Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southwestern Chicken Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southwestern Chicken Casserole

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on July 07, 2009

      We really liked this casual weeknight dish. I used lighter ingredients including brown rice, ff/low-sodium broth, ff sour cream and reduced fat cheese. I cut the chili powder down to 1/2 tsp. according to others' reviews. I had to guess at the baking time, so ended up increasing temp to 375^ and stirring every 20 minutes for a total of 50 minutes in my convection oven. Will enjoy again! Thanks Miranda!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      This was a great recipe with lots of room for modifications. I love that since it allows me to use what I have. I only had about 1 3/4 cup of the rice, so I used the same ammt of water and two boullion cubes. I used a can and a half of diced tomates and a can of mild green chilis. I did not have the cream of chicken, so I used a can of cheddar cheese soup. This worked well..it was very cheesy. I used a spare ammt of the shredded cheese as a result only to dust the top. Also, my cubed chicken was two breast halves I had left over than had been dusted with taco seasoning and browned. The sour cream I used was also mixed with the remainder of the taco seasoning envelope. I also added a can of drained black beans. Yummy comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      I have made this recipe several times and each time it comes out wonderfully! We like beans so sometimes I prepare it with pinto beans and sometimes black beans..depending on what is requested :) I have followed the advice of some reviewers and stir every 20 minutes to keep the rice from being crunchy. We love cumin so I usually add about a tablespoon of it and it turns out so yummy! 5 stars!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2006

      I doubled this recipe and here is how I baked it. I put it into my Pampered Chefs stoneware rectangular baker (cake size). Into a 375 degree oven for 20 minutes, pulled it out, gave it a stir then back in for another 20 minutes at 350 degrees. Pulled it out one last time gave it another stir and back in another 20 minutes. At this time I thought I'd need to add more rice, I was a little worried there was to much liquid. But when I took it out of the oven that last time, it was PERFECT!! Total time in oven 1 hour. All the kids loved it. It was very easy to make and I will be making this again and again. Thank you for sharing this great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2005

      I feel guilty for having used this recipe so often and not posting a review. It is wonderful and everyone who has tried it loves it. We even buy instant rice now in bulk, just for this. It is very spicy, but versatile. I have often omitted the chili powder and you could probably use mild rotel, instead of regular. In a rush, I also use canned chicken with great success. I also don't like to cut onions and flakes work just as well. Boullion cubes and water will save you if you run out of cans of broth. The only other tip I have is to stir the mixture two or three times while baking (before adding the cheese). This helps the rice on top not to dry out and become crunchy. We also like Mexi-blend shredded cheese on top. Overall - WONDERFUL, versitile recipe that is used all of the time at my home.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      we really really liked this! It was a last minute meal and it worked out great. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      I liked it more than my husband did, he said it wasn't bad but there are things he likes better that use similar ingredients. I on the other hand (as the cook/mom/wife) thought it was a great, quick meal that filled everyone up and using low fat ingredients wasn't all that bad for you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      My friend made this for dinner last night and it was wonderful! I'm eating it for lunch today. She says it's originally a weight watchers recipe with non fat soup, cheese and sour cream. She made it as written... full fat and we loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      Very easy and a great way to use up leftover chicken. I mixed one cup of the cheese in the casserole. I found the combination of the sour cream and the soup to be a bit heavy, even though I used low fat sour cream. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      I have been trying out different chicken casserole dishes, in an attempt to find one tasty and easy enough to bring to a large Christmas party that is coming up. This is the one I will be using. It was very good, with just enough kick but not too spicy. I used a shredded Mexican blend of cheese instead of just cheddar. Thanks so much for posting this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      Delicious and very easy to make! Picky 2 year old and husband also loved it. Will make often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      WONDERFUL!!So easy to make--will be a regular meal for us.What little left over we had my four year old wanted for breakfast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      This was really yummy! It only took 40 min. in my oven and it was perfect. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2007

      At first I didn't like this but then I could not stop eating it. I will cook the onions first next time. I also stir it every so often while it is baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      After reading the recipe and all the reviews, I decided to give this a try. I did a few things different though: I browned 1 lb of ground turkey and drained it, I used 1 cup of french fried onions because they needed to get used up, I added a can of drained black beans, a 1/2 tsp of garlic powder and 1/2 tsp of ground cumin. I followed the advice of other reviews and didn't add the cheese until the end and stirred every 20 minutes or so. Then I topped it with a mixture of jack and cheddar, probably 2 cups worth. Hubby couldn't stop eating it and was SO excited to have leftovers tomorrow. My 18 mo DD gobbled it up, and my 4 yo DS cleaned his plate too. Needless to say, we all enjoyed this immensely. I have to admit, I was a bit skeptical because mixing it up it didn't look very "pretty" but it sure tasted good! With the addtion of the black beans and the extra meat, I think it's a pretty healthy meal and one that I'll make again! Thanks Miranda for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

    • on October 17, 2006

      I absolutley LOVED this recipe!!! I'm pregnant so I was drawn to this recipe because it was so simple to make and is packed with flavor! I used the Oscar Meyer Southwestern Chicken Breast Strips and just diced them up, added a can of black beans, plus some garlic (we love garlic at my house), and added some cumin. It was WONDERFUL! I followed the advice of the other reviewers and left the cheese out until the end, stirring every 20 minutes. After an hour I stirred in 2 cups of mexican blend cheese and topped it with 1 cup of cheese and baked for 5 more minutes. FABULOUS! I brought the leftovers to work and it was gone in 5 minutes! Thanks for the keeper Miranda, I'll be making this easy and tasty dish once a week!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2006

      This was excellent. I used quite a bit more cooked chicken to increase the protein and added a can of black beans. I sprinkled Franks Hot Sauce on my servings. Will make often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2006

      This is our absolute favorite recipe we have tried off of this website! Its nice actually looking forward to leftovers for a change. My 7 year old loves it. We will be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2006

      This is now a family favorite, We just loved it. I will place this one in the Better than 5 stars catagory. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southwestern Chicken Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (272 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 617.0
     
    Calories from Fat 344
    55%
    Total Fat 38.2 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 22.3 g
    111%
    Cholesterol 117.5 mg
    39%
    Sodium 1268.7 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.1 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 31.6 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites