114 Reviews

I have never had stuffed bell peppers before and wanted to try a new recipe for dinner. I came across this recipe and the reviews were pretty impressive, so I decided to try it. It was easy enough to make, but I wasnt overly impressed like most others were. Then again, I have nothing to compare them to so maybe that had something to do with it. They were good, but not as good as I was expecting. it reminded me of eating tacos, only no tortilla. I think they tasted a lot better as leftovers. I also tweaked the recipe based on some of the reviews. Instead of beef I used ground turkey. I used fire roasted canned tomatoes for a little extra flavor and also added 1 cup of water and a small can of tomato sauce. After halving the peppers and cutting out the membranes, I boiled them in salted water for five minutes to ensure the peppers would be soft. Will keep this recipe for future use just to have something different for a meal every once in a while.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smnthgvldn October 06, 2012

OK - so I LOOVED this recipe. Super good. Thanks for posting. I did make some changes...added water to the canned tomatoes as recommended - also added a small can of green chili's to the tomatoes. I used the taco seasoning mix here on this site - http://www.food.com/recipe/taco-seasoning-budget-friendly-seasoning-for-tacos-burritos-166030 and used Quinoa as a sub for the rice. I also mixed some of the cheese into the meat mixture. It was super good. I'm going to make this again soon. I sure hope the CSA keeps the peppers coming! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gidget265 August 08, 2012

My family loves this recipe. Even my picky eater! I have made it 3 times for my family and once for company. It is always a hit. Thanks for sharing.

The meat mixture freezes great too. If you have a small family like me then you can save half for another night.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kwyndala B. March 30, 2012

Delicious! Easy to make. I made a few changes to the recipe. I used basmati rice, for the taco seasoning I used, 1 tbsp chili powder, 1 tbsp cumin, 1 tbsp tex mex seasoning, 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper and 1/4 tsp salt. Instead of an egg, I used 2 tbsp of liquid egg white and 1 tbsp of canola oil, this is a substitution I find works well for eggs in recipes. Besides that, I followed everything else. They were wonderful and I will be making them again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DaisyFunnel February 13, 2012

Wonderful! This is a simple and delicious dish and one I would serve for company. I cut the recipe in half used Kittencal's Taco Seasoning Mix#76616 for the taco seasoning mix and followed the instructions. I used yellow and red peppers (but for Christmas I will use green and red) and served with sour cream, Easy Authentic Guacamole#287183, The Best Restaurant Salsa Made at Home#133436 and a small green salad. Thank you for submitting the recipe. This is going into my Favorites of 2011. Made for Let's Party 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf December 07, 2011

I didn't realize until it was too late that I wasn't supposed to cook the hamburger first, but it still came out perfect! Also, I used Goya yellow rice for the peppers since that was what I was making as a side dish. I think it was better this way anyway. I'm already being asked when I'm making it again! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elie820 October 24, 2011

These came out great!I have never made stuffed peppers before, so I wasn't sure what to expect. I used some leftover chicken that I had made for soup instead of the beef, brown rice and added some leftover queso dip. I also used Rotel spicey tomatoes for the base of the pan. They gave a nice kick. The peppers were very filling. I used 3 peppers so I had 6 halves. We ate 2 halves and wrapped the rest to store in the freezer for a "I don't want to cook night". Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview October 12, 2011

I had made stuffed peppers only once before, and that was a disaster, trying it vegetarian. Then I found this version and loved it!! It was amazing the first time, and now we are heading for the left-overs. Thank you for posting this simple and easy for company recipe...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
choppie1 August 23, 2011

This was good even though I used pre-cooked beef instead of raw. I bet it would be even better if the meat cooked in the pepper and I'll try that next time. The only problem I had was that the peppers didn't get soft enough. Next time I'll cook the peppers a bit before adding the filling. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muncheechee May 10, 2011
Southwestern Stuffed Bell Peppers