Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spaetzle Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spaetzle

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on February 28, 2002

      This is very good!of course they are more trouble to make than cooking that dry kind but it is really worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2002

      This is probably the best thing to make for a dinner side-dish! But, you better have some extra time on your hands. This takes some effort and time. You get to have special time with your children (if they help) in making the noodles. To make even more fun with your kids, you should do this by hand. Add some paprika and nutmeg to make it even better!! HELPFUL TIP: MAKE THE NOODLES SMALL (ESPECIALLY IF YOU DO THEM BY HAND) SO THAT YOU CAN HAVE MORE. ----Heidi----

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2003

      I made this for a European dinner at our house and it was a big hit, bringing back memories of Germany for my in-laws. Had to roll them out by hand, but they were worth the extra effort.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2002

      My picky grandchildren LOVED this! The third time I made it I added a dash of nutmeg! YUMMY

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      Spaetzle! What a wonderful alternative. A polish/italian friend of mine first showed me how she makes hers. She used a stand mixer to mix hers just until it was a little stretchy, boiled her water, spooned a big glop on a dinner plate and used a dinner fork to scrap glops of dough into the boiling water, occasionally dipping the fork into the boiling water so the dough would not stick to the fork. They came out tear shaped, about 1" by 2" long and then she would drain and spread in a 9x13 baking pan, grate some carrot over them , and layer pork chops on top. Cover with foil and bake until the meat was done. For me with a family of 8-9 I prefer to use a spaetzle maker. It only cost about 8.00 dollars and made the proccess a little faster and less labor intensive. I use milk instead of water(no oil), 1 tsp. salt in flour, and a1/2 tsp. nutmeg or allspice. I make mine as a substitute side dish with our holiday meats. Which makes it extra special. I also toss with sauteed chopped onion and serve with a dollop of sour cream. So this "lazy noodle" as my friend called it can sub for noodles or potatoes at our house. I would definetly recommend this "comfort food".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2010

      Thinks for all the tips! It was so good :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      These little gems are so good. I made Paprikash and needed something to go with it, but was afraid to try this. I bit the bullet and tried it and am so glad I did. I used the back of a cheese grater and it worked perfectly. I will make these again for multiple meals, thank you so much for sharing this with us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      Amazing - just like the spaetzle I loved in Germany! I used a spaetzle maker (available for just $10 on Amazon) and the noodles came out perfectly. I love how the ingredient list is so short and the process itself is something that can easily be done during dinner prep.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      FANTASTIC RECIPE! My swiss mother in law would be proud. I cooked spaetzle just as good as hers. I have tried making spaetzle with a few different recipes always to be disappointed in the end. My MIL doesn't have an exact recipe (she goes by feel) which never helped me much. So thanks Bergy. I served them with pork roast and gravy over top. yum. I will be making these a lot. Loved the idea of doing it in the blender too, was much easier.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      YUM!!! This recipe hit the spot with this German girl! I made this almost as posted (didn't use the oil), using my spaetzle grater. When it floated, I tossed it in a pan with a bit of bacon. Very nice Bergy! I will definitely make this again. Made for Fall 2009 Pick a Chef. Thanks! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      This recipe was great! How can you go wrong?!?! I also made this with Bratwurst and Onions, Homemade Gravy, and Braised Red Cabbage with Red Onion and Apples .. What a fantastic recipe! They turned out great.. I had to use a spoon and a knife to make mine since I dont have a good utensil to push the mixture through.. regardless it came out great! I think next time I will try it with Bacon for sure!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      Excellent!!..especially alongside Chicken Paprikash! After years of holding the heavy plate on top of a pot of boiling water and cutting each spaetzle in to the water, I decided to try filling the spaetzle dough into a zip top bag, cut the tip off the bag and use it as an easier way to drop and cook the spaetzle. It worked really well for me! This is the way I'll be cooking spaetzle until I get a real spaetzle grater! Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2006

      I made this to go with chicken paprikash. I subbed wheat flour for 3/8 cup of the flour and used a teaspoon of salt. I had to cut it by hand and I think I cut it a little big so it looked more like dumplings than like the pictures when it was finished. I then fried it with butter, sautéed onions, mushrooms, and garlic and served it toppped with the sauce from the chicken. Very nice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2005

      I finally didn't have any globs in the cooking water! Many a try I have had at spaetzle and thanks to Bergy and her blender idea I have graduated to perfect spaetzle maker. Of course not cooking them all in the same pot all at once might have helped also.lol. Thanks Bergy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      Big hit at our house! Love this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2006

      I have been making this weekly since I can remember. There are so many things that can be done with these. My favorite is stirring in a can of undiluted cream of chicken soup. Great with stuffed cabbage (juice) as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Lunch/Snacks Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spaetzle

    Serving Size: 1 (184 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 408.0
     
    Calories from Fat 61
    14%
    Total Fat 6.8 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 105.7 mg
    35%
    Sodium 38.1 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 71.7 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 12.8 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites