44 Reviews

Outstanding! I think this is similar to Japanese Mum's Chicken Japanese Mum's Chicken but it's ever better b/c it's baked and you don't have to watch it. I marinated 4 chicken thighs for 8 hours. I placed then skin side down for 15min. and flipped for 15min., perfect. I didn't use low sodium and I didn't think it was too salty. I followed the directions and I wouldn't change anything the next time around.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrusk February 04, 2010

I made this tonight and it was really good. Highly recommended. Used boneless, skinless thighs and the texture was perfect and the taste was delicious. I think next time (and that won't be long from now) I'll try slicing a pocket into the thighs so that the marinade can get to the middle. This recipe is a gem.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimosabe January 07, 2010

So good!! I had 6 thighs left over from a pack of 12, so I added the marinade ingredients to the freezer bag and froze the chicken along with it. Thawed out ready to cook! After cooking, I poured the pan drippings into a saucepan and reduced it without adding water and it turned out wonderful - I couldn't get enough! I'll definitely make this again! Thank you!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarlaM September 30, 2007

Fantastic! can't wait to make it again! Did'nt marinate more than an hour or two and was still fantastic. Used Cherry Balsamic but otherwise made just like the recipe. We will definitely make again. Thank you for posting this easy, yummy recipe!
I served it with white rice.
Ok, made again, this time I marinated a pork roast overnight, roasted without turning, although I spooned the marinade/ajus over as it cooked every 15 minutes. Was really yummy!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robin Batterson January 05, 2012

we really enjoyed this. followed everything except i put the chicken under the broiler when i separated it from the sauce to simmer. just to crisp up the skin since that's the way we like it. used regular soy sauce and nobody thought it was salty at all. we thought it was perfect. taste very similar to a philippine entree called "chicken adobo".

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuvMyBabies June 29, 2007

I made this recipe last night and it went over extremely well. My picky preteens loved it as well as my hubby and 18 month old. I used bone-in chicken legs and thighs and the meat just fell off the bone. I served it with brown rice with edamame and sugar snap peas. Scallions for garnish was a great final touch.(thanks GaylaJ) Also, I've doubled the marinade to ensure there would be enough to drizzle over the rice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarissaLeigh April 08, 2011

This combination of soy sauce & balsamic seemed like an odd pairing to me, but I decided that all these reviews couldn't ALL be wrong! :) Boy, were they ever right! I wasn't able to marinate it as per the directions because I'm an idiot & read it as "up to 24 minutes", but I don't think it made it any less yummy. I will make this again but marinating it for the full time. I also didn't add salt as other reviews suggested & it was perfect for us as we're low salt eaters. Thanks for this recipe Evie, it's a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gumboot Gourmet October 24, 2009

We've made this twice so far and we love it! The sauce is so good. We use good quality low sodium soy sauce and very good quality balsamic vinegar. Served it over brown rice and enjoyed. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy & Jay December 19, 2008

Really good. Chicken was tender and moist and the flavor was nice, not too salty for us. I loved the color too, nice and dark. The sauce was really yummy on top of the chicken and rice after I reduced it. I added just a teensy bit of cornstarch to thicken it up and it made a beautiful glaze. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellisonclan5 October 27, 2008

I made this at the last minute and the chicken was only able to marinate about 1 1/2 hours but it was still FANTASTIC!! I used boneless, skinless so that may have helped. I have a picky husband, 16 yr.old and VERY picky 2 yr. old and all of us enjoyed it. They all had seconds and were bummed there wasn't any left!!! Thanks for the submission. Will use all the time!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skcontreras March 03, 2008
Soy Balsamic Chicken Thighs