Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southwest Chicken & Rice Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southwest Chicken & Rice Casserole

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on July 21, 2010

      This is such a delicious and different casserole! I loved how it wasn't like any other casserole I have ever had. It comes out spicy, creamy, and cheesy! We ate it all up fast. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2013

      This was so much better than I had expected. I'm so used to casseroles containing rice to either be dry or have that "canned soup" texture and taste. This was creamy, light and moist.I did make a couple changes based on what I had on hand. I used leftover bbq shredded chicken, sharp cheddar cheese, 1 cup of milk with 2T of Greek yogurt added, 4 large green onions, and added some chili powder and oregano. I loved everything about it and look forward to making it again with other add-ins. Thanks for posting the recipe and sharing this technique for making a great rice casserole.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2011

      Good and I used the leftovers in quesidillas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2010

      Boy, was this good! I had to use the dried cilantro, canned diced jalapenos and added pinto beans and it was delicious. I also used brown rice to make it a little healthier. It makes alot for 2 people so we'll be eating the leftovers this weekend and freezing some. I'm gonna add salsa to the top like Amanda's Pantry! review suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      I halved the recipe and saved a serving to take to work. It was yummy with just enough zing to make it interesting! I topped it with some salsa and we were good to go!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2009

      just made this and was a hit at the table. added more green and red peppers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      This is the perfect recipe for left over rice! I had a make your own tacos and burritos dinner party on the weekend and I had a ton of spanish rice left over, so I used the leftover spanish rice in this recipe. I also had a bunch of the Kraft Tex Mex blend cheese so I put about a half cup in the actual casserole and about 1 cup on the top for extra cheesy goodness. :) I omitted the cilantro because I don't like it, and it didn't need the cumin because of all the spices in the rice. I also substituted half and half instead of evaporated milk, because I didn't have any. Oh, and instead of cooking the chicken first, I just cut the raw chicken into bite size pieces and put in the the casserole as is - it cooked PERFECTLY and was not dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      I have to give this 5 stars because not only did I love it, but my DH loved it and he claims that he "hates chicken". I mixed in 1 cup of monetery jack cheese with the other ingredients and topped it with an additional 1 cup of cheese. I also left out the cilantro because I didn't have any on hand. I covered with foil and baked for 30 minutes, then removed the foil and baked for 10 more minutes to brown the top of the extra cheese. Thanks Pam for another great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2007

      Sure make a little bite of chicken go along way. thanks ;0)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      Yummy! I made this without the cilantro(I didn't have any). I will make this again, maybe next time add black beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2007

      I guess I made this last year and never reviewed it, so thinking I never tried it, I made it again last night. (get all that?) I made a couple changes, using mild green chilies instead of jalapeno, and I also added a bit of shredded cheddar in addition to the Monty Jack.We all liked it - again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      This was yummy! And yes, it cuts into nice square servings. I didn't put in all 2 T. of jalapenos and it was plenty "zingy" for us. This dish could be made fiery hot if one wanted. I didn't have fresh cilantro, so threw in a 1/2 tsp. ground coriander...it worked for us! Not a speck left in the dish, all the kids and husband loved it. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southwest Chicken & Rice Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (184 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 418.2
     
    Calories from Fat 157
    37%
    Total Fat 17.5 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 9.4 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 174.1 mg
    58%
    Sodium 614.4 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.0 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 29.2 g
    58%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites