10 Reviews

I halved this recipe, but still used 2 tb. taco seasoning and the full can of tomatoes and simply omitted the seasoning salt. Also had some Mexican style quesadilla melting cheese (block form) that needed to be used up, and that worked well too. An easy dish using ordinary ingredients--cuts into squares very nicely and tastes good. We're happy--thanks Deb--looking forward to leftovers tomorrow.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers July 31, 2010

We loved it, Deb. I mixed the olives with the ground beef before putting lasagna together, though. It still tasted good the next day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsK November 19, 2009

Loved it! Deb, I served this tonight for company and everyone raved about it. I changed the serving size to 6 but used a full egg, and I used rotel rather than separate cans of tomatoes and green chilis. Thank you for a great recipe. (Please see my rating system as I rate tougher than most.) Edited to say that I had this again today as leftovers and it is so good! I allow myself to break my "no 5 stars the first time I make it" rule just once a month and I've decided that this is the one, the flavor is really awesome on this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup August 19, 2008

This was good. My husband didn't like the texture of the cheese (I used ricotta) in this type of dish. He is more of a traditional lasagna person. This made a ton, which is great if you have a family to feed :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lilkari23 August 12, 2007

Definitely a Southwest flavor on this one. I was a bit surprised by the green olives, but they added a pleasant sharpness against the corn tortillas and cheese. Simple to make and assemble, and I thought I wanted more cheese & fillings, but the recipe done as is was actually quite nice. It gets 5 stars for "We ate it all!" P.S. I just re-read the recipe, and didn't realize I should have used black olives. I'll try that next time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gracefire December 14, 2006

Very good - my friend (Rach2) really liked it, so I needed to try it too. I also used whole wheat tortillas and Rotel's tomatoes and chilies. My husband put a little sour cream on his, I ate it as is. We will definitely be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hmms September 10, 2006

This was excellent! One of my new favorite recipes! I only had a pound of beef so I made it in an 11X7 pyrex dish and used a little less of everything. I also used whole wheat tortillas & Rotel diced tomatoes with green chilies instead of a separate can of chilies. It was also great as leftovers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rach2 September 01, 2006

I've had my eye on this for awhile and it was just as delicious as I anticipated. I omitted the green chilies and made a copycat taco seasoningm(I did add a tsp cornstarch mixed with water since taco seasoning usually contains a thickner and I felt the sauce needed it). I baked in a 9 x 13 pan (like the recipe directed), covered, and used corn tortillas. I garnished with some sliced avocado with lemon juice. I was delighted that the whole family enjoyed. The dish is lighter than I imagined and would be perfect for entertaining. Thanks Deb! Roxygirl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado August 28, 2006

Thank you Deb for posting this recipe and twissis for suggesting it to me! We really enjoyed this a lot! I also used flour tortilla's instead of corn and substituted ground turkey for the beef. Very easy and quick to put together, cottage cheese mixture is so creamy and goes very well with the casserole. We did top this with a little sour cream and salsa and sliced olives. Perfect for a busy weekend meal or next get-together with friends!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 July 21, 2006

1 of my best ZWT outcomes was discovering my DH really loved Tex-Mex as I do & this dish is another we loved. I used flour tortillas since corn tortillas can’t be found here & was heavy-handed w/the cheese. My view: There’s no such thing as too much cheese & this cheese combo was great! I somehow got started wrong w/the layering & improvised a bit at the end. My DH doesn’t care much for black olives in cooked dishes, so I left them out. I served this w/some lime juice & cilantro “glazed” avocado slices just to dress the plates. This was a real winner for us! Thx for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis July 20, 2006
Southwestern Lasagna