10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a great taco salad. I made homemade ranch dressing and added roasted salsa to it. I had to make some subs, but they all worked out really well: refried beans (in dollops) instead of kidney beans, baked tortilla chips and guacamole (in dollops) instead of avocado. I also added more cilantro, lime and chips. Very yummy together!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito March 06, 2010

This salad is the best. It tastes like my favorite salad at the Hard Rock Cafe. And it's going to close soon, so I'm glad to be able to do it at home :) I used green onion, fresh corn, no kidney beans, no cilantro. I used low-fat ranch dressing. So yummy! Thanks Parsley :) Made for Market tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette August 25, 2009

Excellent salad! We got rave reviews for it at a family dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jswinks May 10, 2009

fabulous salad...a real hit at my Sunday dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc April 01, 2009

A really refreshing dinner, Parsley! I put mine together a little differently- I plated up all the veggies separately (beans, corn, avocado, tomato, olive), tossed together the lettuce and crushed chips with the dressing, then plated up with some lean ground beef. Very refreshing, tasty, healthy and will be used often this summer...maybe with some shredded chicken next time- thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Houseblend May 11, 2008

Outside of using a package of romaine salad, plain tortilla chips, no cilantro and I served the dressing on the side (some don't like ranch). This was fabulous. The avocados give a nice creamy balance to the crisp texture of the beans and corn. A recipe I could take anywhere and not worry. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Narshmellow May 09, 2008

I made this last night for my kids while we watched football and it was a hit. I do think it needs some additional flavors such as the other reviewers added (i.e. the taco seasoning and chili powder) We used lite Ranch for the dressing and Taco flavored chips which went well with this. Used some green onion for the onion and added chunks of cooked chicken. Thanks *Parsley* for a very simple and quick meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ January 31, 2008

This was yummy. DH really liked it. Served it with Manwich Style Enchilada Casserole # 231828. What a super quick, simple & tasty weeknight dinner. Only change I made was to use black beans instead of kidney beans. Made some homemade ranch drssing and added chili poweder & cumin to it. Came out great. Will make again, thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cajunhippiegirl July 01, 2007

Loved this salad. I will definately make it again and again. Thanks for sharing. On the dressing I just added an envelope of taco mix to a bottle of fat free ranch and it turned out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JKRunning April 06, 2007

I had guests over for dinner and was making vegetarian chili. I was searching for an interesting salad to serve with it so I tried this recipe. It was a big hit! Easy to make and very very tasty. (I was even able to find all the ingredients way up here in western Alaska!) I used 1/2 of a large head of iceberg lettuce and store brand ranch dressing. It was more than enough for four people with everyone having second helpings. I didn't load up on the dressing, just enough to moisten. This is a keeper. Thank you parsley!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alaska-phb December 10, 2006
Southwestern Chopped Salad