Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southwest Tortellini Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southwest Tortellini Casserole

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on July 02, 2012

      Tasted wonderful but my sour cream curdled as well. I'm going to try again and make it into a sauce, then add it. I loved the flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2012

      This came together quickly. I used sausage tortellini since that's what was in the freezer. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      This was ok. The idea was good, but it didn't turn out to be a big hit. The sour cream curdled, which made the texture kind of weird, and I didn't think the tortellini really went that well in the dish. If I had this to do again, I would probably just use macaroni noodles, and then serve the sour cream mixture on the side. And maybe reduce the lime a little bit. Thanks for a good idea though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      I struggled for a while on whether I should give this 3 stars or 4. I really liked the idea of this dish and the flavors it offered, but the change I made the second time around was kind of drastic, so I ended up with 3 stars. I added chicken the first time around to make it a heartier meal (rather than a side dish), and will do that again. The sour cream kind of curdled when I baked the dish, which was not really pleasant to look at. I don't know if that's specific to me or not... The second time I made this dish I used 3 or 4 ounces of cream cheese (and heated it up with the diced tomatoes to create a sauce). To retrieve the lime flavor, I marinated the chicken in lime juice for an hour or so, which I liked better. Thank you for your southwestern flavor inspiration!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      I tried this awhile back but looks like I forgot to review it -- whoops! I should have - this is excellent! I was a little hesitant about mixing tortellini with southwestern flavors... but to anyone else who is, don't be! this was so yummy. the sour cream and black olives really make the dish - so don't leave those out. I did however leave out the sugar and didn't miss it. :) thanks for such a great keeper! I'm going to make a batch of this to take for lunch with me this week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      Really good and really easy! We really enjoyed this. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      Awesome! My husband and I love this! Now I make it about every other week. We don't like tomatoes much, so I just use a can of tomato sauce instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      We loved this one. The flavors were so good together. Never would have thought to make this combo! Other than using Pepper Jack cheese I made per the recipe. We love olives, so we really enjoyed them in this casserole. This will be repeated at our house again sometime! Thanks for sharing Parsley!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2008

      This was pretty good. The flavor is great and it is very filling for a meatless dish. Next time I will decrease the sour cream mixture by A LOT or leave it out all together. It was much to powerful. But, otherwise, this was awesome! Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      This is a new staple for us. Very tasty. Used mild cheddar or sharp cheddar and omitted olives as I don't like them. Super fast and easy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2008

      We really loved this! I followed the directions exactly. Very easy to throw together and a very filling dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2008

      This was a good recipe. I did use low fat sour cream and reduced fat cheese as well as whole wheat tortellini. Everyone in my family enjoyed it so I guess it's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2008

      Awesome dish! I omitted the cilantro as personal preferance but kept everything else the same and it was fantastic! Next time I may shred up some chicken in the mixture but I will definitely make this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      A marvelous recipe... really great flavor combination, and I tossed it all in the casserole dish so there was minimal clean-up! I didn't have quite enough sour cream, so I added a dab of mayonnaise to top it off. I also used cheddar cheese-- we're in the middle of a blizzard, so I had to go with what was on hand :) Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      "Fantastic" was the comment from DH upon finishing his first serving of this. I love having another combination of southwestern style ingredients and another tortellini recipe - it's a great combination. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      awesome dish, parsley!! i made this for dinner last night and it was a hit! i used herb chicken tortellini, plus i added a little onion, garlic and serrano peppers to the mix. i skipped the black olives, and used fresh parsley ;) instead of cilantro. i really loved the flavor of the sour cream with the lime juice. it really gave it something special. i almost forgot, i doubled the amount of cumin and added a little coriander, plus i put about 1/2 cup of cheese in with the tortellini in addition to topping it with cheese! i was a little concerned about the pasta cooking in time since i live at high altitude (everything takes forever to cook), but it wasn't a problem at all. cooking time was spot on! i can't believe how easy and delish this is! will be making this a staple in my house! thanks for another keeper, parsley!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      I don't know what I may have done wrong, but this was awful. I ended up throwing the whole thing away. I do think it was my fault, I didn't cook the tortellini first and it was frozen, not refrigerated. And the sour cream curdled.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      Very tasty and very filling. I used home made salsa instead of the tomatoes, added 1 Tlb. chile powder and about 2 cups of shredded chicken. The flavors blended nicely and the lime juice was just the right touch. I'll be making it again as a side dish(without the chicken).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      My family agrees with me when I say that this will be a new favorite meal for us. It was easy to make and very good. I loved using tortellini in a southwestern dish instead of italian. I can't wait for our next potluck so that I can "show off" this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      Comfort food, and easy! I omitted the olives, as I don't care for them,and didn't have any. I also used chili-style canned tomatoes, so omitted the green chilis. In place of monteray jack, I used mozarella, as that's what I had on hand. Very good! Will make again. **Update**: I made this again, but subbed finely diced green pepper and jalepeno for the green chilis. I used a mix of sharp cheddar and mozzarella, and added about 1 tb. of chili powder. The outcome was even more spectacular!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southwest Tortellini Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (474 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 687.9
     
    Calories from Fat 316
    46%
    Total Fat 35.1 g
    54%
    Saturated Fat 20.2 g
    101%
    Cholesterol 112.4 mg
    37%
    Sodium 1201.9 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.4 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 10.6 g
    42%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 33.7 g
    67%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites