Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southwestern Chicken Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southwestern Chicken Casserole

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-35 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on August 23, 2006

      My family really enjoyed this casserole. The Rotel was a little spicey for the little ones, so will use mild next time. Great left over, so will also double next time. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2006

      This recipe is outstanding and I am incredibly picky about my recipes. I did make some changes. First I used 2 cups smoked chicken (Carrot Zucchini Muffins with double the liquid smoke). Second I used 1 tablespoon of onion powder 'cause hubby doesn't like chopped onions. Third, I cut back the cheese to 8 ounces in the casserole, 4 ounces on top at the end. This recipe will not disappoint.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2006

      This was good. Made it for a Sunday dinner. My husband wasn't overly impressed, but I liked it. I misread the ingredient list and had regular rice, so I used 1.25 cups rice and partially cooked it, then put into recipe. Turned out fine. One pound cheddar cheese was a bit much. I put on about 1.5 cups maybe. Thanks!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2006

      While my husband pretended not to be too impressed with this dish, he had seconds and thirds. I think that says enough! I will definitely make this again. Next time I will add some corn, as someone else suggested, and also some cayenne for a little extra kick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2006

      Great dish! Very easy and the family loved it! Most of these ingredients I keep on hand so it works great for a last minute supper. Thanks Miranda!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2006

      This is very tasty! Next time I'll experiment and try adding some black olives and black beans. Without adding anything the dish is very yummy. I had no problems with the onions getting cooked enough but I also cut them as small as I could. Also, I took 1/2 the cheese and mixed it within the casserole at the end and the other 1/2 I sprinkled on top. I highly recommend doing that and using the whole amount of cheese the recipe calls for. It gave the entire dish great flavor! Leftovers were even better microwaved. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2006

      We all liked this very much - with one exception that can easily be remedied. The onions were still pretty crunchy and my kid and husband didn't care for that.(I didn't mind!) So next time, Ill soften them before I throw them in the mix.I also added about a half a can of black beans and extra green chilies. The taste is really great and I will be making the again.(with precooked onion!) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2006

      I have added this to my list of tried and true. I also added black beans and cut back on the cheese for health reasons. My husband loved it the next day wrapped up in a tortilla.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2006

      I ended up using a little over 2 cups of chicken. Tasty, but very cheesy. Next time I will cut down on the cheese and add some extra veggies (maybe mushrooms, olives, and jalapenos).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2006

      My family really liked this dish. It is easy to make and goes together very quickly, with ingredients I had on hand (no trip to the store necessary). I used 2 cups chicken, the seasoned broth that I cooked the chicken in, and 1 tsp. cumin. I will definitely be making this again and again. Thank you for sharing this recipe...it is a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2005

      Very delicious recipe and easy to make. I substituted light sour cream, 2 cups of Tyson southwestern chicken strips, and added a can of black beans. I also used a full pound of Mexican blend cheese, and I think it was a little overpowering. Next time I will definitely cut down on the cheese. If you like spicy Mexican food, and add more chili pepper or Franks Redhot. YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2005

      This was very yummy. I used brown rice, low fat soup and sour cream, and about 2 cups of cheese. I cooked for an hour without the cheese(stiring every 20 min)then added the cheese and cooked for about 10 min. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2004

      This is a great casserole! My whole family loved it!! It is really hard to find a casserole that the whole family loves. Thank you very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2004

      Made this last night for dinner. Followed directions exactly. Extremely easy to throw together. Great for a weeknight meal. We all loved it and will definitely make this again. May try adding a can of black beans next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2004

      Great dish. Pleased the DH who normally does not care for rice. I used 2 cups of chicken(a preseasoned fajita type) and used less cheddar on top more like 8 ounces to try to cut back on the fat, and used light sour cream, and still this dish was great, incredibly easy and soooo full of flavor. Thanks a bunch for another keeper. Peggy Lynn

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southwestern Chicken Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (272 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 617.0
     
    Calories from Fat 344
    55%
    Total Fat 38.2 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 22.3 g
    111%
    Cholesterol 117.5 mg
    39%
    Sodium 1268.7 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.1 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 31.6 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites