Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southwest Chicken Black Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southwest Chicken Black Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on February 11, 2003

      This soup is spicy and delicious! I didn't change anything except to add two cans of diced tomatoes (I just like lots of them!) instead of one. For the seasoning salt I used Tony Chachere's Creole seasoning - yum - this kicked up the heat a bit - perfect! My only complaint is that the recipe didn't make enough - will probably double next time. And I haven't tried it with the "Crunchy Strips" yet - I will really be hooked on it then!! Thanks, CV7!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2002

      This was the BEST soup I've ever made! It was so hearty and delicious. It was loved by all who ate it. I added some cilantro at the end, which really added a lot of flavor. RUN out and buy the ingredients for this one! Also you MUST make the "crunchy strips" to go with it. Those will be a common thing around my house now, even if Im not making this soup. Yet I don't see how I'll have one and not want the other!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2003

      This was excellent soup. Thought you might like to know I made this as the soup du jour in the restaurant today to rave reviews. I made a couple of minor changes: fresh jalapenos instead of pickled, blackening seasoning on the chicken and I also cut up a couple of corn tortillas and added them. Very Good. I will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2004

      This soup is absolutely delicious, the flavors blend very well together. Being on the south beach diet this has been my favorite recipe so far the only things I did differently we're to add one can of northern beans as I only had one can of black, and omitted the cinnamon and used chili powder instead. DELICIOUS!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2004

      What a great recipe! I've had black bean soup in restaurants and loved it, so when I saw this recipe I had to try it. It's even better! I used Tony Chachere's Creole Seasoning and I topped each bowl with shredded Monterey Jack cheese and a couple of jalapenos. Delicious, especially on a cold winter day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2004

      Southwestern is my very favorite taste, this soup was so delicious,my husband liked it so much he ate 3 bowls.I loved it too. Thanks,Darlene

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2002

      Easy to make and fast. I used cajun flavored seasoning salt and it gave the chicken a little bite but still not too spicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2011

      This soup had a wonderful combination of flavors and could be made with or without the chicken. I served this soup along with rice as I like the combination of these two textures together. I did not add the rotele as one reviewer did; however, I may add it next time along with the cilantro.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      Delicious Jamie! I used fresh jalapeno's because we always have them on hand - we love them - omitted the margarine just because we're watching fat intake - just sauteed the veggies in a little chicken broth - served it up and added a teaspoon of fat free sour cream on top along with a few thinly sliced green onions - just excellent - I love soup and this is a fantastic way to get more fiber in the diet - my husband loved it too - thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2004

      This soup was INCREDIBLE! I made it with leftover crockpot chicken, but followed the recipe otherwise. My husband is not a big soup eater, but he raved about this one. Definitely a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2014

      This was very good. Because of preference, I drained and rinsed the beans. Even though I'm not a fan of tarragon I added it. I would leave it out next time. It did not detract from the soup, but think I would prefer it without it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2011

      I have used chicken and turkey with this and both worked. I cut down on the peppers and onions for personal preference and use a little can of diced jalapenos. This soup is hot but it is also amazing! We love it. I have also had success freezing it. I actually have some in the freezer now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2010

      The whole family loved it! Even the kids! Update 10/2010: I have made this recipe many times over the last few years and it is a hit every time! If I think about it in advance, I make the chicken in the crocpot while I'm making dinner the day before and shred it. It decreases the time it takes me to assemble the rest of the recipe. Then follow the recipe as is and stir the chicken in after all the ingredients are assembled and let it cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2010

      This was really good. I was a bit skeptical of the cinnamon, but it really added flavour to the soup. I used fresh jalepenos instead of pickled ones & I didn't add the tarragon as I didn't have any. My boyfriend liked this soup, so it will definitely be made again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      This was very good. I didn't have any crushed tomatoes so I substituted a can of Rotel. Definitely a "redo"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      I have to agree that this recipe was excellent, definitely a keeper for us. Perfect for these chilly fall nights! I did not have seasoning salt, so I used blackening seasoning on the chicken instead. Yummy! I served it with your tortilla chips recipe as recommended, delicious combination. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      This recipe turned out so much better than I expected! It was really delicious! I made it as stated except used lime juice instead of lemon. Next time I think I'll do as another reviewer suggested and shred the chicken instead of slice it... purely for aesthetic reasons though. I'll definitely make this again, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      This is the best soup ever! I could not stop eating it. I had some whole grain flour tortillas that we decided were too dry to use for tacos, so I brushed them with olive oil, sprinkled them with garlic salt, cut them up and baked them, then we put them in the soup or used them as dippers. Sooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      I love this soup. I'm making it right now, for the umpteenth time. I usually freeze it and then take it to the office for lunch. My co-workers are always asking about it. I'm getting hungry just writing about it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      I LOVE this soup! I used shreded chicken the last couple times I've made it and it made all the difference. Also used fresh limes instead of lemon juice. and red, yellow, orange peppers. Cinnamon is a must.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southwest Chicken Black Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (465 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 567.0
     
    Calories from Fat 101
    17%
    Total Fat 11.2 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 72.6 mg
    24%
    Sodium 833.6 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 68.1 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 23.5 g
    94%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 50.3 g
    100%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    jalapeno peppers

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites