Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southwest Chicken with Chipotle Cream Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southwest Chicken with Chipotle Cream

    Average Rating:

    50 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 50

    Sort by:

    • on February 02, 2003

      The only chipotle peppers I could find were canned in adobe sauce. These worked just great. Also, I'm not a fan of chicken thighs so I just used breasts which of course was delicious. A very spicy, excellent dish that was a snap to make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2013

      Very easy, very tasty. Used what I had onhand. So replaced the heavy cream and milk with half & half, and used pepper jack for the cheese. Worked just fine for me. I also added 5 minutes to the chicken baking time before adding sauce, and another additional 5 minutes after adding the sauce and cheese.... looked like it needed it. As always, a recipe is a suggestion and you modify a bit here and there as your experience and tastebuds allow..... and this recipe is a GREAT suggestion!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2012

      Obviously, I'm in the minority here, but this was just ok for us. It did have bold flavors, but something just seemed off....probably just my lack of mad cooking skills. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2011

      I made half a recipe and We loved it. I did add lightly sauteed red onion, yellow peppers and shrimp the last four min. Will use chicken breast for me next time but DH loved the thighs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2010

      I made this a few nights ago and it was delicious. The only changes made was I used roasted garlic, minced chipotle peppers instead of whole (about two good spoonfuls), and added a little extra cumin. The sauce was yummy and next time I'll put a little less chicken just for extra sauce, as it is really good on rice. I will be making this again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      This chicken dish hit the spot! I used chicken breasts and sauteed them instead of baking. Also, I did not have any heavy cream, instead I doubled the sour cream. Very, very satisfying served over mashed potatoes. Next time I'll add a few jalepenos to add another layer of flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      I made this recipe with sauteed chicken cutlets. It was fast and delicious. The sauce is incredible; it goes great with everything: vegetables, pasta...you name it. We had it over pan fried potatoes, cauliflower, pasta. It last in the refrigerator for quite a while; we save it in Tupperware for at least a week. It's really a life saver.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      A richly-flavoured dish that satisfied friends and family. Loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      This was pretty good and really easy. Loved the chipotle flavor but I can only give it 4 stars because I was really hoping for a bolder flavor. I think all the cream really overwhelmed the chipotles, as I ate I kept wanting more of the chipotle flavor and less of the bland cream flavor. But I'd still make it again and tweak the balance of chipotles to cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2009

      This has an amazing flavor. I used chicken breasts, cut into stew size chunks instead of whole chicken pieces. I served over tex mex rice Tex-Mex Rice as reviewer Piper Lee suggested. It was one of the best meals we've had in a long time. A new classic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      This was awesome! Great flavors and easy to make. My 2yo ate a whole thigh by himself. We will definitely make this again. I did use 2% milk instead of cream and light sour cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      I made this last night. My 11 yr old daughter and I loved this. We thought the sauce was amazing. My husband who I thought would love this dish didn't like it at all. He said it was too creamy. What does he know anyway?! Thanks for sharing. I will make it every chance I get.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      I absolutely loved this dish but my family thought it was too spicy even as written so I don't know when I'll have a chance to make it again. I made the dish lighter by using reduced fat sour cream and fat free half and half along with 1% milk. I didn't have chicken parts thawed but I did have left over roasted chicken so I simply prepared the sauce in a saucepan, added shredded roasted chicken and stirred over rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      Wow! LOVED this dish. Based on the reviews and my diet, I made several adjustments. I did a light version with FF Sour Cream, Skim Milk, Light Mexican Cheese and I halved the butter. I used chicken breasts, rather than legs. I used 3 chiles, but nearly doubled the sour cream and other spices to keep the flavor, but cool it down a bit. It worked wonderfully. DH actually commented on how much he liked this dish again the following morning, which is very rare! I paired this with Ww 2 Points Santa Fe Salad With Chili-Lime Dressing and a baked potato for DH. Wonderful, wonderful dish that will be going into our rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      Using boneless, skinless chicken breasts and substituting lowfat or fat free ingredients wherever I could, this winner of a recipe made for tender, moist chicken in a smooth and fiery cream sauce. It was easy to throw together and I made it even more so by just plunking the chicken in a dish, covering it with the sauce and baking for 20 minutes. I then topped it with some queso fresco and baked it another 10 minutes. I started with one chipotle pepper and about 1 tablespoon of adobo sauce and added another pepper to satisfy my hothead of a DH. ;-) It was perfect! Thanks for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      the sauce was so delicious i will definetly keep this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      Well as the 35th reviewer, I have to agree this was absolutely delicious! I doubled the sauce to have extra for rice and used 5 chipotle chilies. Next time I am going to saute some big shrimp and and use this sauce, as it would be great on anything!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      This is really good! I had about 4 thighs and 5 legs (about 3# total). Used 2 chipotles (just the right amount of smokiness and heat for me) and Monterey jack cheese. Also used skim milk & light sour cream to reduce the fat content some. I removed the skin from the thighs before baking and wish I'd taken the time to do the same with the legs (will do next time) as the skin wasn't very appetizing after baking with the sauce. The only other change I will make is to lightly salt & pepper the chicken before the first bake as the chicken without sauce was a bit bland. After the full specified baking time my chicken was still pretty red so it went back in for an additional 15 minutes, which was perfect. I want to try this again with boneless parts and perhaps use it as an enchilada filling/sauce. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      This is such an awesome recipe! I used 3 chipotle chiles, but next time I might up it to 4 just to try. (We LOVE spice). Next time I'll also use boneless skinless chicken breasts, just because they are easier to eat. GREAT RECIPE! I will make this often! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      MY fault for not reading this better. I LOVE chipotle chili's, but this sauce set my mouth on fire! Too hot! I SHOULD have began with 1 chili and went from there. Now, DH's review.. he wanted more, but didn't want to overdo it, so it's dinner tonight.. Very simple dish, lots of great spice and the creams really soften up the harshness. amberngriffinco

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southwest Chicken with Chipotle Cream

    Serving Size: 1 (536 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1068.1
     
    Calories from Fat 690
    64%
    Total Fat 76.7 g
    118%
    Saturated Fat 33.5 g
    167%
    Cholesterol 388.8 mg
    129%
    Sodium 1208.8 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 76.7 g
    153%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes