24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Tasted wonderful but my sour cream curdled as well. I'm going to try again and make it into a sauce, then add it. I loved the flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dogan_5042881 July 02, 2012

Nobody in my family cared for this recipe. I followed it to the letter, but it just wasn't good. It was mushy and lacking flavor despite some promising ingredients. Perhaps it could be good if you added some more flavor, but mostly I couldn't get past the odd combo of pasta and southwestern ingredients.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2tastee4u February 19, 2015

This came together quickly. I used sausage tortellini since that's what was in the freezer. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 July 09, 2012

This was ok. The idea was good, but it didn't turn out to be a big hit. The sour cream curdled, which made the texture kind of weird, and I didn't think the tortellini really went that well in the dish. If I had this to do again, I would probably just use macaroni noodles, and then serve the sour cream mixture on the side. And maybe reduce the lime a little bit. Thanks for a good idea though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quiltingqueen March 22, 2010

I struggled for a while on whether I should give this 3 stars or 4. I really liked the idea of this dish and the flavors it offered, but the change I made the second time around was kind of drastic, so I ended up with 3 stars. I added chicken the first time around to make it a heartier meal (rather than a side dish), and will do that again. The sour cream kind of curdled when I baked the dish, which was not really pleasant to look at. I don't know if that's specific to me or not... The second time I made this dish I used 3 or 4 ounces of cream cheese (and heated it up with the diced tomatoes to create a sauce). To retrieve the lime flavor, I marinated the chicken in lime juice for an hour or so, which I liked better. Thank you for your southwestern flavor inspiration!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ceruleanseven December 01, 2008

I tried this awhile back but looks like I forgot to review it -- whoops! I should have - this is excellent! I was a little hesitant about mixing tortellini with southwestern flavors... but to anyone else who is, don't be! this was so yummy. the sour cream and black olives really make the dish - so don't leave those out. I did however leave out the sugar and didn't miss it. :) thanks for such a great keeper! I'm going to make a batch of this to take for lunch with me this week.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megs_ September 28, 2008

Really good and really easy! We really enjoyed this. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I Cook Therefore I Am September 10, 2008

Awesome! My husband and I love this! Now I make it about every other week. We don't like tomatoes much, so I just use a can of tomato sauce instead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarsieQ September 08, 2008

We loved this one. The flavors were so good together. Never would have thought to make this combo! Other than using Pepper Jack cheese I made per the recipe. We love olives, so we really enjoyed them in this casserole. This will be repeated at our house again sometime! Thanks for sharing Parsley!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Crystal Cooks August 18, 2008

This was pretty good. The flavor is great and it is very filling for a meatless dish. Next time I will decrease the sour cream mixture by A LOT or leave it out all together. It was much to powerful. But, otherwise, this was awesome! Thanks for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender July 25, 2008
Southwest Tortellini Casserole