Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southwest Tuna Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southwest Tuna Salad

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on July 26, 2011

      Super good! Really fresh tasting. Next time I'll leave out the olives, personal preference.Used it as a sandwich filling on a sandwich thin with sprouts and the next day I used it as a dip with tortilla chips. Delicious both ways. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      Lovely! DH won't eat black olives, so alas, made without them. We're in the RV and I had no garlic (can you belive that??, this is SAD!) Delish... served with a green salad. No wonder this is a zaar star. Oh.. wait, guess it's a FoodStar!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      I made this tonight for tomorrows lunch,but couldn't resist tasting....delicious! I only have 5 oz cans of tuna here, and halved the recipe. I used 0 Fat Greek yogurt instead of the sour cream, and no fat mayo for the mayo. This is absolutely wonderful!!!! Thanks for sharing.....running off now to add some diced fresh jalapenos....think that will just put this recipe over the top! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      This is one of the most original and yummy tuna salads I have eaten! We served it openfaced as a tuna melt on Sourdough bread. This would make a wonderful Low Carb lunch by itself. A keeper for sure! Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      The best tuna salad my hubby says he has ver had. I omitted the sourcream and used fat free miracle whip. I think next time I may just add a little more lime juice and omitted the miracle whip all together (just for a more heart healthy choice). I used this as the filling for a simple sandwich on homemade multigrain bread. It was soooooo good. I could even eat it as a stand alone dish or on a bed of lettuce. This is a homerun recipe and is now our tuna salad of choice. It does not get any better than this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

      What a unique tuna salad recipe! I did not use the optional mayo/sour cream because it tasted awfully good without it! The lime and chili powder are a surprising addition. I served mine in a whole wheat pita and my DH ate his on toasted wheat. Great summer dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      I love tuna salad and I'm thrilled to find a new way to stretch a couple of cans of tuna, plus have a wonderful Southwester flair to the flavor. Actually used 3 small cans of tuna, and I cut back on the lime juice. I made this for the "Southwestern - Tex-Mex" challenge. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2008

      I really enjoyed this. Made to take to work this week. Loved the flavors together, but I thought the black olives slightly overpowered the others. I'll cut back on them next time. Really liked the dressing. Thanks Engrossed. Made for SSC Pet Parade

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      what a great change from your everyday tuna salad, I also added some Tabasco into the dressing mixture, used fresh garlic in place of garlic salt, next time I will double the recipe this was gone in flash, I am also going to try this as a pasta salad, great recipe Engrossed thanks for sharing hon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      Yummy recipe full of veggies! I halved the tuna but used the full amount of veggies. Loved this all by itself. I did add just a touch of relish. Thanks! Made for the Zaar Stars game!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      Yummy lunch!! I made it for myself so halved the recipe and only used 1/3 as it makes a bunch. I used a whole can of green chilies though. I used Texas Pete in place of Tobasco. I spread this on a whole wheat tortilla and added lettuce and tomato. Tomorrow I'm going to use the rest to make a melt with low fat cheese, too. Thanks, Engrossed, for my yummy lunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2007

      This was the best tuna that I have ever tasted hands down! It definitely hit the spot and every taste bud imaginable! I ate it for a week straight but of course I made a few batches to keep me going...thanks all the way from Japan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2007

      I gave it 5 stars just by the smell. And then I ate it in a sandwich at work and it was so yummy. But it was hot. I needed a glass of water lol I used picked jalapeno in a jar. But less than the quantity needed. I used red onion, green bell pepper, and celery (I didn't have red pepper). I used kalamata olives. For the dressing, I didn't use garlic salt cause I didn't find it. I used regular salt. So delicious, will do it again soon. Thanks Engrossed :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2007

      I cut the recipe in half and just now realized that I left off the black olives. I did use a red jalapeno in place of the green chili and red pepper. I really enjoyed the dressing as it is nice and light and allows the flavors to come through. In place of the sour cream, I did use plain yogurt. I cored a couple of fresh garden tomatoes and stuffed them with the tuna.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      I loved this tuna (but skipped the cilantro and included 1 tomato, diced, light mayo and light sour cream) on whole wheat toast without any additional mayo. I think this will also be perfect just with crackers for a work lunch - can't wait! This is also a great low cal alternative to regular mayo ladden tuna - WW points only 4 (using the light mayo and sour cream and not counting the crackers or bread). Next time I'll try it with the cheese! Thanks for sharing this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      It was a little runny (probably the lime juice.) I was planning on making this for sandwiches but as I was putting the fixings away I spotted some leftover pasta from the day before and ended up turning it into a pasta salad. Either way its good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southwest Tuna Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (224 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 162.2
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    34%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 32.3 mg
    10%
    Sodium 503.1 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.6 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 20.6 g
    41%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes