Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southwestern Chicken Skillet Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southwestern Chicken Skillet

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on October 13, 2011

      10 STARS! I threw together a homemade salsa and used about 1 cup, keeping everything else the same. The Dijon adds a fantastic layer of flavor mingling with the lime of the salsa. For the chili powder, I used dried Chipotle and to make was quicker than quick. I've got an idea! Let's get together and eat until we fall over. Made for Everyday Is A Holiday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2011

      Very easy and quick to assemble, which is always a plus when you've had a busy day. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2011

      I reduced the chili to a pinch and added a teaspoon of paprika to the remaining ingredients. I thinly sliced each chicken breast in 3 (to make a snitzel thickness). I let mine sit the the mix overnight. I made this for 10 people and everyone loved it. For my kids I omitted the salsa and just added cheese on top. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2010

      5 stars! Really enjoyed this dish. Quick, easy, and delicious! Loved the spice....I used extra spicy salsa and added a few jalapenos too. This recipe just made me smile! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2012

      My family liked this. My 9 year old said it was a little hot but she ate it. I had 3 big pieces of chicken that I halved into six pieces. I have never made chicken on the stove top. Usually bake. So this was a very fast meal. Made with mexican rice. Added green onions, cilantro, sour cream, and sirracha on top. Next time I will make more sauce. Thanks!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2011

      This was a tasty recipe, quick and easy to make as well. The only substitution I made was the cheese. I used a taco blend of shredded cheese because it's all I had on hand. The only change I will make next time is to add some fresh squeezed lime over the chicken before I add the seasoning, double the salsa mixture, and to maybe let the chicken marinate overnight. Yum! The whole family enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2011

      This was really wonderful, and I even forgot the cumin! I used cheddar cheese because it was the only thing I had, and very thin chicken breasts. Everyone loved this and commented favorably on the flavor and presentation. That dijon mustard in there with the salsa gives it an interesting little twist! Easy to toss together and quick to the table. Thanks for a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2011

      Oh! what a delicious dish. I made mine with medium salsa even though DH and I like the really hot and spicy stuff. But the flavor of this medium salsa worked so well with the mustard and the chicken. I cooked mine until it was almost done, threw it in the oven with my potatoes that were cooking for about 5 minutes topped it with the cheese, (sliced monterey jack) let it melt, took it out and sprinkled it with chopped cilantro. Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      We really enjoyed this and thought the amount and thickness of sauce was just perfect for a meat main dish. My husband thought it was a little too spicy but he was the only one. I used mild salsa but used pepper jack cheese. I also used the cilantro instead of green onion. I didn't think the chicken was cooked after 10 minutes but my other dishes were not done so I just "ignored" it and turned it over occasionally. I covered the dish after I added the cheese so it would melt. Next time I would sprinkle the spices on both sides of the chicken just for visual appeal. I also only had about 1/2 tsp. of cumin but would use the full amount next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      It was a good dish that you could smell throughout the house. There could have been more sauce, however. We are the pour-the-drippings-and-anything-else-liquid over your rice kind of people :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      This was really very good! I made exactly as listed, except that I used cheddar instead of monterey jack cheese. I served it with Simple Mexican Rice; the two dishes were perfect together

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      Wonderful!! So easy to prepare too! I am very happy to have found this recipe. I have been waiting to try this, I didn't think my family would like it but they love it! I served this with The Easiest Spanish Rice, and a salad. It is very easy to prepare also. I will be making this again! Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      My gosh was this good! Easy enough a weeknight meal. I used cilantro and monterey jack cheese. Wouldn't change a thing. You have another winner here Lainey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      this was very good, I made some amount adjustments and used Swiss cheese a that is all I had at the time, I also added in some cayenne pepper, thanks for sharing Lainey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      This dish was great- super easy and tasted wonderful. I served this with the rice recipe posted by another cook. I'm looking forward to making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      Simple, easy and delicious. The results here really hang on what salsa you use for your sauce, in my case it was my favorite chipotle salsa from Trader Joe's so there was plenty of kick. I agree with ChicagoRN and found myself adding a few tablespoons of water to the salsa initially which reduced out at the end of the quick simmer and gave me just the right consistency for the sauce. Topped mine with soy Monterey Jack cheese and some green onions for a great Core dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      This was a great chicken dish. I browned the chicken as instructed, then stuck them in the oven to heat the sauce and melt the cheese. The dijon gives the chicken a very unique taste. It is a great way to have a southwest twist on chicken. My dh gobbled it up. I paired this with Mexican Rice and it was a great combination. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      I really liked the flavor of this dish a great deal, however, I increased the sauce to 1.5 times the stated it amount and it was still FAR too dry for us. I think this will be a perfect 5 star recipe by increasing the salsa/dijon ratio to at least triple the stated amount. We were fighting over the bits of sauce...which was wonderful. Who knew salsa and dijon would go so well together? I increased the garlic and increased the chili powder but followed everything else to a "T". Wonderful flavor...but will need to increase the sauce. Served over white rice with a salad...nice dinner! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      Easy, low calorie, and doesn't heat the kitchen up...and it tastes great! What more could one ask for? The chili powder and cumin flavor this chicken so well!! The mustard with the salsa pairs so well with spices sauteed on the chicken. Absolutely delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      Here in Mexico our prepared Salsa Cassera is a bit tangier, so I used no chile powder and added a bit of V-8 juice to the mix. And, served with a big dollop of fresh crema (sour cream will do nicely). A great quick workday meal, we'll have it again. Thanks for posting it! Carol Billups, Cabo San Lucas, BCS, Mexico

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southwestern Chicken Skillet

    Serving Size: 1 (191 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 278.1
     
    Calories from Fat 128
    46%
    Total Fat 14.2 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 6.4 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 100.6 mg
    33%
    Sodium 683.1 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 32.9 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes