37 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

DH is an asparagus fan, I'm not. DD [2] is somewhere inbetween. This recipe is easy and quick to prepare and is a good way to prepare tofu. The asparagus certainly looks pretty. I would suggest cutting the mushrooms quite thickly. DH and I both happily ate this RSC recipe but felt it needed something extra. Not sure what it might be however. Certainly a worthwhile RSC effort and worth trying.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wombat July 12, 2003

Very good! The nicely balanced flavors of sesame oil, hot red pepper flakes, garlic, sugar and soy sauce worked very well with the flavor and texture of the asparagus. I made the recipe as directed except for reducing the amount of hot pepper flakes to our tolerance level. The tofu cubes broke into small pieces (? I stirred too much too soon?) but didn't affect the addictive quality of this well thought out recipe. Four stars = very good, will make again, needs no changes.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac June 29, 2003

delicious and so easy to make! i couldn't find cayenne pepper flakes so i used crushed red pepper that i already had and it still tasted amazing. i added a little more of each asparagus, tofu, mushrooms, and garlic and all the other measurements still worked out great. i served it with brown rice as a main dish and it served 2 with a little left over. i also like my tofu really firm and crispy so i actually stir fried that for 15 mins or so before continuing. i read a few people had trouble with the tofu crumbling...i think letting it fry a little longer might help! Amazing recipe. Thank you so much for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iheartsprinkles February 27, 2009

This was delicious!!! I only used 1 tbsp of (toasted) sesame oil, and opted for brown sugar. I mixed it at the end with some noodles and it ended up tasting better (and way less oily) than any Chinese takeout I’ve tried! Nice one!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joco October 22, 2008

The best tofu I've ever had! My boyfriend and I loved it. We made it as is, subbing cayenne pepper for flakes as we couldn't find any. Next time we want to up the veggies (sprouts, broccli, bell peppers, etc). He LOVES things to be very spicy, I like things to be a little spicy, the cayenne content was the perfect amount for a compromise. He was satisfied and I wasn't dying. Definetly a keeper. EDIT: I tried to make it with "Lite" tofu and it did not turn out as yummy! The tofu texture was all wrong. Don't get lite, just use regular :D

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Space Cake Cook September 24, 2007

This was easy to make, but so delicious. The red pepper quantity ended up being perfect for my taste. I added scallions with the garlic, I used Splenda instead of sugar, and I ended up making it a noodle dish by adding medium Chinese noodles (already boiled, of course) a few minutes before the recipe was done and stir-frying them right into the dish. This works much better than trying to serve over the noodles. I will make this again the same way I did tonight.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jackieblue February 12, 2005

This recipe is great, as good as some of the dishes I have had in Chinese restaurants! I love tofu and asparagus, so this is a good way to eat them together. I added 1/4 c. of cashews to the recipe for a little extra crunch. I would also add more tofu next time. This one is getting added to my low calorie meal plan, plus it is low in carbohydrates.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachel Cook January 24, 2004

My first attempt at tofu, in 10 years of cooking! Very good recipe. I omitted the mushrooms, and then was disappointed in the amount it made. Not enough for 2 people. Next time I will use the entire 14oz block of tofu and 1 whole bunch of asparagus. I did drain the tofu on towels and fried it about 10mins. before adding the asparagus.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn November 01, 2013

this was soooo good! I pretty much followed the recipe except I used the whole tofu. Liked the idea of tossing the cubed tofu into a bag with cornstarch. Added a handful of slivered almonds at the end for some crunch. will make again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fwcath July 24, 2013
Soy Glazed Tofu and Asparagus