10 Reviews

These were really tasty, especially the avocado ranch dip. It was so yummy that I couldn't resist dipping baked ruffles in it while preparing the rest of the meal! I halved the amount of ranch powder and subbed buttermilk for the milk in it. I also used less cayenne and cheese in the filling. I did bake these for 20 minutes, and it worked fine. I agree two whole ones makes for a filling meal for one person. Great creation!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito September 07, 2011

I loved this recipe. I tried 2 different method for cooking them, first I wrapped the filling in whole wheat tortillas and then used my panini press to heat them, this worked well only I wished I would have used a more pliable tortilla, as the ones I used were too grainy and cracked when I rolled them. The other method I used was using phyllo. I cut a stack of 3 sheets of phyllo in half, sprayed between each layer with veg spray, placed the filling at short end and rolled up, baked in oven at 375 til they were golden brown. That worked perfectly. Delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kennedysgrannie November 08, 2010

I am a little torn on how to rate these. I love the idea - I liked the flavor - but like another reviewer, the method didn't really work. I couldn't get them the right "doneness" by broiling them, and even when they were golden brown they were cold in the middle. I think baking them for a longer amount of time might work better. I liked the flavor and the sauce was really good! Will keep playing with it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megs_ October 20, 2009

This was a great recipe! I love Chili's southwest eggrolls and this recipe was SOOOO much like the dish at Chili's. We made it with Whole Wheat Tortillas and it tasted great. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CyndiCB August 29, 2009

I have made these twice - I broiled the first batch and it was good.. But , I stuck the second batch on the grill and they were extremely good.. Just have to watch them , but it was easier to handle on the grill and got all four sides cooked evenly... I acually use 6" flour tortilla shells and fill them with 1/3 cup of mixture. Makes it a little easier to roll and control on the grill...It will make about 18 rolls that way...They have not lasted long after there have been made...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ford99sc July 10, 2009

This was really very tasty! I absolutley loved the results of broiling them...they came out nice a crispy...almost as good as fried and way better than baking them. I didn't enjoy the dipping sauce as much...I think I will just serve with guacamole and sour cream next time....the filling has plenty of flavor anyway. Also, I think I will add a bit of cilantro because I think everything tastes better with it! It was a bit too spicy for my family, so I will also use half pepper jack cheese and half monterey or cheddar next time. Thanks so much for sharing this. We will make it many, many more time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
little_wing February 20, 2009

I loved the filling and the sauce but am not sold on the method. They were not hot on the inside when I got through broiling them. I think they might be better baked first. I don't know--I think I will just have to play around with them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy!! March 03, 2008

I elected to use the oven instead of broiling the rolls. It took about 20 minutes in a 350 degree oven & I flipped them once. The dipping sauce is excellent. The avacado flavor really comes through & matches with the southwest flavors perfectly. I liked how easy these were to make. I froze the rest and they reheated beautifully. I ended up using cheddar instead of the jalapeno jack cheese for DH's sake. The result was milder in heat, but they were very good. I might add cilantro next time instead of the parsley. Thank you for your entry in RSC #11.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D February 27, 2008

My husband and I really liked this. I made it for Super Bowl Sunday and we shared it with friends, who also really liked it. My kids didn't eat it, but that doesn't count, because they don't eat anything!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer Rosholt February 23, 2008

5 Stars... these were FABULOUS. This made a very large batch. We used the first half as stated and added broccoli to it another night. VERY good. VERY ingenious. We used this as omelet filling one morning too! Fabulous!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CandyTX February 22, 2008
Southwest Egg Rolls Made Lighter