Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spaetzle Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spaetzle

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on January 16, 2009

      Our family just LOVED these!!! Since I doubled the recipe I needed to thin the batter out a bit with a little more milk, so it would be more like a pancake batter. This was the first time I've made spaetzle, but it won't be the last! It takes a lot of time to get them into the little bits of dough to cook. So I improvised and ended up using a colander held over a large pot of boiling water and pouring some batter in, and then used a spoon to press down on the batter, pushing it through the holes in the colander. That was slow, so I tried using the bottom of a mixing bowl to press the batter through the colander, into the boiling water below, and it worked! It's messy to do it, and takes two people (one to hold the colander over the pot of water, but it's worth the mess and effort! And you get a lot of spaetzle out at once. After cooking, I fried them in some butter, and added some salt. These were so amazing, I'm going to buy a spaetzle press to use the next time I make them. Thanks Strawberry Girl.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      Oh my! I made this last night (recipe doubles easily). Wonderful! Wonderful. It was my first time ever making spaetzle. I didn't have and couldn't find (after a 2 day search) a Spaetzle machine/maker anywhere, but found *the perfect this for making them at Kohls. I used a pizza crisper (looks like a round pizza pan but has holes in the bottom) it fit over my pot of boiling water perfectly and using a dough scraper, made perfect little spaetzle. as someone suggested, I added some nutmeg to the mix. I sauted themas suggested and served them with German Pot Roast and gravy. This recipe is definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2012

      I have made a lot of spaetzle in my day and this is by far the best recipe yet!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2013

      Delicious and easy! I have a spaetzel maker I have only used once ......so glad I decided to get it out and make these. Light and delicious! Try it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2013

      These were fantastic and will become a new regular in the dinner rotation. As suggested by one reviewer, I used a pizza pan with fairly good sized holes to push the dough through into the boiling water. It worked perfectly. This recipe makes ALOT so if you want to brown them in a bit of butter you will need a large pan to avoid crowding. Thank you for the post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2012

      This is our go-to spaetzle recipe. Easy to make and very tasty.
      I use one of those spaetzle makers that looks like a cheese grater with a hopper on it. I didn't think it would work well but I was desperate and it works great. Been using it over a year and I'd never go back.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      I have eaten alot of spaetzle and this was my first time making spaetzle and it turned out perfect! I halved the recipe and used dark rye flour ( was out of regular ) instead. I used a cheese grated to press the spaetzle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      This is my new favorite spaetzle recipe! It tastes wonderful lightly fried in butter, sprinkled with salt and pepper, and served on top of a thin steak. To make the spaetzle, I spread a small amount of the batter (about 1/4) near the edge of a plate and scrape off small strips into the boiling water with a knife. (It helps to dip the knife into the water each time with the spaetzle - then there is no sticking.) After this batch is done, I remove the spaetzle from the water and start another batch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      these turned out a little gummy for my liking, but my husband LOVED them. He would do just about anything for some spaetzle!! I followed the recipe exactly, and dropped them from a piping bag, cutting them with scissors! Kind of time consuming, but we laugh a lot. I'll make this again for him. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      Very good and easy to prepare! Wonderful when served under Chicken Paprikash!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2006

      I had never made them before but have had them many times. These were yummy! I don't have a press so it was a bit tricky "stringing' them into the water. Not by any means impossible though. I sauteed them in some butter and parsley right before serving. We actually had it with SOS, I know strange combo but it really was a great meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2006

      This is by far the best spaetzle recipe I have ever used, and I've made alot of Spaetzle; makes a nice lighter spaetzle The only thing I changed was added about 1 T more flour so it wasnt so runny. I also substituted 1/2 cup whole wheat flour to make it healthier. Dont care what anyone else says, Jeff Smith was one of the greatest all time chefs, may God Rest his Soul. UPDATE: Oct 2006: 2 years making this spaetzle, I've since added fressh ground nutmeg to the dough, try it, maybe about 1 tsp, use fresh grind it,don't use bottled. Wow, makes this even better! When done, I then fry them with a little canola oil, serve with gingersnap gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2006

      Best. Spaetzle. Ever. I've made a lot of different recipes, most of which come out too doughy or floury. These came out perfect, nice and light and eggy, fluffy and not too chewy. I used lard instead of oil, and it added great flavor to the spaetzle. This is definitely going to be my standby spaetzle recipe from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2005

      I don't have a spaetzl press either, but when I make spaetzl I use the basket from my deep fryer. It has 1/4" holes and I just stir the mix over the simmering water and let bits drop in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2004

      This was a great recipe! I don't have a spaetzle maker either but I have a ricer and it worked nicely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2004

      These were very good the texture was firm and not heavy. I used oil and mixed it by hand. I don't have a spaetzl maker but put the dough on a plate and used a floured knife to scrape slivers into the water. I fried them with butter and they made a perfect side dish for our prok chop and sauerkraut dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spaetzle

    Serving Size: 1 (1121 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 397.5
     
    Calories from Fat 95
    24%
    Total Fat 10.6 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 103.3 mg
    34%
    Sodium 1557.4 mg
    64%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.2 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 12.2 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites