Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southwestern Chicken Pot Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southwestern Chicken Pot Pie

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on April 18, 2004

      Hi Kitty...this was a wonderful meal for DH and myself for dinner...it was just delicious, the only thing that I changed was, I did not have black beans, so I used some kidney beans instead, and used a pinch of hot pepper powder instead of the chipotle powder (I will just have to purchase some next time I go shopping), as I will definately be making this again...the corn muffin mix on top was just so good...I made everything in one large over-proof skillet, and then baked it in the oven in the same skillet...This is a winner for sure Kitty, we enjoyed it so much, thanks for posting :-)...KC

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      This is a nice dish! Next time I'll use salsa instead of tomato sauce to give it more pizzazz. The pasta sauce I used was too sweet. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      Excellent Recipe - yummy comfort food. Very easy to make. Made it for a friend - quick and simple. We almost ate the whole thing! (gasp!) Changes I made: Substituted 1 can chopped tomatoes plus 1 sm can tomato paste PLUS 1/2 sm can water to substitute for tomato sauce. Added 1/2 sm can (6 oz?) chipolte peppers in adobo sauce. (may add whole can next time!) Added smidge cilantro (1-2 tsp?) Was very very good. Will make again and again. UPDATE: Make this frequently as this is one of my husband's favorites. Tonight it was best. used 3/4 can tomato paste, plus about 3/4 sm can water plus about 6 small campari tomatoes. Rinsed and drained black beans. Added about 1/2 tsp adobo seasoning and 3 chipolte peppers finely chopped in adobo sauce. Added about 1/2 small bunch of chopped fresh cilantro. Just excellent. Cooked 2 breasts of chicken in le creuset, mixed as directed, boiled and then put into the oven with cornbread topping. Took well over 45 minutes to bake in the le creuset (5.5 Q). Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      We really enjoyed this recipe for dinner last night! It was very easy to make and I made as posted. I used the full 1/2 tsp. of chipotle powder and all the spices worked together and were just the right amount of spicy. I used a box of Jiffy corn muffin mix and it worked perfect. Thanks for posting a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2007

      I saw this recipe and could hardly wait to try it! We had it last night for dinner and it was a big hit! BF and I are watching our waistlines, so I did make a few small changes. I used Pam to coat the skillet for the chicken and omitted the vegetable oil. I only used 1 cup of low fat cheese and prepared the corn bread mix (I used Jiffy) with Egg Beaters and skim milk. Turned out wonderfully! It took a lot of self-control not to eat the entire thing! Thanks for the recipe! I'll be making it again soon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2006

      This turned out well enough for us to try again and tweek for our own tastes, but probably only on a quarterly basis rather than monthly. Our kitchen scale is off a bit because I ended up with a LOT of chicken. I used leftovers that I had in the freezer. Ended up adding a can of diced tomatoes (with green chiles) and another can of tomato sauce because of quantity of chicken. Did 1 tsp chili powder, 1 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp garlic salt (out of powder), and a couple of dashes of Mrs. Dash with Chipotle (closest thing I could find at the store). Because of the quantity and the lack of a 2.5qt dish here it went into a 9x13 and I made corn bread from a recipe to pour on top. It had more bite to it then we like, but the diced tomatoes with chiles were a brand I haven't had before and could have been mostly responsible for that. I recommend trying this to see where it fits in your meals. Will update comments when we find how we like it best.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2014

      This was good and easy. A few of my diners weren't crazy about the black beans but it was a very good dish. I used already cooked chicken breasts which cut down on the prep time. I used a 9x13 dish. Next time I may use a deeper casserole dish to get the full effect of the cornbread topping. I also like the idea of subbing the tomato sauce with salsa. Thanks for a keeper, Chef perppermintkitty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2013

      This was fantastic! My whole family raved over it. Will make again soon. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2012

      A little dry as I used Rotel instead of tomato sauce. Made half a recipe and still have lots left to freeze for later. Used Jiffy Corn Muffin Mix Copycat for the Muffin mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      really yummy! i made this filling, but used the: albers tamale pie recipe in place of the cornbread. i really liked the filling and loved that it used canned food from my pantry (i used canned chicken). this made for a super fast dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      wowzer, this is really, really good! i made it just as posted with just a few minor additions - i added 1 1/2 tsp. of dried cilantro (although i'm sure fresh would totally rock), some chicken base and subbed cheyenne pepper for the chipotle powder. as suggested by other reviewers, in place of the tomato sauce i used a 6 oz. can of tomato paste and then filled that can with almost 6 ozs. of juice from my (home grown) fresh frozen corn. YUMMALICOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      This wasn't bad. I tried tomato paste as suggested and thought it made it too thick. Maybe 1/2 past 1/2 sauce would have been better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      I'm sorry but I did not care for this. I took the advice of another review and used tomatoe paste, add half can of green chilies, and diced up a tomatoe. It looked okay until I put the tomatoe paste in. And I added water but it was still a no for me. My husband liked it. But, I ended up eating half a ham sandwich and my daughter ate spaghetti o's. Sorry...............

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      This was good, filling and easy to put together. My DS especially loved it as he ate 3 helpings (did I mention hes 6!!!!) I haven't seen him eat that much in a long time. I will be putting this in my repeat cookbook. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      MMMmm... We all loved this yummy pot pie! I sauteed some onions and added them in along with the other ingredients. Such a tasty meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      I cooked it in a dutch oven on the stove top, using cornbread as dumplings. I used less cheese (just a little cheddar grated under and on top of the dumplings).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      Wow! I thought it was awesome! To save time and money, I used two 12.5 oz cans of chicken. Tasted great! Wouldn't change or add a thing! Thanks Peppermint Kitty, this was the first time I heard my DH say he wanted thirds! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      We thought this was pretty good. Nothing out of the ordinary, but still yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      Wow! This is great! Instead of chicken, I used two boxes of the Smart Taste veggie crumbles, and mixed it in a big pan with the corn, beans, and a can (undrained) of mexican tomatoes instead of the paste. I didn't have all the spices, so I just dumped in some chili powder, creole seasoning, and some shakes of green tobasco sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      Peppermint Kitty, you can tell your husband he picked a winner with this one! Very easy to make and very tasty...we really enjoyed it. I had to use Kidney beans as I was out of Black beans, but it made no difference. I added a small can of mild Ortega chili's as I didn't have any Chipotle powder and it turned out just fine. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southwestern Chicken Pot Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (277 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 436.3
     
    Calories from Fat 151
    34%
    Total Fat 16.8 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 80.1 mg
    26%
    Sodium 907.4 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.1 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 7.1 g
    28%
    Sugars 9.2 g
    36%
    Protein 32.3 g
    64%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes