9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

DH says this recipe deserves more than 5 stars. I used fresh peppers and onions and cooked them right with the ground beef. Will be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Indiana Debbie October 14, 2003

We absolutely loved this! Very easy to prepare and so tasty! Just three of us in the house and only one piece of pie left. I'll definitely make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TinTN October 07, 2003

This was very good. I really saw no point in using two different skillets (did I read that right?) so I just browned the onion with the meat (omiting peppers), drained, then added the rest of the ingredients. This was a great spin on both taco casserole and pot pie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keolani February 15, 2008

DH really liked this one, and so did I! I made some changes. I used ground turkey instead of beef. I also used mainly reduced fat cheese. I added minced garlic to the cooked, drained meat. For the salsa, I used Salsa Verde. Next time I may add the black beans. Loved this one, Thanks Denise for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CharleneMc February 10, 2008

This was a surprise. I was looking for a use for some pie crusts in my fridge and came across this recipe. I used two fresh red peppers (8 oz) and one fresh white onion (7 oz) and added a 15 oz can of black beans. I was expecting it to be good, but not as tasty as it was. Leftovers reheat very well also. I had a little left over filling (due to the added girth of the black beans, but I just put them in a tortilla and has a very good soft taco. If you are thinking about making this recipe, go ahead and give it a try, I doubt you will be disappointed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Londonsbk January 05, 2008

I was drawn to the recipe because it was different. We thought it was good. It wasn't really a dish that jumps out at you, but I would probably make it again. Definately an original idea!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ridgely September 25, 2006

This was a BIG hit at our house I've made it twice now and it got devoured both times. I added black beans the second time and it was just as good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Darrell May 12, 2004

We all liked this meal. I guess the thing I didn't care for was the pie crust. It seemed too sweet and a little too heavy in contrast with the spicy filling.My daughter didn't care for the corn in it although she normally likes corn a lot. I think what'd I do next time would add some pinto or black beans and omit the corn, and add a can of chopped chilies. But it was all gone except for one lonely piece. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HEP MEP February 06, 2004

We loved this Denise!! Very easy to make, and the leftovers reheated nicely. Thanks for the awesome recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sidd December 20, 2003
Southwestern Taco Pot Pie