10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I loved this salad... It was soo good.. Have course it wasn't the same as the McDonalds version but still tasty non the less..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mae88 April 13, 2013

I left out the chicken and this was still a great salad. I ended up using fresh corn off the cob, and bell peppers. I used sun chips and a few more than called for. Thanks! Made for Please Review My Recipe game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 May 25, 2011

EXCELLENT! I brought this over to a neighbor's house for dinner tonight and they all loved it and asked for the recipe. The dressing is amazing! I omitted the chicken and just made the salad and dressing. I also used lowfat greek yogurt instead of the sour cream. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ScrappieDoo June 15, 2010

Fantastic! I kind of ad-libbed this recipe because of what I had on hand. Chopped up some cooked chicken and stirred into the marinade, then nuked it till warm. I didn't have the ingredients for the dressing, so I used honey mustard dressing and it was REALLY good! Very close to the real thing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlee #2 March 17, 2010

What a wonder ful salad! I must say I LOVE LOVE LOVE the marindade! I've made this several times now and I like to add more tomatos and corn but didnt change anything else. A teriffic add to my recipes

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
velvetwing April 27, 2008

This tastes just like the ones at McDonald's if not better. Just love the dressing for this. A great spring/summertime salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
potions April 13, 2008

This is an excellent salad! I never did try the McDonald's one so I can't compare. This is full of the good southwest taste. I really enjoyed the touch of sweetness caused by the honey mustard marinade. I did use red kidney beans cuz that's what I had on hand. I also used baked Tosititos scoops instead of the Doritos, again what I had on hand. This was so good and low in points. Made for a tasty lunch. This is a keeper. Thanks Lainey6605 for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas March 11, 2008

Great salad! I made this for myself and a coworker for lunch today and we both loved it! Neither of us really like honey mustard but the marinade was a wonderful addition, very light and fresh tasting. We both agreed that some sliced jalapenos, olives and avocado would be great too. Thanks for sharing this easy, tasty salad, Lainey!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rickoholic83 January 08, 2008

I am just sitting down and devouring this wonderful salad with a diet soda. It has been the usual busy Monday on the farm. A fence needed to be fixed and the usual workings had begun. I am so glad I had this tasty salad to devour and relax with my feet up for a spec. Yesterday~I roasted a turkey, (it's so darn cheap now at 39 cents a pound) and used the turkey breast to mix with the marinade, instead of chicken. It went together easily and quickly, put it aside until today. Even if this is all we had to eat, the marinade and turkey (or chicken) by itself is delicious! I had corn on the cob frozen from the summer months so I took the corn from the cob and mixed it with black beans and some red onion until warmed, adding a bit of salt and cumin to this mixture too. Again, totally yummy if this was all you ate too! I put together the salad from there, added some peppers, fresh tomatoes, cheddar cheese and some homemade tortilla's that I had cooked on top. I also had made some extra of Lainey's Light Buttermilk Ranch Dressing, and added the rest of the dressing ingredients, (added a bit more chili powder and with a couple hits of red pepper flakes) and generously poured the dressing right on top of the delightful, delicious, stupendous McSalad. With no McDee's nearby I just was beyond myself with a wonderful taste sensation. I also put this in little containers (3) for Dennis to take to work, and he put it together there. Yummy is what we both said. Thanks for a great recipe Lainey, you are the McSalad Queen!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm November 12, 2007

Lainey this salad was fantastic. Just like McD's salad! I didn't use the fat-free where indicated only because I had the regular cheddar cheese, ranch and sour cream. I love salads so this is going to be my new lunch for awhile. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunshine Forever October 27, 2007
Southwest Salad Mcswap