45 Reviews

This soup is spicy and delicious! I didn't change anything except to add two cans of diced tomatoes (I just like lots of them!) instead of one. For the seasoning salt I used Tony Chachere's Creole seasoning - yum - this kicked up the heat a bit - perfect! My only complaint is that the recipe didn't make enough - will probably double next time. And I haven't tried it with the "Crunchy Strips" yet - I will really be hooked on it then!! Thanks, CV7!!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KeyWee February 11, 2003

This was the BEST soup I've ever made! It was so hearty and delicious. It was loved by all who ate it. I added some cilantro at the end, which really added a lot of flavor. RUN out and buy the ingredients for this one! Also you MUST make the "crunchy strips" to go with it. Those will be a common thing around my house now, even if Im not making this soup. Yet I don't see how I'll have one and not want the other!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WonderCook October 29, 2002

This was excellent soup. Thought you might like to know I made this as the soup du jour in the restaurant today to rave reviews. I made a couple of minor changes: fresh jalapenos instead of pickled, blackening seasoning on the chicken and I also cut up a couple of corn tortillas and added them. Very Good. I will definitely make again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Arabannie June 03, 2003

This soup is absolutely delicious, the flavors blend very well together. Being on the south beach diet this has been my favorite recipe so far the only things I did differently we're to add one can of northern beans as I only had one can of black, and omitted the cinnamon and used chili powder instead. DELICIOUS!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarahcw80 February 19, 2004

What a great recipe! I've had black bean soup in restaurants and loved it, so when I saw this recipe I had to try it. It's even better! I used Tony Chachere's Creole Seasoning and I topped each bowl with shredded Monterey Jack cheese and a couple of jalapenos. Delicious, especially on a cold winter day.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gapeach January 19, 2004

Southwestern is my very favorite taste, this soup was so delicious,my husband liked it so much he ate 3 bowls.I loved it too. Thanks,Darlene

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene Summers January 12, 2004

Easy to make and fast. I used cajun flavored seasoning salt and it gave the chicken a little bite but still not too spicy.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JimKC November 14, 2002

This soup had a wonderful combination of flavors and could be made with or without the chicken. I served this soup along with rice as I like the combination of these two textures together. I did not add the rotele as one reviewer did; however, I may add it next time along with the cilantro.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DailyInspiration February 18, 2011

Delicious Jamie! I used fresh jalapeno's because we always have them on hand - we love them - omitted the margarine just because we're watching fat intake - just sauteed the veggies in a little chicken broth - served it up and added a teaspoon of fat free sour cream on top along with a few thinly sliced green onions - just excellent - I love soup and this is a fantastic way to get more fiber in the diet - my husband loved it too - thank you for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb_in_Indy February 19, 2010

This soup was INCREDIBLE! I made it with leftover crockpot chicken, but followed the recipe otherwise. My husband is not a big soup eater, but he raved about this one. Definitely a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emoryslis March 16, 2004
Southwest Chicken Black Bean Soup