25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

10 STARS! I threw together a homemade salsa and used about 1 cup, keeping everything else the same. The Dijon adds a fantastic layer of flavor mingling with the lime of the salsa. For the chili powder, I used dried Chipotle and to make was quicker than quick. I've got an idea! Let's get together and eat until we fall over. Made for Everyday Is A Holiday.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng October 13, 2011

Very easy and quick to assemble, which is always a plus when you've had a busy day. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama November 15, 2011

I reduced the chili to a pinch and added a teaspoon of paprika to the remaining ingredients. I thinly sliced each chicken breast in 3 (to make a snitzel thickness). I let mine sit the the mix overnight. I made this for 10 people and everyone loved it. For my kids I omitted the salsa and just added cheese on top. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingpompom November 01, 2011

5 stars! Really enjoyed this dish. Quick, easy, and delicious! Loved the spice....I used extra spicy salsa and added a few jalapenos too. This recipe just made me smile! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom December 11, 2010

My family liked this. My 9 year old said it was a little hot but she ate it. I had 3 big pieces of chicken that I halved into six pieces. I have never made chicken on the stove top. Usually bake. So this was a very fast meal. Made with mexican rice. Added green onions, cilantro, sour cream, and sirracha on top. Next time I will make more sauce. Thanks!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seal angel September 11, 2012

This was a tasty recipe, quick and easy to make as well. The only substitution I made was the cheese. I used a taco blend of shredded cheese because it's all I had on hand. The only change I will make next time is to add some fresh squeezed lime over the chicken before I add the seasoning, double the salsa mixture, and to maybe let the chicken marinate overnight. Yum! The whole family enjoyed it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DownHomeDinner December 19, 2011

This was really wonderful, and I even forgot the cumin! I used cheddar cheese because it was the only thing I had, and very thin chicken breasts. Everyone loved this and commented favorably on the flavor and presentation. That dijon mustard in there with the salsa gives it an interesting little twist! Easy to toss together and quick to the table. Thanks for a winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vrvrvr July 29, 2011

Oh! what a delicious dish. I made mine with medium salsa even though DH and I like the really hot and spicy stuff. But the flavor of this medium salsa worked so well with the mustard and the chicken. I cooked mine until it was almost done, threw it in the oven with my potatoes that were cooking for about 5 minutes topped it with the cheese, (sliced monterey jack) let it melt, took it out and sprinkled it with chopped cilantro. Thanks for posting. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas February 10, 2011

We really enjoyed this and thought the amount and thickness of sauce was just perfect for a meat main dish. My husband thought it was a little too spicy but he was the only one. I used mild salsa but used pepper jack cheese. I also used the cilantro instead of green onion. I didn't think the chicken was cooked after 10 minutes but my other dishes were not done so I just "ignored" it and turned it over occasionally. I covered the dish after I added the cheese so it would melt. Next time I would sprinkle the spices on both sides of the chicken just for visual appeal. I also only had about 1/2 tsp. of cumin but would use the full amount next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch January 09, 2010

It was a good dish that you could smell throughout the house. There could have been more sauce, however. We are the pour-the-drippings-and-anything-else-liquid over your rice kind of people :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redheaded Chef October 21, 2009
Southwestern Chicken Skillet