25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I LOOOVED this chicken. Seriously 10 out of 10! UPDATE: Make this all the time - leave the chicken in the bag to marinade overnight.... OLDER Review: Based on the two negative reviews - we only used 2 TBL loosly packed brown sugar. We put all the rest of the spices (plus the sugar) into a big zip lock bag. Then cut 2 lbs boneless / skinless chicken breasts into halfs. We then put olive oil over the chicken and added fresh ground pepper (as the recipe didn't call for any). Then put the oiled chicken into the bag shook to coat and then into the fridge for about 3 hours. The chicken went onto the grill at about 475 for about 12 minutes. We added the fresh squeezed lime over the chicken upon serving. My husband and I as well as our guests loved this chicken. If you enjoy southwest flavoring and chicken you will love this chicken. Very easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gidget265 August 08, 2014

I thought this chicken was okay. It had a mild flavor, but not something I would care for. I was expecting something better based on all the high reviews.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Farhana January 27, 2010

I put the rub on some boneless, skinless chicken breasts and marinated it overnight. Although I like spicy foods, this was way too overpowering and way too salty! We did not care for this at all!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crazycook in PA June 07, 2009

Great chicken! I rubbed a bit of olive oil with the seasonings into the chicken breasts and grilled on our gas grill. I cooked it immed. and found it juicy and flavorful. I didn't find it too sweet at all! Maybe it was the grill but I tasted the spices predominantly. I served with tortellini and alfredo sauce and tossed salad. I will make this recipe often! Thanks for posting cookinrooky. Roxygirl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado January 28, 2009

I liked this recipe, didn't love it. The balance of spices was good, but it was too sweet for my taste. I might make it again if I were to reduce the amount of sugar. I used on boneless skinless chicken breasts and cooked in the oven. The chicken came out moist and was visually appealing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuperSpike November 29, 2008

Yum, yum, yum!! this recipe was amazing! We changed it just a bit - we halved the ingredients and cut up a chicken breast into bit sized pieces. We then mixed the seasoning in a bowl, tossed it with the chicken pieces, and sauteed in a small amount of olive oil over medium heat. We served the chicken over salad, but think it would be amazing over rice as well. Thanks for posting such a healthy and tasty recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kohtzy November 03, 2008

This was very easy to put together and the flavor is wonderful. I used a cut-up chicken and baked in the oven but I will be trying this on the grill or smoker this summer. Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lvs2Cook April 28, 2008

I was looking for a new easy chicken dish and this was great. The rub was easy and very tasty. I served it with corn tortillas, avacados and salad. I will definitely make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blakia March 16, 2008

***** This was really good I did marinate overnight and used chicken thighs. I will be making this again served with some rice and a salad. I did bake mine in the oven but will be trying this on the grill once spring rolls around. Thanks for posting this easy way to make chicken

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janet W February 22, 2008
Southwest Chicken