9 Reviews

This was very tasty. I like it hot, so I added 1/4 tsp chipotle chili powder. I also liked the idea of not cooking the rice ahead of time. I Used 1 3/4 cups water and baked it all together for about 50 minutes. I also mixed the onions in with the rest of the ingredients, and used pinto beans, frozen corn and a 4 1/2 can of green chilis because that's what I had. I probably didn't use as much cheese on top as it called for (I just sprinkled some on without measuring) but it was cheesy tasting and rich. Next time I might try using non fat greek yogurt in place of the sour cream.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oklahomacook June 03, 2011

This was yummy and easy! I added both black beans and kidney beans as this was our main dish. I also cooked my rice with oregano. A great option for leftover rice, too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SandwichQueen March 15, 2015

A friend recommended this, saying I would love it, and she was definitely right! I used nonfat Greek yogurt instead of sour cream and fried red onions from the Asian market for the onion topping. Note that the cooking time is not listed but in the original Taste of Home recipe is 30 minutes. I still gave it five stars because it was that good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen August 12, 2014

Tasty and filling dish! My husband is a meat-and-potatoes kind of guy and he loved it. Skipped the sour cream and added a little more cheese. Also, just did a can of corn, black beans, undrained tomatoes, chilis and El Pato salsa each to make things easy and mixed the onions in with everything. I didn't have any cilantro on hand and it was still delicious. I love cilantro, though, so will definitely try this recipe again with that ingredient. Did make the brown rice ahead of time with some chicken stock but will probably do what everyone else did and mix it in raw with some extra water.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
librashell March 02, 2013

Nice flavors and quite spicy! I guess it depends on the type of salsa you use (I wouldn't recommend a whole cup of hot salsa). Like another reviewer, I used less cheese, sauteed my onion first, and noticed the baking time was missing. An enjoyable meal, try a squeeze of lime over it too. Served 4 for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito February 18, 2013

This is a great vegetarian meal that really satisfies your appetite. It is easy to make and really makes a nice presentation on the plate. Served this dish with a side salad and it was perfect. Will definitely make this delicious recipe again! Made for the Best of 2012 tag, February, 2013.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DailyInspiration February 06, 2013

Tried this one from a Vegetarian site. It was awsome. Very forgiving. I used black beans and added ground turkey.I have also used canned chicken breast.Got to make the meat lovers in the fam happy.The whole family loved it. Will keep this one in my meal rotation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tcpugh1 December 29, 2012

Yum! This is very good. Note that the recipe doesn't give an initial baking time...I left it in the oven until it was bubbly...about 30 minutes. Then I baked and finally broiled the last step to get the cheese nice and melted. I sauteed my onions and cilantro, used low-fat Mexican cheese, and drained the diced tomatoes.

I served this with whole wheat tortillas...which you can use to push your dish or also like a burrito!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan February 09, 2012

This was very good. I am gald to find some vegetarian ww recipies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ahutchins9 March 30, 2011
Southwest Vegetarian Bake - Weight Watchers Friendly