't think she ever baked it with cheese. I added cubed ham and peas to make it into a meal and nearly went into a comfort food coma. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2006

      oh, wow! This was just absolutely wonderful! I will admit to cheating and using premade spaetzle as a time-saver, but it still is great. Just interesting enough for people to say, "Ooh, what IS this?"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2005

      I have not made this, but have eaten it many times prepared by my friend who is German. It is a wonderful blend of flavors and textures. The gruyere cheese is a must, swiss will give this dish a different taste. RICH and satisfying is a great way to describe this gem of a dish. It is wonderful on it's own or served along side a schitzel.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spaetzle With Gruyère and Caramelized Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (205 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 497.5
     
    Calories from Fat 199
    40%
    Total Fat 22.2 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 10.1 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 198.7 mg
    66%
    Sodium 145.1 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.3 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 19.9 g
    39%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites