Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southwestern Grilled Chicken With Lime Butter Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southwestern Grilled Chicken With Lime Butter

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on May 24, 2003

      Meanie, you now have my undying devotion! This was sooooooooo good! We grilled the chicken outside over charcoal. I actualy had to let the paste 'marinate' on the chicken for a few hours while I prepped everything else for dinner. My BF thought that the paste had burned during cooking but after tasting it, we figured out that it hadn't. The dipping sauce was such a great accompaniment! I have never tried chicken this way, but I will make this all the time, from now on!! Thanks soooooo much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2003

      FIVE stars for sure! I made the spice paste exactly as is (doubled it, though, as I had more chicken), and refrigerated the chicken for a couple hours, uncovered. We grilled it over a charcoal fire and the chicken was extremely moist, and very flavorful. I didn't have all the ingredients for the lime butter (but had my heart set on making this dish), so am only rating the chicken part, but the butter, even with my necessary substitutions, was tasty, and accented the flavor of the chicken very well. My substitutions were ground jalapenos for the serrano (could NOT find any hot peppers in my market...or fresh cilantro) and dried cilantro for fresh (let it hydrate in the butter/lime mix for quite a while). Sorry, Mean, I had to make the substitutions, but the chicken was truly outstanding! (and again, even though the lime butter wasn't to "spec", it was still tasty).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2003

      This was an interesting flavour for chicken. I have never used cocoa for anything other than cookies, cakes or brownies before! We really liked the flavour of the chicken BEFORE the addition of the lime butter. I did actually drizzle it all on top instead of leaving on the side like I should have. I thought the lime butter was not really needed to compliment the chicken and I also found out that the rest of my family dislikes cilantro! I will be making this again but I will serve it alone. Thanks for expanding my tastes! ( I served this with Fettuccine Alfredo Mean Chef's Fettuccine Alfredo )

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      This was excellent... even my picky husband who I was sure would turn his nose up at cinnamon and cocoa on chicken loved it. I had 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts, halved the seasoning paste and let it marinate for an hour. I needed the full amount of lime butter and could have used a bit more. As always, I cut way back on the cilantro because I think the taste is so strong. I served this with Spanish rice, pico de gallo, fresh cucumbers and mojitos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      5 Stars and 2 Thumbs Up ALL the way!! This is probably the best grilled chicken I've had in a LONG time! About three hours before grilling time I set the chicken thighs skin side down on our grilling platter and marinated the meat portion only. Once it came time to grill the chicken it was basted and flipped every 3-4 minutes to keep the mixture from burning until it was done. I already had some Jalapeno/Lime Butter in the fridge from a previous recipe and used it to drizzle over the individual servings as needed. It sent the chicken Over The Top!! I even reserved a tablespoon or so as soon as I made the mixture and drizzled over some carrots that I planned on grilling. I let them marinate for several hours and they came out awesome as well! We absolutely LOVED this!! Made for All Fired Up Grilling Photo Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      Excellent Flavor! I made this, let it cool, sliced it thinly and placed it on top of Southwest Salad With Fresh Lime Cilantro Dressing. Great way to make the salad a meal! This combo got rave reviews from my neighbors and friends!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      YUMMMMMM. Great flavor! Loved the cilantro lime butter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      WOW this is fantastic! Such great flavors both from the butter and the meat rub/paste. It was so simple to put together too, which always makes a recipe better in my opinion. I didn't change a thing, except I had to use dairy free margarine for our diet restrictions. I let the meat marinade for about 30-40 minutes before grilling on our foreman grill. And I ran the butter through the food processor. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      I used skinless, boneless chicken breasts. I put the baste right on the chicken like a marinade for several hours. I fixed the sauce in the food processor so it would chop up the cilantro really well. My DH doesn't care for cilantro so I tried to hide it. The lime juice tames the cilantro down (DH says cilantro tastes like "dirt). He didn't even know it was in there! The lime juice and cilantro balances out well and is excellent on the chicken! I served this with the "quick spanish rice" recipe. I can't tell you how great this meal was!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      WOW !!! I can't rate this high enough. This was delicious.. I made it for Valentines Day dinner and it was a huge hit !! The Lime butter could go on almost anything. It would be great on vegetables. I grilled 8 chicken breast and barely had enough of the paste to cover both sides but it was still the best chicken I've made. Thank you !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

      Yummy!!! I was a little skeptical at first about the cinnamon and cocoa powder, but the lime butter intrigued me so I decided to give it a go. I am so glad I did! I probably used only about 2 lbs of chicken thighs and drumsticks, but the full amount of marinade. Mine was more watery than paste like, but that is probably because I eye-balled the oil and vinegar measurements... I did let it marinate for about 2 hours before grilling. I grilled the chicken on a fairly low heat to avoid flare ups and it worked well. It smelled so good while grilling... my BF and 2 dogs stood outside keeping me company the whole time I was grilling and that doesn't happen often! The chicken was so juicy and well seasoned. Didn't taste anything like cocoa or cinnamon...it had a very unique aroma, but I couldn't put my finger on it. When I told my BF the "secret" ingredients, he didn't believe me! I had to use a Thai chili instead of the serrano...I was a little scared it might be too hot , but was just right. We both liked the lime butter, but I thought the chicken was tasty on its own. I did freeze the leftover butter to use next time we have this. Thank you so much for sharing this deliciously different chicken!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      Holy smokes! This is an awesome grilled chicken recipe. Just the right flavor combination. You've just gotta try this. I loved it with the lime butter but it's fantastic on it's own, too. Just be near the grill as it does tend to flame up a bit, and you don't want it to burn! Excellent recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2007

      I was initally a little skeptical about the cinnamon and cocoa but I finally got around to trying this recipe and now I understand why it received so many five star reviews. We used boneless skinless chicken breasts. The chicken was flavorful and very tender and moist! We really enjoyed the lime butter. I think it made the dish and it gave it sort of a South American flair. We are cilantro lovers. The only change that I will make next time.....and there will be a next time.....is to increase the amount of salt in the marinade slightly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      I thought this was a great marinade. Lots of flavours coming together quite nicely. The sauce definitely adds to the experience. I didn't have any limes or even lemons, so added a splash of apple juice instead and that tasted great, so cant wait to try it with the real stuff. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2007

      Truly outstanding. Marinade was easy and so flavorful. I used boneless chicken breasts. Missing the chili for the lime butter but it was still a great addition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2005

      I made this tonight for my parents and everyone loved it!! The only change I made, was I left out the cilantro as we don't like it, but the butter was an excellent addition even without.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2005

      Excellent! Made this for extended family while on vacation and it was wonderful. The lime butter adds a really nice touch. Great spice blend on the chicken as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2005

      I made the lime butter for our steaks and it was delicious! I'm anxious to put it on chicken and either grill or bake it. The Lime Butter can be used for so many dishes - thanks for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2005

      Another incredible Mean recipe! We loved this simple and quick grill recipe! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2004

      The lime butter is to die for, (and I have made it several times since) but am sorry to say that we didn't like the chicken as much, it was rather dry. I think the butter deserves 5 stars and the chicken only 3 stars, hence my rating for this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southwestern Grilled Chicken With Lime Butter

    Serving Size: 1 (206 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 580.7
     
    Calories from Fat 365
    62%
    Total Fat 40.6 g
    62%
    Saturated Fat 14.6 g
    73%
    Cholesterol 184.7 mg
    61%
    Sodium 408.3 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 48.2 g
    96%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites