8 Reviews

Outstanding!!! Flat iron steak is one of my favorite cuts and this rub is fabulous. My husband just couldn't stop raving about it! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetpvegas November 10, 2010

I am lovin' this recipe. I never heard of a flat iron steak so I had to ask the guy behind the meat counter what it was. He showed me a package and said it is one of the most tender cuts of steak that you could find. That had me sold. I followed this recipe exactly as written. The rub was out of this world, and the steak was just as the meat man said...it was the most tender and juiciest steak I have ever had. I cooked it to a nice medium rare and was rewarded with the best steak ever...either made at home or at a restaurant. This is going straight into the keeper file. Thanks, BakinBaby! Made for Summer, 2009 Photo Tag. Update: This recipe is in my Top Favorites of 2009 Cookbook.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 January 31, 2010

Love the spicy sweetness of this rub! My flat iron steak was not as tender as other reviewers....so I will probably go with another cut of meat for future use (or perhaps 'pound' the flat iron steak before grilling). My BF thought the brown sugar could be cut back on as he found it a bit too sweet. I suppose he and I will just have to agree to disagree on that point, as I loved everything about the flavor! Thank you for sharing this fabulous recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FolkDiva August 02, 2009

What an amazing recipe. The results were beyond belief. It made for a nice dinner last night. After letting it sit for 90 minutes, and grilling outside, granted it was very cold out , but it was well worth it. These made for 4 nice, flavorful, tasty steaks. No adjustments were made in this recipe. Made for Holiday tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker February 22, 2009

Since I am a Brit,and have no clue as to what a flat iron steak is,I used some good old rump. The rub was an absolute cinch to throw together,and I rubbed it over my meat and left it for well over an hour. The results were amazing,we just loved it.It had just the right balance of hot and sweet,and tasted divine.It really breathed life into what would have been a boring lump of meat. Thanks BakinBaby,I shall be stashing this little gem away for furure use!! Made for Newest Zaar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo January 21, 2009

I've had this recipe in the dinner rotation for about three years now, and am finally getting around to writing a review. This recipe is marvelous, and needs MORE reviews. I marinate it all day in a ziplock bag, and take it out about an hour before I'm ready to grill it. Also, I add a tablespoon or so of olive oil or a neutral tasting oil to the marinade to help it 'spread' better. It has just the right amount of spice for us folks in Texas! Thanks, BakinBaby, I'll be looking up more of your recipes. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bananas4bourbon June 24, 2014

I love flat iron steak and have done so many different things with it. This sounded so good when I read the reviews and ingredients but I found the chili powder to be way to overpowering. I think I may cut back on the chili powder next time and try again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RachelB-KY May 17, 2012

This is a very flavorful way to cook steak. The rub does remind me of the Southwest flavors and it lends well to steak. Grilling the steak was perfect, too. The only tweak I'd make next time is to not use as much of the rub. It overpowered our steak flavor a bit (even though the rub flavor was great!). I did LOVE the flat iron steak cut. It turned out so tender and juicy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood November 14, 2011
Southwest Flat Iron Steak