113 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Fantastic! Husband recently found out he is allergic to milk products so cut out the cheese and still great! Best stuffed peppers recipe without cheese. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mcclurco December 27, 2010

Excellant recipe and would be great for guests. I made my own salsa and I added cooked chicken with the rice and yum!!! Will be making these again for a dinner party or something. Also great to prepare ahead of time!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Qiyama1 August 18, 2010

Very tasty! I used dehydrated onions instead of raw onions and followed the recipe. I used nice lean hamburg, so there wasn't too much fat in the pan when baking. I used medium salsa and it gave it a bit of spice, but great flavor. We really liked these and will have them again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*~LindyT53~*~ May 21, 2010

Wonderful Recipe even with what I did. I didn't have any canned tomatoes. I used two cans of Tomato Sauce and 3/4 cup of water and added a bit of garlic powder, Mrs. Dash Extra Spicy Seasoning and Mrs. Dash Tomato Basil Seasoning to it(I just shook it in, i didn't measure). I forgot the cheese but it was terrific without it too. Thank you for a wonderful, delish recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momma213 May 07, 2010

Made this as written except I subbed 1 16 oz can pinto beans for the ground beef (to make vegetarian) and added a dash of Worcestershire sauce. Also, we used sharp cheddar cheese which I would definitely recommend. I may mix some cheese in the mixture next time too. Used the 1 cup of water as well for the tomato on the bottom of the dish. First time that my husband and I have had stuffed peppers and we both loved it! Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Virginia Cherry Blossom March 06, 2010

Im a long time member of this site, a culinary grad, and an avid food eater. I rarely take the time to write reviews for all the recipies/formulas. Let me say that these peppers are amazing! I use this recipe as a base. Instead of beef I use turkey for the lower fat content. I add a can of black beans (I wash em) and instead of adding water with the canned tomatoes I add chicken stock for some extra flavor. I also use salsa verde instead of red salsa....great flavor. Well the timer just went off for the peppers, so let me finish with this......dont hesitate to make these stuffed peppers, ive made these 3-4 times now. Enjoy!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rand0mH3r0 November 29, 2009

Great stuffed peppers! We loved the Mexican/Southwest flavoring. I confess to using a commercial taco seasoning, and used a Mexican blend cheese to top off at the end. The can of tomatoes I added to the bottom of the dish was a green chili blend and I added 3/4 cup of water that I mixed with 1/2 tsp. of chicken bouillon granules (Knorr) added to increase the liquid as suggested. I forgot to add sour cream to the servings, but it didn't detract from the meal. This is definately a repeat recipe that I'll turn to again and again. Everybody at the dinner table gave it a thumbs up; including the kids. Thanks so much for the awesome contribution!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happy Hippie October 19, 2009

I've never made stuffed peppers before and this was a gread start. Very easy to put together and tasted good. Next time I think I will add tomatoes to the ground beef mixture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KillerTasteBuds August 02, 2009

I really like this recipe. My husband thought it was good, but was looking for more of a traditional stuffed bell pepper with a saucier tomato base. One comment I would like to make is that the "stuffing" would make great burrito stuffing too. The flavor was mild, but it was very tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karenfood July 12, 2009

We love this recipe. We have always been so-so on stuffed peppers until I tried this. It is amazing. I will always use this recipe from now on. Absolutely delicious!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lili's, Rori's & Rainah's Meemaw July 07, 2009
Southwestern Stuffed Bell Peppers