Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southwest Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southwest Salad

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on January 24, 2010

      We LOVE this salad! It is a staple on our summer dinner menu. We add black olives, onions and avocado chunks. It is TDF. Thank you for sharing this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      This is a really good salad. I added black olives other than that, made as directed and served with South of the Border Chicken.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      LOVE this salad! Thanks for sharing it! Have made it now numerous times for friends and family and EVERYONE has raved about it! Thanks again! Grilled chicken on it is awesome too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2013

      I took other reviers advice, and added some cooked chicken breast, that I diced, and added some leftover black olives. Worked out very well, and made a great side to lunch . Made for Ingredient Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2013

      Yummy salad! I didn't have corn, so rummaged through the cupboard and fridge and decided to add black beans and avocado slices. Made for Spring 2013 Pick A Chef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2011

      Good basic recipe. We used left over corn, chopped tomatoes, and cubed cheddar. Worked out great. I might add some grilled chicken and avocado next time. Thanks for a summer go to recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      Wonderful!! I also tweeked the ingredients a bit to suit my famiy a bit more (and to use what I had on hand) but it was great. The dressing really is the star here. I ended up only using about 3/4 of the dressing, but the leftover stayed good in the fridge for a few days and was delicious to just dip veggies in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      I made this for a tex-mex themed night and it was a big hit. I made it exactly as written. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2009

      Really easy and yummy! I browned some meat in some taco seasoning, salt, pepper, onion flakes, and cumin and placed on top of the salad along with a few slices of jalapeno. Absolutely delicious. Could probably also substitute rice for the corn chips. Soo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      Yummily! I did use the hearts of romaine coz I had some. I also added black olives, a firm tomato (not roma), "mexicorn"--just used some canned drained whole kernel, added some splenda and green bell pepper to it..let it set in fridge overnight before making salad. Also added some green onions, red onion, bell pepper and some bacon. I had fried some hickory smoked country slab bacon earlier in the day..so I added some of that too. I layered the ingredients in a glass pan and I added the dressing just before I served the salad and was surprised that the salad was even better the second day. I would have thought the dressing being added the day prior would have made it unpalatable..not so! It was great..Thanx, GreenEyedLS, for an unusual splendid salad. TexasChef Judi Coleman!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      My husband and I absolutely loved this!! I didn't mix the dressing together. I put salsa with a little cumin and ranch on top of each salad and it worked out great! We will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2009

      This recipe sounds just like a meal that my favorate Mexican restraunt used to make when they were still open. The only change that they made was they grilled the corn and added grilled chicken breast for it. I am going to try it this weekend. Thank You!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      This was great. I used it more of an inspiration and added fresh chopped cilantro, onions, green bell pepper, and avacados. The dressing I made exactly as directed. I served mexi-corn and leftover fajita chicken on the side, to be sprinkled on top of the salads. Everyone, including guests, enjoyed this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      Excellent and easy salad. I don't like the look of the salsa mixed in so I serve it and the tortilla chips on the side. Next time we're going to try it as a dinner entree with some strips of seasoned grilled chicken breast on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      I have made this several times now, I can't believe I haven't reviewed it yet. I love the dressing, it's such a nice change of pace from the usual. I sometimes use a can of Mexicorn in place of regular corn and sometimes omit the tortilla chips. Thanks so much for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      I had all the ingredients, so made this last night. Wonderful flavor! This is a definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      Great salad as it is, I used regular spicy ranch instead of making my own - next time around, I may add some other things to the salad like avocado, chicken, etc.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      So easy and yummy too! I enjoyed the dressing! Thank you! Made for Pick a Chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southwest Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (103 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 422.3
     
    Calories from Fat 347
    82%
    Total Fat 38.6 g
    59%
    Saturated Fat 8.9 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 39.5 mg
    13%
    Sodium 893.5 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 7.0 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites