Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Soy Balsamic Chicken Thighs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Soy Balsamic Chicken Thighs

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on February 04, 2010

      Outstanding! I think this is similar to Japanese Mum's Chicken Japanese Mum's Chicken but it's ever better b/c it's baked and you don't have to watch it. I marinated 4 chicken thighs for 8 hours. I placed then skin side down for 15min. and flipped for 15min., perfect. I didn't use low sodium and I didn't think it was too salty. I followed the directions and I wouldn't change anything the next time around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      I made this tonight and it was really good. Highly recommended. Used boneless, skinless thighs and the texture was perfect and the taste was delicious. I think next time (and that won't be long from now) I'll try slicing a pocket into the thighs so that the marinade can get to the middle. This recipe is a gem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      So good!! I had 6 thighs left over from a pack of 12, so I added the marinade ingredients to the freezer bag and froze the chicken along with it. Thawed out ready to cook! After cooking, I poured the pan drippings into a saucepan and reduced it without adding water and it turned out wonderful - I couldn't get enough! I'll definitely make this again! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2012

      Fantastic! can't wait to make it again! Did'nt marinate more than an hour or two and was still fantastic. Used Cherry Balsamic but otherwise made just like the recipe. We will definitely make again. Thank you for posting this easy, yummy recipe!
      I served it with white rice.
      Ok, made again, this time I marinated a pork roast overnight, roasted without turning, although I spooned the marinade/ajus over as it cooked every 15 minutes. Was really yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      We've made this twice so far and we love it! The sauce is so good. We use good quality low sodium soy sauce and very good quality balsamic vinegar. Served it over brown rice and enjoyed. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2007

      we really enjoyed this. followed everything except i put the chicken under the broiler when i separated it from the sauce to simmer. just to crisp up the skin since that's the way we like it. used regular soy sauce and nobody thought it was salty at all. we thought it was perfect. taste very similar to a philippine entree called "chicken adobo".

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2014

      My husband and I thought this was pretty awful. I marinated it for the full 24 hours and eliminated the 1/4 tsp. of salt and used lite soy sauce. It was SO salty. I reduced the marinade and used as a glaze which only concentrated the saltiness. What was I thinking? I knew that would happen but I guess I just wasn't thinking as I was preparing it. I made 10 thighs because we love leftovers. Unfortunately, I think that the remaining 7 thighs will wind up in the trash. Can you guess that I won't be making this again? I used bone-in and skinless thighs. Cooked for 40 minutes at 425 and the doneness was perfect and it was moist. Other reviewers only marinated them for a short time and they gave them rave reviews. 24 hours may be way too long. Thank goodness that thighs are relatively inexpensive. Another drawback was that I used a pyrex dish that looks like it's going to be impossible to clean because of the sugar. I'm a pretty good cook and I think there are better recipes and easier ones out there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2013

      This was delicious chicken! I used skin with bone chicken thighs, marinated the night before and it was full of flavor right down to the bone. Kids loved it. Thank you for recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2012

    • on May 03, 2012

    • on September 02, 2011

    • on May 14, 2011

      Oh yummy yum yum!! This is a HUGE favorite in our house now! I have also used boneless chicken breasts and they came out wonderful too! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2011

      I made this recipe last night and it went over extremely well. My picky preteens loved it as well as my hubby and 18 month old. I used bone-in chicken legs and thighs and the meat just fell off the bone. I served it with brown rice with edamame and sugar snap peas. Scallions for garnish was a great final touch.(thanks GaylaJ) Also, I've doubled the marinade to ensure there would be enough to drizzle over the rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      1 word..YABADABADOOOO! this was lovely! i made mine with white rice and a side salad next time im going to add grilled red peppers, i made ofr my mum n brother n sister every one loved it..thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2010

      Thought this was great... I didn't even have time to marinate more than 15 minutes...but it was still tasty. Next time I'll be sure to plan ahead though. I added fresh pineapple the last few minutes on the stove and served over brown rice. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      This was very good! I substituted boned+skinless thighs and it worked beautifully. Not too salty. Served with brown rice. Definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      AHA! The elusive recipe that I have been searching for! (about 20 years of searching). The perfect flavoring for Oriental chicken. I did not add a thing. The only thing I will do next time is to skin the thighs. We don't eat the skin, and that's where a lot of flavor landed. (luckily here was a decent amount of juice). Thank you Evie!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      This was delicious. I would not change a thing in this recipe, everything was just the right amount. Not over powering and not to sweet. The sauce is scrumptious. It doesn't get better than this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      This combination of soy sauce & balsamic seemed like an odd pairing to me, but I decided that all these reviews couldn't ALL be wrong! :) Boy, were they ever right! I wasn't able to marinate it as per the directions because I'm an idiot & read it as "up to 24 minutes", but I don't think it made it any less yummy. I will make this again but marinating it for the full time. I also didn't add salt as other reviews suggested & it was perfect for us as we're low salt eaters. Thanks for this recipe Evie, it's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      Delicious! I don't like very salty food so I left out the 1/4 tsp of salt and it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Soy Balsamic Chicken Thighs

    Serving Size: 1 (119 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 345.8
     
    Calories from Fat 193
    56%
    Total Fat 21.5 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 118.4 mg
    39%
    Sodium 1261.0 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 8.4 g
    33%
    Protein 26.4 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites