36 Reviews

I have made this recipe several times and each time it comes out wonderfully! We like beans so sometimes I prepare it with pinto beans and sometimes black beans..depending on what is requested :) I have followed the advice of some reviewers and stir every 20 minutes to keep the rice from being crunchy. We love cumin so I usually add about a tablespoon of it and it turns out so yummy! 5 stars!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mydawta3 January 17, 2010

We really liked this casual weeknight dish. I used lighter ingredients including brown rice, ff/low-sodium broth, ff sour cream and reduced fat cheese. I cut the chili powder down to 1/2 tsp. according to others' reviews. I had to guess at the baking time, so ended up increasing temp to 375^ and stirring every 20 minutes for a total of 50 minutes in my convection oven. Will enjoy again! Thanks Miranda!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick July 07, 2009

This was a great recipe with lots of room for modifications. I love that since it allows me to use what I have. I only had about 1 3/4 cup of the rice, so I used the same ammt of water and two boullion cubes. I used a can and a half of diced tomates and a can of mild green chilis. I did not have the cream of chicken, so I used a can of cheddar cheese soup. This worked well..it was very cheesy. I used a spare ammt of the shredded cheese as a result only to dust the top. Also, my cubed chicken was two breast halves I had left over than had been dusted with taco seasoning and browned. The sour cream I used was also mixed with the remainder of the taco seasoning envelope. I also added a can of drained black beans. Yummy comfort food!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blissful74 October 27, 2008

I doubled this recipe and here is how I baked it. I put it into my Pampered Chefs stoneware rectangular baker (cake size). Into a 375 degree oven for 20 minutes, pulled it out, gave it a stir then back in for another 20 minutes at 350 degrees. Pulled it out one last time gave it another stir and back in another 20 minutes. At this time I thought I'd need to add more rice, I was a little worried there was to much liquid. But when I took it out of the oven that last time, it was PERFECT!! Total time in oven 1 hour. All the kids loved it. It was very easy to make and I will be making this again and again. Thank you for sharing this great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J June 21, 2006

I feel guilty for having used this recipe so often and not posting a review. It is wonderful and everyone who has tried it loves it. We even buy instant rice now in bulk, just for this. It is very spicy, but versatile. I have often omitted the chili powder and you could probably use mild rotel, instead of regular. In a rush, I also use canned chicken with great success. I also don't like to cut onions and flakes work just as well. Boullion cubes and water will save you if you run out of cans of broth. The only other tip I have is to stir the mixture two or three times while baking (before adding the cheese). This helps the rice on top not to dry out and become crunchy. We also like Mexi-blend shredded cheese on top. Overall - WONDERFUL, versitile recipe that is used all of the time at my home.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sophie's Mom June 22, 2005

I liked the flavor of this casserole. But I wish the directions would have included the oven temperature and amount of time required to cook it. I read all the reviews. Based on those I cooked it for 1 hour at 350, stirring every 20 minutes. My rice was mush. Very disappointing. I might try this again cooking a total of 40 - 45 minutes. I'm not sure though, because my husband didn't care for it. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catmaniacs November 04, 2014

we really really liked this! It was a last minute meal and it worked out great. thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klb42183 March 08, 2010

I liked it more than my husband did, he said it wasn't bad but there are things he likes better that use similar ingredients. I on the other hand (as the cook/mom/wife) thought it was a great, quick meal that filled everyone up and using low fat ingredients wasn't all that bad for you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kel-Cie T July 02, 2009

My friend made this for dinner last night and it was wonderful! I'm eating it for lunch today. She says it's originally a weight watchers recipe with non fat soup, cheese and sour cream. She made it as written... full fat and we loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeidiSue March 24, 2009

Very easy and a great way to use up leftover chicken. I mixed one cup of the cheese in the casserole. I found the combination of the sour cream and the soup to be a bit heavy, even though I used low fat sour cream. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kat's Mom March 15, 2009
Southwestern Chicken Casserole