Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Soy Balsamic Chicken Thighs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Soy Balsamic Chicken Thighs

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on February 04, 2010

      Outstanding! I think this is similar to Japanese Mum's Chicken Japanese Mum's Chicken but it's ever better b/c it's baked and you don't have to watch it. I marinated 4 chicken thighs for 8 hours. I placed then skin side down for 15min. and flipped for 15min., perfect. I didn't use low sodium and I didn't think it was too salty. I followed the directions and I wouldn't change anything the next time around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      I made this tonight and it was really good. Highly recommended. Used boneless, skinless thighs and the texture was perfect and the taste was delicious. I think next time (and that won't be long from now) I'll try slicing a pocket into the thighs so that the marinade can get to the middle. This recipe is a gem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      So good!! I had 6 thighs left over from a pack of 12, so I added the marinade ingredients to the freezer bag and froze the chicken along with it. Thawed out ready to cook! After cooking, I poured the pan drippings into a saucepan and reduced it without adding water and it turned out wonderful - I couldn't get enough! I'll definitely make this again! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2012

      Fantastic! can't wait to make it again! Did'nt marinate more than an hour or two and was still fantastic. Used Cherry Balsamic but otherwise made just like the recipe. We will definitely make again. Thank you for posting this easy, yummy recipe!
      I served it with white rice.
      Ok, made again, this time I marinated a pork roast overnight, roasted without turning, although I spooned the marinade/ajus over as it cooked every 15 minutes. Was really yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2007

      we really enjoyed this. followed everything except i put the chicken under the broiler when i separated it from the sauce to simmer. just to crisp up the skin since that's the way we like it. used regular soy sauce and nobody thought it was salty at all. we thought it was perfect. taste very similar to a philippine entree called "chicken adobo".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2011

      I made this recipe last night and it went over extremely well. My picky preteens loved it as well as my hubby and 18 month old. I used bone-in chicken legs and thighs and the meat just fell off the bone. I served it with brown rice with edamame and sugar snap peas. Scallions for garnish was a great final touch.(thanks GaylaJ) Also, I've doubled the marinade to ensure there would be enough to drizzle over the rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      This combination of soy sauce & balsamic seemed like an odd pairing to me, but I decided that all these reviews couldn't ALL be wrong! :) Boy, were they ever right! I wasn't able to marinate it as per the directions because I'm an idiot & read it as "up to 24 minutes", but I don't think it made it any less yummy. I will make this again but marinating it for the full time. I also didn't add salt as other reviews suggested & it was perfect for us as we're low salt eaters. Thanks for this recipe Evie, it's a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      We've made this twice so far and we love it! The sauce is so good. We use good quality low sodium soy sauce and very good quality balsamic vinegar. Served it over brown rice and enjoyed. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      Really good. Chicken was tender and moist and the flavor was nice, not too salty for us. I loved the color too, nice and dark. The sauce was really yummy on top of the chicken and rice after I reduced it. I added just a teensy bit of cornstarch to thicken it up and it made a beautiful glaze. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      I made this at the last minute and the chicken was only able to marinate about 1 1/2 hours but it was still FANTASTIC!! I used boneless, skinless so that may have helped. I have a picky husband, 16 yr.old and VERY picky 2 yr. old and all of us enjoyed it. They all had seconds and were bummed there wasn't any left!!! Thanks for the submission. Will use all the time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      Terrific! We really enjoyed this. I used brown sugar and added fresh ginger and sliced onions to the marinade. Six thighs were perfectly done at 30 minutes. Didn't have enough time to reduce the sauce all the way down to 1/4 cup, but I wish I had, because I think it would have been even more yummy! I served this with Kittencal's Famous Creamy Coleslaw (#102617) and oven-roasted red poatoes. Thanks for such an economical and delicious recipe - I had everything to hand in the freezer and pantry!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2004

      I tried this again using bone-in chicken breasts to put on the grill. I took the marinade and reduced it stove-top so we'd have some of the wonderful sauce. Worked great! Another 5 stars from me. (Does that earn you a 10-star review?)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2014

      Thought this was great... I didn't even have time to marinate more than 15 minutes...but it was still tasty. Next time I'll be sure to plan ahead though. I added fresh pineapple the last few minutes on the stove and served over brown rice. Yum!<br/>*made it again and had mango slices with mixed veggies...fantastic...one of my favorite recipes! (and I have still yet to marinade it more than 15 minutes!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2014

      I made this tonight and it was a huge hit! After reading other reviews, I tasted the marinade before adding that last 1/4 teaspoon of salt and decided it was fine without it. I did everything else exactly as written, except I doubled the marinade (we like a lot of sauce) and made 12 chicken thighs, marinating for 24 hours. When I made the sauce at the end I didn't remove the fat and just poured all the liquid into a wide saute pan, let it boil and stirred. Didn't need to add the water or cornstarch or anything, and it came out nice and thick and delish! I took a picture and will try to upload it. Served it with jasmine rice and broccoli. Thanks Evie, this is going into my favorites folder!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2014

      My husband and I thought this was pretty awful. I marinated it for the full 24 hours and eliminated the 1/4 tsp. of salt and used lite soy sauce. It was SO salty. I reduced the marinade and used as a glaze which only concentrated the saltiness. What was I thinking? I knew that would happen but I guess I just wasn't thinking as I was preparing it. I made 10 thighs because we love leftovers. Unfortunately, I think that the remaining 7 thighs will wind up in the trash. Can you guess that I won't be making this again? I used bone-in and skinless thighs. Cooked for 40 minutes at 425 and the doneness was perfect and it was moist. Other reviewers only marinated them for a short time and they gave them rave reviews. 24 hours may be way too long. Thank goodness that thighs are relatively inexpensive. Another drawback was that I used a pyrex dish that looks like it's going to be impossible to clean because of the sugar. I'm a pretty good cook and I think there are better recipes and easier ones out there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2013

      This was delicious chicken! I used skin with bone chicken thighs, marinated the night before and it was full of flavor right down to the bone. Kids loved it. Thank you for recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2012

    • on May 03, 2012

    • on September 02, 2011

    • on May 14, 2011

      Oh yummy yum yum!! This is a HUGE favorite in our house now! I have also used boneless chicken breasts and they came out wonderful too! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Soy Balsamic Chicken Thighs

    Serving Size: 1 (119 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 345.8
     
    Calories from Fat 193
    56%
    Total Fat 21.5 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 118.4 mg
    39%
    Sodium 1261.0 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 8.4 g
    33%
    Protein 26.4 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites