Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southwest Chopped Salad (Healthy!) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southwest Chopped Salad (Healthy!)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on October 21, 2003

      Wonderful salad with just the right amount of spice. Although I didn't use any mirin because I didin't know what it was subsituting 1 tablespoon vinegar and eliminated the cumin the dressing was still delicious. Thanks Meow for posting this keeper recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      This is really good and easy. I used canned corn instead of frozen. I would definitely not leave out the jicama, if you can find it, because it really adds great texture to the salad. It is great on a bed of salad greens with a side of corn cakes. I will definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2006

      Definitely an easy salad to throw together. Very colorful and fresh tasting. I made as directed and found that there just wasn't enough dressing for my liking. It seemd dry and not pulled together. So I added about 3 tablespoons of some italian dressing I had in the fridge and increased the cumin to about 1/2 teaspoon so it would still have that southwest flavor. It seemed to do the trick. I also thought it tasted better the 2nd day so this may be one that could be made the night before you serve.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2011

      Fabulous! I made this last week with a few adjustments because I wanted enough salad as a meal for two. I used frozen corn I found at Trader Joe's that's already roasted. I also added a couple of cut up fresh tomatoes to the salad portion and made the dressing in the Cuisinart - since I had so much salad I doubled the dressing - and added 2 teaspoons of sugar to bring out the flavors a bit more than the mirin alone. I cut up a head of romaine lettuce as the bed of my salads and barbecued a flap steak then cut it really thin. I poured the dressed salad over my lettuce, topped with the flap steak and a bit of queso fresco (crumbly Mexican cheese). Oh boy, restaurant worthy! I will do this excellent dinner salad again and thanks so much for posting it, spatchcock.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2011

      So good and so easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2007

      Really great salad that I chopped extra small and used for a tortilla chip dip. Made as directed with frozen corn. Very tasty & just spicy enough! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2005

      SOOOOO easy! I wanted something different and cold for the hot weather we have been having, this was perfect I did not have the chipolte, so I used canned green chilies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2005

      I'm hooked on this recipe! definately use the black beans. I put this on a layer of lettuce. I also chop up some grilled skinless chicken breast and put it on the salad. It makes a great lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2004

      Wow! This is a tasty, easy to prepare salad that had enough "kick" to it to be interesting, but not so much to burn your lips off. I did use the Jicama, but forgot to pick up a bell pepper, so that was omitted. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as written. I could leave out the cumin(just not a fan of it.)Both husband and son ranted, son even finished it off for lunch the next day. Too bad, I was going to take it to work!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Lime Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southwest Chopped Salad (Healthy!)

    Serving Size: 1 (212 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 201.4
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    12%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 22.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.4 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 8.2 g
    33%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 8.3 g
    16%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chipotle chiles in adobo

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes