36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have been trying out different chicken casserole dishes, in an attempt to find one tasty and easy enough to bring to a large Christmas party that is coming up. This is the one I will be using. It was very good, with just enough kick but not too spicy. I used a shredded Mexican blend of cheese instead of just cheddar. Thanks so much for posting this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JadesGoodEatin December 02, 2008

Delicious and very easy to make! Picky 2 year old and husband also loved it. Will make often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luminajd August 05, 2008

WONDERFUL!!So easy to make--will be a regular meal for us.What little left over we had my four year old wanted for breakfast!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tricia6 June 17, 2008

This was really yummy! It only took 40 min. in my oven and it was perfect. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLBoyle June 04, 2007

At first I didn't like this but then I could not stop eating it. I will cook the onions first next time. I also stir it every so often while it is baking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura O. April 07, 2007

After reading the recipe and all the reviews, I decided to give this a try. I did a few things different though: I browned 1 lb of ground turkey and drained it, I used 1 cup of french fried onions because they needed to get used up, I added a can of drained black beans, a 1/2 tsp of garlic powder and 1/2 tsp of ground cumin. I followed the advice of other reviews and didn't add the cheese until the end and stirred every 20 minutes or so. Then I topped it with a mixture of jack and cheddar, probably 2 cups worth. Hubby couldn't stop eating it and was SO excited to have leftovers tomorrow. My 18 mo DD gobbled it up, and my 4 yo DS cleaned his plate too. Needless to say, we all enjoyed this immensely. I have to admit, I was a bit skeptical because mixing it up it didn't look very "pretty" but it sure tasted good! With the addtion of the black beans and the extra meat, I think it's a pretty healthy meal and one that I'll make again! Thanks Miranda for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kater March 20, 2007

I absolutley LOVED this recipe!!! I'm pregnant so I was drawn to this recipe because it was so simple to make and is packed with flavor! I used the Oscar Meyer Southwestern Chicken Breast Strips and just diced them up, added a can of black beans, plus some garlic (we love garlic at my house), and added some cumin. It was WONDERFUL! I followed the advice of the other reviewers and left the cheese out until the end, stirring every 20 minutes. After an hour I stirred in 2 cups of mexican blend cheese and topped it with 1 cup of cheese and baked for 5 more minutes. FABULOUS! I brought the leftovers to work and it was gone in 5 minutes! Thanks for the keeper Miranda, I'll be making this easy and tasty dish once a week!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KPD October 17, 2006

This was excellent. I used quite a bit more cooked chicken to increase the protein and added a can of black beans. I sprinkled Franks Hot Sauce on my servings. Will make often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ruthiefoster55 October 08, 2006

This is our absolute favorite recipe we have tried off of this website! Its nice actually looking forward to leftovers for a change. My 7 year old loves it. We will be making this often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Atheist Cook September 30, 2006
Southwestern Chicken Casserole