7 Reviews

Editing my review: Today I made this delicious casserole, but I only had a can of cheddar cheese soup, so instead of adding a full soup can of milk, I added a half can of milk, plus a half can of a mild salsa, which worked well in this dish. I also used shredded Mexican cheese in place of sharp cheddar, and I topped the casserole with 3 tablespoons of bread crumbs.
My review posted on April 26, 2011: This was pretty good, but even bettter when reheated the next day. I had to use a can of Campbell's Fiesta Nacho Cheese Soup in place of the other, as Campbell's no longer makes the Southwest-Style Pepper Jack Soup, plus I used 2-(5 oz.) cans of the albacore tuna, since you can no longer find the 12-ounce cans. Since there was so much liquid to make this dish, I ended up adding 2-1/2 cups of the macaroni (which I used rotini). I did not add any salt, but did add 1/4 tsp of McCormick's Hot Shot! Seasoning in place of the pepper (it's a blend of black pepper & red pepper). I found I had to bake the casserole a bit longer (for 35 minutes). Next time I may bake it at 375 instead of 350, so the topping/the bread crumbs, will brown up a bit more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Domestic Goddess September 16, 2011

This is outstanding! I'm not a cream soup fan, or a cooked mayo fan, but I LOVE this. I'm making it for the 2nd time this week right now.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4Susan December 17, 2007

Very nice! I never made (or ate) a tuna-noodle casserole before, so when my fiance asked if I could make one I found your recipe. I made this for a family dinner and there were NO leftovers! You shouldn't be embarrassed to post easy recipes, sometimes those are the best ones!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Butter-Bean September 17, 2007

Really easy, had everything on hand, and tasted great! Thank-you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sydsmama June 30, 2007

This was a lifesaver. Inlaws here from the UK. We were supposed to eat out til hubby got sick. I hadn't planned a thing. Pulled out some mac and the soup, started looking all around for recipes... most of which called for chicken stock or cream of soup that I didn't have on hand (which is unusual!) I did a ton of improvisation here, and it certainly allowed for it. Used a combo of frozen cajun style chicken breasts (grilled) and Tyson precooked chicken in lieu of tuna. Used Hellman's Light. Tore up cheddar and chipotle cheddar slices. Worked out great! Served up nice even cold for lunch today.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PrairieHarpy June 29, 2007

This was fabulous!! Quick to make and my boyfriend actually asked if I bought it from whole foods :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
521539 June 20, 2007

This was simple to make, and very tasty. A new favorite in our house!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mbenoit December 12, 2006
Southwest Tuna Macaroni and Cheese Casserole