Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southwestern Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southwestern Chicken

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on November 03, 2008

      This got very good. I had cooked the chicken in butter, curry and garlic and then decided on this recipe. I used 1/2 bag Birdseye frozen red, green pepper and onion stir-fry, an 11 oz can of mexicorn, and 1-14.5 can of flavored stewed tomatoes. I probably had at least 2 lbs of chichen. This made it even easier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      This was the first time I have used this recipe, it was excellent. My family loves chicken and I need some new ideas, this was perfect. I made rice, beans, and tortillas. I didnt have cumin when I made this so I added garlic, red peppers, and pepper, worked all the same... Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      This was easy to make and had a great flavor. I served it as fajita filling, accompanied by Mexican rice, refried beans and tortillas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      I was going to upload a picture only to realize, I ate all of this before capturing it on film. I decreased the chili powder to 3/4 tsp. and increased the cumin to 3/4 tsp. per personal preference. I used Full Circle Organic mild salsa (about 1 c. with extra on the side of each serving) I would definitely recommend this as a fajita dish filling but alone with crunchy tortillas made for a nice summer lunch! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      Just like the description says - quick and easy! Easily adaptable for whichever spices you might like to add (I have a seasoning salt I just love which was great in this dish). I made this dish when I was somewhat in a pinch and did not have tortillas available, but I think they would be great with tortillas and will plan ahead next time. This is a keeper for a quick and easy dinner that will please the whole family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      Once in awhile I find recipes that are quick and easy, healthy without tasting like health food and are also versatile enough adapt to what else I have on hand. This is one of those! Like others, I served this fajitas style on whole wheat tortillas, but it could just as easily go over rice, in a pita for lunch or just as is. I used just 1 teaspoon of chili powder, and it was just spicy enough for me. It's easy enough to take the spice up or down. I had two tortillas per serving and also with a side dish of low-fat refried beans and just a few tortilla chips, and as filling as the whole meal was, it was still relatively low in calories. This is a keeper that's going into my healthier cookbook for times when I am craving something Mexican but want to stay on track. This will do the trick and beautifully. Thanks for sharing a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      Great recipe!! My 2 yo gobbled it up. Served over brown rice. Would have been great in a tortilla as well

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      No wonder this recipe now has 28 five star reviews. Just use your favorite salsa and you're going to love this. I subbed with a couple of fresh vegetables I had on hand, added some tortilla chips on the side and dinner was satisfying for everyone, especially the cook. She was in and out of the kitchen in no time at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      This was fantastic!! This will be put in our normal dinner routine. Thank you so much! We did serve rice, tortillas, and chips with it. Very nice touch to make your own options up at the table. We also served it with cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      Soooo good! I didn't have green peppers on hand so I used half an orange and a red pepper. I also didn't add the corn (just not a big fan). I used Salsa Verde and it was excellent! I served this with the havana beans, brown rice with green chiles and sazon, super simple salsa, and baked tortilla chips. Thanks for an easy, healthy and TASTY meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      This was just wonderful and I think we're adding it to our regular dinner routine! The only thing I might change is to add a can of black beans. I served it over tortillas for a simple, quick dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      My Husband made this for dinner and it turned out great. We served it with tortillas & chips and it made a great and filling meal. We'll probably have it again, especially since it was quick and left us with little mess.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      absolutely delicious, even better as leftovers too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2007

      This was really easy to make and it made for a filling meal served with tortillas. Definitely one to keep ingredients on hand for busy nights.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2007

      It was pretty good. Pretty simple to make, thanks for the recipe. I left out the corn and used green salsa, there were no leftovers-so that must be a good sign.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      I've just graduated college and am really just learning to cook and this was super simple! I made it for my family and my boyfriend and they both loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      I left out the corn and used this for fajita filling. It was great! The next day I used the leftover chicken for salad topping. I'll be making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2007

      With 6 kids it's sometimes a chore to figure out what they will all enjoy eating! This is one of those dishes they all love and has become a weekly meal at our house!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2006

      Very easy to make! I didn't have cumin, so I used the chili powder and some ceyenne pepper. It was the perfect spicyness. I'm definitely going to make it again, I love the idea to use it for fajitas! I'll try that next time! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2006

      Very good! Quick, easy and tasty. The perfect combination for working families on weeknights.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southwestern Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (340 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 249.6
     
    Calories from Fat 45
    18%
    Total Fat 5.0 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 72.6 mg
    24%
    Sodium 442.0 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.7 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    16%
    Sugars 3.9 g
    15%
    Protein 28.1 g
    56%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites