8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yummy - just like my mom makes. But we found that there wasn't enough for two adults, and we're not especially big eaters. I recommend that you double the recipe if you have more than two eating.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claudia Straka February 16, 2002

What a great idea to add chicken base /bouillon to the boiling water! Here is a neat hint I saw on Foodnetwork. Take one of those aluminum pie pans from a frozen pie shell. Poke it full of holes.(not too small). Pour/push the dough through this.Into the boiling broth. It works great. :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Koechin (Chef) April 03, 2009

I think I'm in love! LOL! This recipe was easy and sooo tasty. My kids will go nuts over this for sure. I liked the taste of the bouillon and only used about 8 cups of water to enjoy the flavour of it. I recommend using a spaetzle maker as it made the job very quick and easy. I bought one for under $10 and I know I'll get a lot of use out of it. If you want it for a side dish, 4 servings is fair. As a main dish, maybe 2 servings, but I would make more. Made for Spring 2009 PAC. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif April 03, 2009

Spaetzle is a great meal my family love it. I usually coat chicken or pork with flour pan fry in butter. Remove meat keep warm in oven. Add butter to same pan, add spaetzle fry until slightly brown,remove and keep warm. Add cream, salt, opt parsley to same pan. Bring up the heat then add meat to cream in pan. Vegies - honey carrots and brocolli. Plate up food with spaetzle as side dish so that they can be added to main dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heathers September 25, 2007

This sounds like it would be good, but I haven't tried it yet...I have made Spaetzle though, and before I got my Spaetzle Maker, I just used a Pasta Strainer, or Colander, and a wooden spoon to press the dough through the holes. You do not have to have a spaetzle maker to make this. SOunds like a good recipe though! I am going to try it later this week! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yumyumum January 14, 2007

A decent recipe, but you really lose points for bad advice. I have seen more than one professional chef punch holes in a pie pan and push the batter through with a plastic dough scrapper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bill Hilbrich November 10, 2004

There is nothing better to put in homemade chicken soup, then homemade spaetzl. I have been using boxed stuff, but this recipe came out just like Grandma's!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinnamon1025 November 10, 2004

This sounds terrific, I like the addition of the boullion and will try it. However, I'd like to note that a spaetzle maker is not neccessary, just more convenient. My DIL used a colander and wooden spoon to push the dough through the holes for many years. I'd hate for someone to be scared off trying this because they had to buy a fairly expensive gadget!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OhMyStars! November 10, 2004
Spaetzle