10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe combines an excellent combination of flavors! We enjoyed it so much! The only thing I changed was not to add the entire amount of rice and barley into the vegetables. The barley adds body and flavor to this dish and I would definitely not leave this ingredient out. We will look forward to enjoying this recipe again, Paula! Thanks so much for taking the time to share this recipes with us!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev February 23, 2012

this is a 5 star recipe. I tooke the advice of another reviewer and added celery. I also added 1/2 green pepper, and since we love garlic, I tripled it.I used all instant healthy brown rice found at 'aldi's' and it worked great! Didn't use barley. What a wonderful recipe! play with the seasonings til the final product tastes good to YOU. Wonderful recipe. I must admit, we were absolutely shocked at how good it was. My dh's dr. wants to put him on blood pressure meds, and she said try a mederainain diet. I figure this is close.Surprisingly, we aren't fond of black beans, altho we do try to use them in our diet.You've got to try this. Its a real keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lou November 05, 2011

Great recipe...made it a little easier to prepare. I sauteed onion and garlic(also added a little celery) in oil, added broth(used wyler's big boullion with carrot chopped in blender) and grains..
Cooked for 45 minutes till most of moisture absorbed, added corn, beans, peppers, and seasonings and let cook about 5 minutes more...

It is delicious and very hardy.. One can of beans was actually about 1 1/2 cups of beans so I used them all...Could be eaten as a stand alone main dish with the balanced mix of protein and complex carbs..

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kornerqueen October 30, 2011

This was delicious! I did add more garlic and followed the rest of the instructions. Served with Tomato-Crowned Cod#35027. Definately will make this again. I have some left so for lunch today I am going to add some more onion, some celery and maybe some more diced carrots and fry up some sausage and make a soup. Thank you PaulaG. for such a wonderful and easy dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf November 26, 2010

An ample, hearty, very filling pilaf. My kids, who usually complain about the texture of brown rice, had their attention diverted due to all the other wonderful nubby-textured ingredients. I will add a little chili powder and maybe more garlic next time. An extra plus, this is loaded with fiber. Thanks, Paula.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' January 12, 2008

Excellent recipe. I used quick-cook barley and modified the cook time a bit. Regular pearl barley would have been better, but the quick-cook did work. This recipe is good hot or cold. Cold is nice for these super hot days we've been having lately! A note on the instructions. It is not clear on when to add the seasonings. They are mentioned both in steps 4 and 6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms*Bindy August 25, 2007

I did as suggested and used this as a side dish instead of Spanish Rice with a salsa grilled chicken. I have never mixed barley and rice in a dish such as this and truly liked this combination mixed with the garlicky southwest ingredients and seasonings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mareesme August 25, 2007

My Kind Of Meal! Yes you can make a meal of this Colorful yummy healthy chewy PILAF! I have a thing if something can be made easier,"Why Not?" So I sauteed the carrots garlic, onions, peppers in the oil for 5 minutes added the barley and rice tossed to coat, then broth (which should be adjusted to 2 1/2 cups)to it. Heated to a boil lowered the heat to a simmer added the cumin and oregano simmered for 35 minuted, adding the beans and corn cooking 15 more minutes garnish with the cilantro. This is a great base for a hearty soup just add more broth, leftovers are delish as a cold salad adding some fresh lime juice, my DH wanted melted cheese on his so I put it in a wrap with cheese. This has endless ways to serve. Thank YOU for this 10 star RSC recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ August 24, 2007

This is a very colorful, substantial pilaf. The only thing I added to it was a bit of cayenne. This goes well with saucy Mexican dishes. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. August 24, 2007
Southwestern Pilaf