49 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I really like this recipe. Had to use chicken broth and I added a medium chopped onion, out of habit I guess. Thanks for a great healthy meal.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paka March 09, 2011

What a great way to prepare quinoa. I followed other reviewers and added onion, used less cheese, and topped also with cilantro, lemon and guacamole. I think the last two were essential!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito April 21, 2011

I added a can of green chilis, and omitted 1/2 of the cheese. I used tastefully simple mexican spice in place of the cumin and coriander. I sprinkled fresh cilantro on top and dripped lime juice on top. I have never used quinoa in a dish, and my picky eaters surprisingly loved it. I give this dish 5 stars!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brianbarcello May 28, 2008

This was SO delicious, and from such simple ingredients! It gets another hypothetical star from me for being a grain dish which does not require pre-cooking the grains! For the sake of my 2 year old I left out the jalapenos, and though I would have enjoyed the extra kick there was enough flavor from the Rotel to carry the dish. I love how quick and easy it was to throw together; the long bake time gave me plenty of time to make homemade guacamole and salad for sides. Thanks so much for posting! This is absolutely a keeper.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian May 04, 2010

Needs more than 5 stars in my opinion. So easy, so tasty, so good for you. I wish I had this recipe when I was a working Mom. Only change I made was not to the recipe itself, but I served it with chopped avocado and fresh limes for squeezing over the top-something I picked up from another recipe on this site. Loved it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
askinnycook January 25, 2011

I'm always looking for new quinoa recipes, but I rarely find one that is truly a meal in and of itself. This one was! I added a small yellow squash and small zucchini that I wanted to use up. I also added a little bit extra quinoa and broth to make sure it all came together. It was really great! I will be making this again for sure.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whifflellama October 09, 2008

Easy, healthy, cheap, and, and kid-approved! I changed a bit based on what I had on hand and personal tastes, but the followed the core of the recipe. Used no-salt diced tomatoes (no ro-tel), a larger amount of rehydrated dried black beans (I make them in the crockpot & freeze them in baggies) 16 oz package of frozen mixed veggies (not corn), used a Tblspn homemade blend of spices similar to a less spicy Emeril's Essence, but still added in the listed herbs. I used extra broth (made from low sodium better than boullion) to make up for extra veggies. I added a small amount of cheddar on top, but did not need to broil it because it melted on contact. The adults added lime juice - a MUST as far as I am concerned - and jalapenos at the table, didn't put them in because of the bland loving children. We used plain fat free greek yogurt instead of sour cream - the difference is never noticed anymore.I know this sounds very changed, but I am sure that the differences in taste from the original recipe are small. I would skip the cheese next time because it was unnecessary. I will do this many times again. It is very rare to get my family to approve of a one dish meal, or a healthy meal, or a meatless without pasta meal, or one that cost very little. All at once and smiles! SCORE! THANK YOU!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
little giggly's mom August 21, 2013

Simple and tasty! My 10 year old made it tonight for his turn to make dinner. We left the cheese off because I'm allergic to milk, but it was still great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Three Kids Make Me Crazy May 22, 2013

Delicious and so easy - the only thing that took time was chopping the jalapenos which you can skip by using "hot" RO-TEL.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen December 21, 2012

Fantastic! I really loved this. I omitted the salt (personal preference) and added a bit of chopped cilantro as garnish with the sour cream. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews April 11, 2011
Southwestern Quinoa Vegetable Casserole