Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southwest Rice Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southwest Rice Salad

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on March 26, 2003

      Wow, what a great tasting salad. I wasn't too sure about the brown sugar, but I made this exactly as directed. I only had fresh jalapeño, so I used a little trick of poaching them in a little water until they softenend, then used them like the pickled jalapeños. Everything was wonderful, and we enjoyed this recipe very much. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2012

      Very good recipe. I didn't have green onions, so I used red. Also added some red and green peppers from my garden as I thought it needed more color. It was great! I didn't even use the jalapeno, but I could see where the taste would improve with it. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      I needed a quick pitch in dinner salad and this was great. I had to use what I had available - so that meant kidney beans, not black beans and regular onions, not green onions. I used basil olive oil and jalapeno balsamic vinegar as well. It was really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      Overall I think this dish is great and a good way to jazz up the regular sidedish dilemma. I did change a few things as we do not have a taste for hot or spicy foods. I omitted the jalapeno all together and used 4 cloves of garlic instead. I also used vegie oil to replace canola, and 1 teaspoon of curry as I did not have cumin. I used frozen yellow corn thawed in microwave 2 minutes. I do think that the next time I will use Orzo instead of rice. I do not like the instant and I thought the Hanmi rice in the cooker stuck together a bit much for my liking. Orzo all the way next time. Other than the few diffrence's mentioned followed the recipe and it was a hit! Thanks!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      This worked out well as a side for Lime and Cilantro Chicken. I did make a few changes, I left out the oil completely to make it more healthy, and i left out the vinegar and brown sugar. Still, it was really flavorful and moist, I didn't miss the oil at all. I would certainly make this dish again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2008

      Well, I made this for Easter and I really didn't care for it at all. I felt there was too much rice and not enough dressing. It was very dry and bland. I did like the dressing, but that's about it. If I did attempt this again I would double the dressing and add more beans, green onions, corn and tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2007

      I made this for a group so I toned down the spiciness a bit by using half the amount of jalapenos, chili powder and cumin. It was very good (as picky as DD is, if she ate some, then you know it is good!). Oh, and I used bottled key lime juice. However, for my own preference, I thought it was even better when made with yellow corn and leaving out the last three ingredients. A flexible and delicious salad that I will make often. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2006

      My mom made this the other day for lunch and we will be making it again for my brother's wedding rehearsal dinner - it was very tasty! She used regular onion but will use the green onion next time to add some more color. Left out the cilantro as we are not big fans and did use chopped fresh garden tomatoes. We had it for lunch with chopped cooked chicken mixed in and toasted french bread. Thanks for the recipe Geema!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2004

      Used this at the neighborhood pot luck picnic. Used a can of diced jalapenos instead of pickled. Put in a pinch of cayanne pepper too. Tasted great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2003

      This is a great dish. I, like Miss Annie, only had fresh jalapenos, but I didn't make any adjustment, I just cut them up and added them to the blender. I got compliments from everyone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southwest Rice Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (257 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 339.0
     
    Calories from Fat 122
    36%
    Total Fat 13.6 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 155.1 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.1 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 7.9 g
    31%
    Sugars 5.5 g
    22%
    Protein 9.1 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites