Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southwestern Pasta Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southwestern Pasta Salad

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on January 26, 2003

      This is incredible! I doubled the sauce ingredients as I made it the night before the lunch I was going to serve it at and I didn't want it to dry out. It was perfect! I served it with chopped black olives, sliced green olives and mild banner rings as garnish. My guests raved! Thanks for making me look good PanNan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2003

      I really enjoyed this salad! I used mayonaise and I didn't have any buttermilk so I added a tbls. of vinegar to a1/4 cup milk. I used commercial salsa. Thanks for a yummy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2003

      I took this to a labor day cook out and everyone loved it. First time I have ever used buttermilk and was quite impressed. I did as Michelle S did, I doubled the dressing as it sat over night and it was perfect the next day. Thanks for posting this one. Its a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2013

      Made this last night with Whacky Noodles, very colorful. I had bought a red bell pepper thinking it called for one, but it didn't I used it anyway. The sauce seemed a bit thin so I added more mayo and it was the perfect. I love the flavor, just the perfect hint of the salsa. Oh, only a sprinkle of cayenne pepper for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2011

      Very good & different from the normal run-of-the-mill pasta salads. A great addition to our summer side dishes to go along with our grilled main dishes. I made it with a full 12 oz box of bow tie pasta (because my helper dumped the whole box in!). I doubled the "sauce" portion & it was just the right amount when we ate it right away. I substituted green onions for the scallions. Used 1/2 c. milk with 1 1/2 tsp vinegar instead of the buttermilk. Used regular jarred salsa. Added a can of drained & rinsed black beans because it seemed to go well. Only thing I'll change next time is to cut back on the red pepper b/c it had too much of a kick for my kiddos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      WOW! This is such an incredibly easy dish to make with common household foods you have on hand and yet it is so good! I used onion instead of scallions and it was still great! A great summer/picnic food as that what I used it for! It doesn't make a lot but it was perfect for my family of 4 with no leftovers. Will be making this quite a bit now...thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      Very good salad recipe. I made this last night for our dinner and we loved it. I did add 3 eggs instead of two, only because I read the recipe wrong. I will make this again, it really is very good. I really liked the salsa in this. It didn't make it really salsa-ey (is that a word?) Thank you very much for sharing this with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

    • on June 13, 2009

      thankyou so much for this recipe i made it and my husband enjoyed it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      This was very good. I used home made salsa. I made the salad and the dressing, kept it the fridge until serving time then tossed it together. Next time I will grate some fresh peppers and add to it. Love the flavor! Made for the LiveStrong event in the cooking photo forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      So I feel like I left out so many things but yet it was still amazing. I did not use eggs or celery or scallions. I added black beans and corn. it was still so good thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      This pasta salad is wonderful! I skipped the celery and hard boiled eggs b/c I do not prefer them. But I did add a little chipotle puree for a smokey flavor. It was fantastic! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2009

      Yummy...I doubled the pasta, eggs, celery and scallions. I tripled the salsa, buttermilk, Miracle Whip, garlic powder, cayenne, salt and pepper. I mixed all of the sauce ingredients in the blender (including the salsa). Put in frig overnight. Tasted really great, but I thought it needed more color and texture. I added about 1/2-3/4 cup rinsed canned black beans, chopped red bell pepper and 1/2 cup frozen corn. Really tasted wonderful. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      This is now my favorite pasta salad. Such great flavors. Have made it several times. Last time I was out of buttermilk so I substituted yogurt. It still tasted wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      This was great! I changed it quite a bit, but I always get good ideas from other reviewers, so I will describe what I did. Used soy milk + vinegar for the buttermilk, subbed with soy mayonnaise and left out the eggs to make it vegan, doubled the dressing ingredients except for the "buttermilk", added 1 cup each of frozen corn and canned black beans. Also, left out the celery and scallions due to personal taste. The salad had plenty of taste without them. Will definitely make this again. Thank you for sharing, PanNan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2008

      At first I thought this was just a nice salad, but after the left-overs were refrigerated a couple days it began tasting even better. I finished it off for lunch today and I can't wait to make more. The flavors just sneak up on you, or did me (DH was snarfing it from day one). Thanks, PanNan for a wonderful recipe! M.Joan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      I made this on the weekend and I made extra so I could have some for lunch the next day. Unfortunately nothing was left. It's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      We all liked this a lot! A real rarity for my house. I did skip the hardboiled egg. I made this pretty regularly last summer and will be doing so again this year. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      I made this lovely salad and we enjoyed it very much. I omitted the hard boiled eggs, and added black olives and grape tomatoes cut in half. Excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2008

      I loved this DH thought it was just ok. I would definitely make it again though. I did double the ingredients except the pasta since we don't like our salads as dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southwestern Pasta Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (147 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 306.5
     
    Calories from Fat 72
    23%
    Total Fat 8.0 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 134.7 mg
    44%
    Sodium 586.0 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.2 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 11.9 g
    23%

    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes