Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spaetzle Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spaetzle

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on February 16, 2002

      Yummy - just like my mom makes. But we found that there wasn't enough for two adults, and we're not especially big eaters. I recommend that you double the recipe if you have more than two eating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      What a great idea to add chicken base /bouillon to the boiling water! Here is a neat hint I saw on Foodnetwork. Take one of those aluminum pie pans from a frozen pie shell. Poke it full of holes.(not too small). Pour/push the dough through this.Into the boiling broth. It works great. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      I think I'm in love! LOL! This recipe was easy and sooo tasty. My kids will go nuts over this for sure. I liked the taste of the bouillon and only used about 8 cups of water to enjoy the flavour of it. I recommend using a spaetzle maker as it made the job very quick and easy. I bought one for under $10 and I know I'll get a lot of use out of it. If you want it for a side dish, 4 servings is fair. As a main dish, maybe 2 servings, but I would make more. Made for Spring 2009 PAC. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

      Spaetzle is a great meal my family love it. I usually coat chicken or pork with flour pan fry in butter. Remove meat keep warm in oven. Add butter to same pan, add spaetzle fry until slightly brown,remove and keep warm. Add cream, salt, opt parsley to same pan. Bring up the heat then add meat to cream in pan. Vegies - honey carrots and brocolli. Plate up food with spaetzle as side dish so that they can be added to main dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      This sounds like it would be good, but I haven't tried it yet...I have made Spaetzle though, and before I got my Spaetzle Maker, I just used a Pasta Strainer, or Colander, and a wooden spoon to press the dough through the holes. You do not have to have a spaetzle maker to make this. SOunds like a good recipe though! I am going to try it later this week! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2004

      A decent recipe, but you really lose points for bad advice. I have seen more than one professional chef punch holes in a pie pan and push the batter through with a plastic dough scrapper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2004

      There is nothing better to put in homemade chicken soup, then homemade spaetzl. I have been using boxed stuff, but this recipe came out just like Grandma's!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2004

      This sounds terrific, I like the addition of the boullion and will try it. However, I'd like to note that a spaetzle maker is not neccessary, just more convenient. My DIL used a colander and wooden spoon to push the dough through the holes for many years. I'd hate for someone to be scared off trying this because they had to buy a fairly expensive gadget!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spaetzle

    Serving Size: 1 (53 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 212.5
     
    Calories from Fat 82
    38%
    Total Fat 9.1 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 123.1 mg
    41%
    Sodium 388.9 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.9 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 6.9 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes