12 Reviews

This is such a delicious and different casserole! I loved how it wasn't like any other casserole I have ever had. It comes out spicy, creamy, and cheesy! We ate it all up fast. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jnpj July 21, 2010

This was so much better than I had expected. I'm so used to casseroles containing rice to either be dry or have that "canned soup" texture and taste. This was creamy, light and moist.I did make a couple changes based on what I had on hand. I used leftover bbq shredded chicken, sharp cheddar cheese, 1 cup of milk with 2T of Greek yogurt added, 4 large green onions, and added some chili powder and oregano. I loved everything about it and look forward to making it again with other add-ins. Thanks for posting the recipe and sharing this technique for making a great rice casserole.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview February 27, 2013

Good and I used the leftovers in quesidillas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane49423 February 05, 2011

Boy, was this good! I had to use the dried cilantro, canned diced jalapenos and added pinto beans and it was delicious. I also used brown rice to make it a little healthier. It makes alot for 2 people so we'll be eating the leftovers this weekend and freezing some. I'm gonna add salsa to the top like Amanda's Pantry! review suggested.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty April 09, 2010

I halved the recipe and saved a serving to take to work. It was yummy with just enough zing to make it interesting! I topped it with some salsa and we were good to go!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda's Pantry! August 28, 2009

just made this and was a hit at the table. added more green and red peppers

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
povicky June 27, 2009

This is the perfect recipe for left over rice! I had a make your own tacos and burritos dinner party on the weekend and I had a ton of spanish rice left over, so I used the leftover spanish rice in this recipe. I also had a bunch of the Kraft Tex Mex blend cheese so I put about a half cup in the actual casserole and about 1 cup on the top for extra cheesy goodness. :) I omitted the cilantro because I don't like it, and it didn't need the cumin because of all the spices in the rice. I also substituted half and half instead of evaporated milk, because I didn't have any. Oh, and instead of cooking the chicken first, I just cut the raw chicken into bite size pieces and put in the the casserole as is - it cooked PERFECTLY and was not dry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rumpie1 October 21, 2008

I have to give this 5 stars because not only did I love it, but my DH loved it and he claims that he "hates chicken". I mixed in 1 cup of monetery jack cheese with the other ingredients and topped it with an additional 1 cup of cheese. I also left out the cilantro because I didn't have any on hand. I covered with foil and baked for 30 minutes, then removed the foil and baked for 10 more minutes to brown the top of the extra cheese. Thanks Pam for another great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim D. September 20, 2007

Sure make a little bite of chicken go along way. thanks ;0)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joan H. March 08, 2007

Yummy! I made this without the cilantro(I didn't have any). I will make this again, maybe next time add black beans.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
firedragonll February 25, 2007
Southwest Chicken & Rice Casserole