Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southern Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Sweet Potato Casserole

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on December 05, 2006

      I could not believe how wonderful this tasted! I followed the recipe exactly except I bought a can of sweet potatoes that was slightly larger than 3 cups. I mashed the sweet potatoes until they were no longer all that lumpy and rounded my measurements for the butter and brown sugar. When I had that first bite full of both brown sugar and melted butter, I was in heaven. I noted (after eating it for a week) that this tastes best when piping hot. I hate sweet potato casserole, so how is it I ate this whole casserole almost by myself? I would make this again tomorrow! Thank you for a sensational recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      Love sweet potato casserole! For a larger casserole, here's what I did and it was awesome. I baked and cooled fresh sweet potatoes first. I doubled the amounts of mashed potatoes and sugar, leaving the butter and vanilla the same, used 1 jumbo egg, and to make a firmer casserole, I omitted the milk altogether. I baked it for about 30-35 minutes before adding the Topping, then baked for another 15 minutes or so. To me, it's best to let it rest 20-30 minutes before serving. Another note..any leftover Topping freezes well for the next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2011

      We loved this AND it was easy to make...I used canned sweet potatoes..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      Excellent dish!!! The only thing I changed was I used a little less milk, especially if doubling. It held together much better, wasn't as watery as it gets when using full amount. Made a 13 x 9 dish and there was hardly any leftovers. Even the small children ate sweet potatoes and loved them, that was a first!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      Excellent side dish for Thanksgiving. I add 1 tsp. vanilla to the topping ingredients. You can make this recipe early in the day then bake as directed when ready.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      I made this for Thanksgiving and my family loved this casserole! I searched for hours looking for a recipe that I had lost several years ago in a move. This is it! So delicious! My husband demanded that I make it regularly and not just for holidays! Thank you so much for this recipe! It's a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      My husband made this and he cut the sugar, butter, and eggs in half and it was still outstanding. My friend asked for the recipe. We'll be making this again. Thank you so much for such a yummy dish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      I literally got all emotional and choked up and almost cried when I took a bite because this was that incredibly good. I will make this for every holiday and even when it's not a holiday. Best of all, I put it together the night before, put it in the fridge, then took it out about 30 mins or so before baking, so it can be made ahead! I'm curious if it will freeze... I also did just a half recipe in an 8" round pan since I'm the only one that likes sweet potatoes, and that was the only pan available ;) Thank you for sharing this heaven topped with pecans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      This was great! I followed the recipe to a "T" and served it for Thanksgiving. I had several recipe requests. Thanks Kay! Amy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      Very good sweet potato casserole...I used splenda brown sugar and splenda regular sugar and it turned out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      Easy to cook. 3 cups was 2 large sweet potatos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2007

      I wanted a change from the usual marshmallow topped sweet potato casserole and this was a good choice. I wasn't sure the pan size was correct. I felt that it would be spread way too thin in a 13x9-inch pan so I put it in a 9-inch square baking dish. Obviously the cook time was for the thinner version though as the center wasn't quite hot and was a bit runny. If you use the smaller pan, increase your baking time to about 40 minutes. The flavors were very good together and I liked that it wasn't overpoweringly sweet, but only if you cut the topping in half also. I used canned sweet potatoes but I want to try it with fresh sometime too. Even the kids agreed, it was better than the marshmallow version. We'll definitely be using this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2006

      This is great. I followed Marg's lead and went for a thicker casserole - doubled the recipe, kept it in the 9x13 pan, and baked for forty minutes. It tastes awesome. Next time, I would make less of the topping - maybe 1.5x rather than doubling. Thanks so much! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2004

      I tried this today with our Thanksgiving dinner and what a hit!! The kids raved about it and even my husband (who's not wild about sweet things) asked me to make this again for Christmas dinner! Although it almost tasted like a dessert, it went really well with the turkey. I halved the recipe, used heavy cream instead of milk and put this together the night before. Then I refrigerated it and took it out about 20 minutes before putting it into the oven. I cooked it for about 30 minutes and it was perfect! Thanks Kaykwilts for a great new favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Sweet Potato Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (105 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 342.4
     
    Calories from Fat 183
    53%
    Total Fat 20.4 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 65.8 mg
    21%
    Sodium 151.3 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.6 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 27.9 g
    111%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites