Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Easy Fall Entertaining >

    27 One-Pot Meals

    27 One-Pot Meals

    Easy & Comforting Dinners
    28 Fall Pumpkin Recipes

    28 Fall Pumpkin Recipes

    (Pumpkin) Spice Up Your Life
    Seasonal Squash

    Seasonal Squash

    Get Your Cool-Weather Veggie Fix
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southwestern Quinoa Vegetable Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southwestern Quinoa Vegetable Casserole

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on March 09, 2011

      I really like this recipe. Had to use chicken broth and I added a medium chopped onion, out of habit I guess. Thanks for a great healthy meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2011

      What a great way to prepare quinoa. I followed other reviewers and added onion, used less cheese, and topped also with cilantro, lemon and guacamole. I think the last two were essential!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      I added a can of green chilis, and omitted 1/2 of the cheese. I used tastefully simple mexican spice in place of the cumin and coriander. I sprinkled fresh cilantro on top and dripped lime juice on top. I have never used quinoa in a dish, and my picky eaters surprisingly loved it. I give this dish 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      This was SO delicious, and from such simple ingredients! It gets another hypothetical star from me for being a grain dish which does not require pre-cooking the grains! For the sake of my 2 year old I left out the jalapenos, and though I would have enjoyed the extra kick there was enough flavor from the Rotel to carry the dish. I love how quick and easy it was to throw together; the long bake time gave me plenty of time to make homemade guacamole and salad for sides. Thanks so much for posting! This is absolutely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2011

      Needs more than 5 stars in my opinion. So easy, so tasty, so good for you. I wish I had this recipe when I was a working Mom. Only change I made was not to the recipe itself, but I served it with chopped avocado and fresh limes for squeezing over the top-something I picked up from another recipe on this site. Loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2008

      I'm always looking for new quinoa recipes, but I rarely find one that is truly a meal in and of itself. This one was! I added a small yellow squash and small zucchini that I wanted to use up. I also added a little bit extra quinoa and broth to make sure it all came together. It was really great! I will be making this again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2013

      Simple and tasty! My 10 year old made it tonight for his turn to make dinner. We left the cheese off because I'm allergic to milk, but it was still great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2012

      Delicious and so easy - the only thing that took time was chopping the jalapenos which you can skip by using "hot" RO-TEL.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2011

      Fantastic! I really loved this. I omitted the salt (personal preference) and added a bit of chopped cilantro as garnish with the sour cream. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      Trying to add quinoa to our diet as it is so healthy- this is our favorite recipe so far. I substituted 1 small can green chilies for the jalapeno pepper and left out the coriander as that was what I had on hand. It turned out great, my DH said he could eat this every week

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2014

      Quick, easy and healthy. Who can ask for more?! Oh, and it tasted really great, too! I'm not big on "health food", but this tasted more like a comfort food. I used a can of corn rather than frozen corn and 1/2 tsp beef bullion plus 1/2 cup water instead of the broth. Turned out very flavorful. I skipped the toppings as I'm trying to "be good" and it was still fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2014

      This is amazing! I would eat this every night :) I use tomatoes with mild green chiles instead of Rotel and omit jalapenos because we don't like stuff that spicy. I puree them because of a 6-year-old resident who does not like to see tomato chunks. And since I can't find the place to put my private notes, I will have to put my seasonings here so I can make it the same next time: for quadruple recipe I used 2 t cumin, 1 T coriander, 2 t chili powder, 1/2 t chipotle powder, 1 T oregano, 2 t smoky paprika. I usually use sauteed minced garlic in this. I am making "kits" to take to people who may need an easy meal, so they can put them together for themselves when they need a meal - nothing like having meals delivered by friends and not having enough refrigerator space to store leftovers. I also used this basic formula to do an Italian version, with Italian-recipe tomatoes, garbanzo beans, and chunks of chicken breast that I had coated with rosemary and seared and added partway through the cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2014

      Fantastic recipe. Very easy to make, so I am definitely going to use this when I have a busy day. And feels great knowing it's a healthy dish I am giving my family! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2013

      Amazing. Used fire roasted tomatoes as didn't have the ones required but it tasted incredible. Added a little chipotle powder for spice and topped with avocado. Delish :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2013

      We really enjoyed this! Omitted the cheese, followed the recipe otherwise. Easy, flavorful and really good for leftovers. Will make again-thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2013

      Super Excellent! Thanks for posting and sharing. LOVED this recipe. I think this is enough for 4 as a main, or maybe 6 as a side. Added a whole jalapeño (seeds and ribs removed) and added extra chipotle powder, adobo spice and smoke flavor. All else as written. Also I covered my pan with the glass lid - and all water / evaporation worked fine. This will absolutely be added to main rotation!!!! THANKS for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2013

      we found this to be ok. I miss calculated the cooking time and it was a little soupy with the quinoa not cooked fully but with an awesome flavor. I used tomatoes diced w/ garlic and herb..also 2 fresh peppers from garden. my dh enjoyed it even though it was soupy. recooked today to fully cook the quinoa and not impressed with it the second time around ..the quinoa takes away some of the flavors of the tomatoes,peppers,corn and zucchini which I put in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2013

      Easy, healthy, cheap, and, and kid-approved! I changed a bit based on what I had on hand and personal tastes, but the followed the core of the recipe. Used no-salt diced tomatoes (no ro-tel), a larger amount of rehydrated dried black beans (I make them in the crockpot & freeze them in baggies) 16 oz package of frozen mixed veggies (not corn), used a Tblspn homemade blend of spices similar to a less spicy Emeril's Essence, but still added in the listed herbs. I used extra broth (made from low sodium better than boullion) to make up for extra veggies. I added a small amount of cheddar on top, but did not need to broil it because it melted on contact. The adults added lime juice - a MUST as far as I am concerned - and jalapenos at the table, didn't put them in because of the bland loving children. We used plain fat free greek yogurt instead of sour cream - the difference is never noticed anymore.I know this sounds very changed, but I am sure that the differences in taste from the original recipe are small. I would skip the cheese next time because it was unnecessary. I will do this many times again. It is very rare to get my family to approve of a one dish meal, or a healthy meal, or a meatless without pasta meal, or one that cost very little. All at once and smiles! SCORE! THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2013

      I love quinoa, but cool salads get tiring after a while. This casserole was so easy to make, and it cooked up nicely. Works great if you are in the mood for a Mexican dish or want a quickly assembled meal. My family loved the flavor. I left out the sliced jalapeño to make it more kid friendly because I found it to be zesty enough with the Rotel tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2013

      Delicious and easy. Thank you so much. This will be in regular rotation. I followed the recipe exactly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southwestern Quinoa Vegetable Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (284 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 388.6
     
    Calories from Fat 110
    28%
    Total Fat 12.2 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 6.3 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 29.6 mg
    9%
    Sodium 723.2 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.1 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 10.2 g
    41%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 20.4 g
    40%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites