29 Reviews

This recipe and ingredients were possibly the worst combination and taste I have ever experienced in a recipe. The odor and consistency with curdled sour cream were the worst. What was I thinking to make this disaster? Please just take this recipe off your usually wonderful list.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
k8tbird October 07, 2015

Nobody in my family cared for this recipe. I followed it to the letter, but it just wasn't good. It was mushy and lacking flavor despite some promising ingredients. Perhaps it could be good if you added some more flavor, but mostly I couldn't get past the odd combo of pasta and southwestern ingredients.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2tastee4u February 19, 2015

Tasted wonderful but my sour cream curdled as well. I'm going to try again and make it into a sauce, then add it. I loved the flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dogan_5042881 July 02, 2012

This was ok. The idea was good, but it didn't turn out to be a big hit. The sour cream curdled, which made the texture kind of weird, and I didn't think the tortellini really went that well in the dish. If I had this to do again, I would probably just use macaroni noodles, and then serve the sour cream mixture on the side. And maybe reduce the lime a little bit. Thanks for a good idea though!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quiltingqueen March 22, 2010

I tried this awhile back but looks like I forgot to review it -- whoops! I should have - this is excellent! I was a little hesitant about mixing tortellini with southwestern flavors... but to anyone else who is, don't be! this was so yummy. the sour cream and black olives really make the dish - so don't leave those out. I did however leave out the sugar and didn't miss it. :) thanks for such a great keeper! I'm going to make a batch of this to take for lunch with me this week.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megs_ September 28, 2008

We did not care for this at all. The combinations of flavors seemed strange.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef AngieW April 01, 2016

Absolutely delicious way to satisfy a family who is craving Mexican flavors, but when you don't have a ton of ingredients or time on your hands. I doubled the recipe and split it between two baking dishes, and eliminated the olives and substituted parsley for the cilantro. I also used the Chicken & Herb tortellini for a bit more protein. Otherwise, I followed the recipe, and I applaud Parsley for posting this. The lime cuts through most of the ingredients to give this dish a fresh taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pondridge February 26, 2016

I really don't understand the negative reviews on this dish. I cook a lot and we LOVE good food. This one was very good. I did add some cut up chicken as my husband is a meat eater. We ate it for two meals and loved it!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ddick24 February 14, 2016

No stars for this one. The casserole was very bland other than the sour taste from the lime juice. The cheese Tortellini had no taste ( and I purchased a well known brand ) The sour cream curdled. I followed the recipe as posted and spent about $15.00 making this. It was horrible. Will not make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mnicholson1106 October 20, 2015

This came together quickly. I used sausage tortellini since that's what was in the freezer. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 July 09, 2012
Southwest Tortellini Casserole