12 Reviews

I made this using some frozen wild salmon. I used yellow mustard, brown sugar and regular soy sauce. I thought it could've used a little something else, as my salmon was a little bit bland. Perhaps some hot chili? Overall, I think this was an easy and simple recipe that could easily be built on with different flavors. Thanks! Made for ZWT 7.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElleFirebrand June 24, 2011

Excellent and pretty easy! Had a little trouble getting the skewers through the skin without the salmon falling apart -- would be easier with thicker, higher quality salmon (we used the Kroger brand). I stuck cherry tomatoes between the salmon chunks to help hold them on the skewers, and they were a nice addition. Used dry mustard instead of dijon, used sugar substitute instead of brown sugar, and it was just great. Thanks for posting this, UmmBinat!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GreenFish June 10, 2011

Excellent flavor! I used this recipe for a half a fileted salmon. I used exactly the measurements given and it was the perfect amount needed. You don't taste the mustard at all, nor the vinegar. It is a great blend of flavors, where no one flavor overpowers. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for ZWT6.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pesto lover June 25, 2010

Wonderful -- and so easy too! I used splenda brown sugar but otherwise made as directed. Made for ZWT#6 accompanied by Steamed Asparagus With Ginger Garlic Sauce and we will be having this again soon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ May 28, 2010

Absolutely loved the glaze...was wondering how'd it taste on a scorpion. ;-) Made for ZWT #6.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng May 22, 2010

SUPERB!!! That's what I call this glaze! It is soooo tasty and only took a few ingredients. My fillets were kind of falling apart so I cut them in half lengthwise and skewered them through the middle. It worked just fine! I made this on my indoor grill and served it with sesame rice and stir-fry veggies. Made for Went to the Market tag game. Thanks Ummbinat! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif April 29, 2010

This was a wonderful glaze for our salmon. I did not skewer my salmon but left it in fillets as they were on the thin side. I will definitely make this glaze again. And as others have mentioned I saved some of the glaze to use as a dipping sauce...this is a must! Made and reviewed for the Feb-Mar/Special Event 2010 Potluck Tag Game

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate March 25, 2010

Yum! My fillets were on the thin side so I made "soy glazed salmon" (without the kabob). This was delicious and the cooking time was spot on. I cooked mine under the broiler about 6 inches from the heating element. Very tasty. I served it with a side of steamed broccoli and Turkish Wedding Pilaf (Dugun Pilav) also by UmmBinat. Thanks for posting. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas February 08, 2010

An absolutely superb dish that is so quick and easy to make! I used a kilo of fresh salmon, which I skinned, boned and cubed. I then made a quadruple batch of sauce (using only half the sugar), and marinated the cubes for about an hour before threading the fish on skewers. As others suggested, I reserved some marinade to use as a dipping sauce. A perfect balance of interesting flavours. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy January 31, 2010

This recipe will be in my Best of 2009 Reviewed Recipes cookbook. I cooked mine on a stove top grill pan. I like this recipe because it uses ingredients that I always have on hand. I would double the glaze so that I have some to dip the salmon in after it is cooked. Great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon September 09, 2009
Soy Glazed Salmon Kabobs