Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Soy Glazed Tofu and Asparagus Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Soy Glazed Tofu and Asparagus

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on July 12, 2003

      DH is an asparagus fan, I'm not. DD [2] is somewhere inbetween. This recipe is easy and quick to prepare and is a good way to prepare tofu. The asparagus certainly looks pretty. I would suggest cutting the mushrooms quite thickly. DH and I both happily ate this RSC recipe but felt it needed something extra. Not sure what it might be however. Certainly a worthwhile RSC effort and worth trying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2003

      Very good! The nicely balanced flavors of sesame oil, hot red pepper flakes, garlic, sugar and soy sauce worked very well with the flavor and texture of the asparagus. I made the recipe as directed except for reducing the amount of hot pepper flakes to our tolerance level. The tofu cubes broke into small pieces (? I stirred too much too soon?) but didn't affect the addictive quality of this well thought out recipe. Four stars = very good, will make again, needs no changes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      delicious and so easy to make! i couldn't find cayenne pepper flakes so i used crushed red pepper that i already had and it still tasted amazing. i added a little more of each asparagus, tofu, mushrooms, and garlic and all the other measurements still worked out great. i served it with brown rice as a main dish and it served 2 with a little left over. i also like my tofu really firm and crispy so i actually stir fried that for 15 mins or so before continuing. i read a few people had trouble with the tofu crumbling...i think letting it fry a little longer might help! Amazing recipe. Thank you so much for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      This was delicious!!! I only used 1 tbsp of (toasted) sesame oil, and opted for brown sugar. I mixed it at the end with some noodles and it ended up tasting better (and way less oily) than any Chinese takeout I’ve tried! Nice one!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      The best tofu I've ever had! My boyfriend and I loved it. We made it as is, subbing cayenne pepper for flakes as we couldn't find any. Next time we want to up the veggies (sprouts, broccli, bell peppers, etc). He LOVES things to be very spicy, I like things to be a little spicy, the cayenne content was the perfect amount for a compromise. He was satisfied and I wasn't dying. Definetly a keeper. EDIT: I tried to make it with "Lite" tofu and it did not turn out as yummy! The tofu texture was all wrong. Don't get lite, just use regular :D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2005

      This was easy to make, but so delicious. The red pepper quantity ended up being perfect for my taste. I added scallions with the garlic, I used Splenda instead of sugar, and I ended up making it a noodle dish by adding medium Chinese noodles (already boiled, of course) a few minutes before the recipe was done and stir-frying them right into the dish. This works much better than trying to serve over the noodles. I will make this again the same way I did tonight.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2004

      This recipe is great, as good as some of the dishes I have had in Chinese restaurants! I love tofu and asparagus, so this is a good way to eat them together. I added 1/4 c. of cashews to the recipe for a little extra crunch. I would also add more tofu next time. This one is getting added to my low calorie meal plan, plus it is low in carbohydrates.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2013

      My first attempt at tofu, in 10 years of cooking! Very good recipe. I omitted the mushrooms, and then was disappointed in the amount it made. Not enough for 2 people. Next time I will use the entire 14oz block of tofu and 1 whole bunch of asparagus. I did drain the tofu on towels and fried it about 10mins. before adding the asparagus.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2013

      this was soooo good! I pretty much followed the recipe except I used the whole tofu. Liked the idea of tossing the cubed tofu into a bag with cornstarch. Added a handful of slivered almonds at the end for some crunch. will make again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      I was looking for something really basic to do with a block of tofu and some sugar snap peas. That's about all we had in the house. I found this and subbed the peas for asparagus, and had to oust the mushrooms. I really like it! I'll be adding this to my paper cookbook as written with the knowledge that it's very easily adaptable :) Thank so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2012

      This was awesome - I did dry the tofu on paper towel and shook in a bag with corn starch. I think it makes the tofu a little more crispy. The only thing wrong with this recipe is that I didn't find it sooner - before the asparagus season is coming to an end. I think like another writer suggested - I will try with broccoli. Thanks so much for a great recipe.

      I hadn't made this in awhile and had forgotten how yummy it is. Thanks goodness for frozen asparagus which is what I used this time. The asparagus doesn't stay tender/crisp, but is still really, really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2012

    • on March 09, 2012

      This was really good. I doubled the recipe and used somebody's suggestion of shaking the tofu in cornstarch. My husband thought the tofu was chicken, and my son who does not usually like mushrooms asked for seconds. Served with brown rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      Absolutely delish! I used EVOO, lots of asparagus and a can of mushrooms. I added 1/2 cup of wheat berries to the stir fry and used 1/2 package of extra firm tofu.For the sauce I used 1/2 package of truvia mixed with they soy. I will make again for sure

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2010

      This was delicious! My husband said it was his favorite tofu dish so far. I couldn't find sesame oil in my store so I used canola oil. I will be making this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      This was very good! I used a full block of extra-firm tofu and a bag of frozen asparagus. All the flavors blended nicely. I served it with brown rice for an awesome, filling main dish. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      Thanks for a quick and delicious recipe! We used a large bundle of asparagus, an entire block of tofu (300 grams or so), over a cup of mushrooms, 3 cloves of garlic, and a tsp of grated fresh ginger. For the soy glaze, I used 6 tbsp of reduced-sodium soy sauce and 3 tsp of sugar, and it was plenty sweet. We served it over brown rice, and it was the perfect nutritious weeknight meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      Simple & tasty!! I used about double the asparagus (thin stalks), and 2 small cans of sliced mushrooms. I also dried the tofu, then tossed it in a bag of cornstarch which I found helped a lot. And I also made some Udon Noodles which I added after cooking. Thankfully, Soy sauce and Toasted Sesame Oil are always on hand in my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      My family, who really hates vegetarian food, really loved this. This was my first time actually cooking tofu. I've eaten it before but never prepared it myself. Delicious. A little bit spicy for me but I still enjoyed it. I even loved it with the mushrooms, and I only eat mushrooms on pizza. This was very fabulous. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      This wasn't our favorite. It was pretty bland. We had to add a lot more soy sauce to make it taste like anything. I won't make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Soy Glazed Tofu and Asparagus

    Serving Size: 1 (198 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 269.4
     
    Calories from Fat 160
    59%
    Total Fat 17.7 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1051.3 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.2 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 6.1 g
    24%
    Sugars 8.9 g
    35%
    Protein 15.7 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites