40 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

So I feel like I left out so many things but yet it was still amazing. I did not use eggs or celery or scallions. I added black beans and corn. it was still so good thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
secretcook May 09, 2009

This pasta salad is wonderful! I skipped the celery and hard boiled eggs b/c I do not prefer them. But I did add a little chipotle puree for a smokey flavor. It was fantastic! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bebeboy03 May 04, 2009

Yummy...I doubled the pasta, eggs, celery and scallions. I tripled the salsa, buttermilk, Miracle Whip, garlic powder, cayenne, salt and pepper. I mixed all of the sauce ingredients in the blender (including the salsa). Put in frig overnight. Tasted really great, but I thought it needed more color and texture. I added about 1/2-3/4 cup rinsed canned black beans, chopped red bell pepper and 1/2 cup frozen corn. Really tasted wonderful. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margo59 May 01, 2009

This is now my favorite pasta salad. Such great flavors. Have made it several times. Last time I was out of buttermilk so I substituted yogurt. It still tasted wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red in US March 11, 2009

This was great! I changed it quite a bit, but I always get good ideas from other reviewers, so I will describe what I did. Used soy milk + vinegar for the buttermilk, subbed with soy mayonnaise and left out the eggs to make it vegan, doubled the dressing ingredients except for the "buttermilk", added 1 cup each of frozen corn and canned black beans. Also, left out the celery and scallions due to personal taste. The salad had plenty of taste without them. Will definitely make this again. Thank you for sharing, PanNan!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelli701 October 19, 2008

At first I thought this was just a nice salad, but after the left-overs were refrigerated a couple days it began tasting even better. I finished it off for lunch today and I can't wait to make more. The flavors just sneak up on you, or did me (DH was snarfing it from day one). Thanks, PanNan for a wonderful recipe! M.Joan

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
M. Joan July 26, 2008

I made this on the weekend and I made extra so I could have some for lunch the next day. Unfortunately nothing was left. It's a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tigra July 22, 2008

We all liked this a lot! A real rarity for my house. I did skip the hardboiled egg. I made this pretty regularly last summer and will be doing so again this year. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Moon June 29, 2008

I made this lovely salad and we enjoyed it very much. I omitted the hard boiled eggs, and added black olives and grape tomatoes cut in half. Excellent recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cindymcleod62 June 28, 2008

I loved this DH thought it was just ok. I would definitely make it again though. I did double the ingredients except the pasta since we don't like our salads as dry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Treenickel June 19, 2008
Southwestern Pasta Salad