Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southern Sweet Potato Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Sweet Potato Bread

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on November 10, 2010

      This is an amazing quick bread and a nice change of pace from banana and pumpkin breads. I had a bunch of leftover sweet potatoes, so I made four loaves of this today. I cut the sugar by 25% and it was still plenty sweet. I'll probably cut the sugar in half next time. I also substituted brown sugar for half the sugar, used a combo of pecans and walnuts, and omitted the raisins. I found that I had to add quite a bit more milk to get a bread batter consistency - maybe 3-4 more tablespoons per loaf - but other than that, everything went as expected. We really, really liked this and I will definitely make it again. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2013

      Delicious! We really enjoyed this tasty quick bread. It was a nice change from banana and pumpkin bread. I used a fresh sweet potato from my garden. To save time, I microwaved it whole until soft, then I peeled and mashed it. As a personal preference, I omitted the golden raisins. I baked this in a cast iron loaf pan, so I reduced the oven temperature down to 315F degrees and baked it for 1 hour 20 minutes. Thank you for sharing. **Made for Sweet December tag**

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      My 4 year old and twin 19 month olds loved it! I'm always looking for ways to get extra veggies in them. I cut the sugar to 1/2 cup and will likely cut it again or omit it all together. I found the raisins, soaked first in hot water, provided lots of sweetness. I, too, used extra sweet potatoes as I had them all mashed up and I used 1/2 cup plain flour and 1 cup whole meal. I had to add a bit more milk to make it the right consistency. And I ran out of oil, so I used some butter. Yum.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      This bread is moist and flavorful, next time, i will use more sweet potato. I like a little more potato density, but a good bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      Delicious! I almost swapped the amounts of nutmeg and cinnamon because I usually prefer the taste of cinnamon to nutmeg, but I made it exactly by the recipe, and I love it. Perfect amounts of raisins and nuts also. Great buttered and toasted and great as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      MOVE OVER pumpkin and zuchini!!! This was such a hit that dh and the kids didn't even let it cool all the way before they ate both loaves!! Did use regular raisins instead of the golden, and nobody seamed to mind.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2008

      I love this bread! I've had the recipe saved to try for a long time and finally decided to make it, I'm sure glad I did. I resisted the temptation to eat it the day I baked it, and it's so moist. Thanks, will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      The texture was a bit crumbly, and because I only sprayed the bottom of my pans, one of my loaves stuck and broke (I doubled the recipe). Still, the texture of the crust was wonderful--crisp yet melts in your mouth. I used sultanas in one loaf and orange-flavored dried cranberries in one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

      We loved this. I followed the recipe but omitted the raisins and used walnuts instead of pecans. The bread was tasty and moist. My advice to those trying this bread is to NOT eat any of it for at least 24 hours. We thought the bread tasted the best after two days (and it was still moist). Great make-ahead recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      EXCELLENT! I made this without the pecans and raisins (as I don't like "things" in my breads). It was delicious, so moist and flavorful. I've made this twice already and will definitely make it again. Great way to sneak in some healthy sweet potato.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      Great way to use up left over sweet potatoes from Thanksgiving. I like nutmeg, so I really liked this bread. You could cut back a little on the nutmeg if you're not a huge fan. This was so easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      Fantastic loaf I made no changes did as is :) took half of it over to my "True Southern" elderly lady friend here in East Coast NC and she loved it. So if a true Southern Belle can give it 2 thumbs up so do I :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2004

      Wonderful!! I used 1/2 Splenda and 1/2 reg sugar and sub'd natural applesauce for oil. Also, thank you for the self-rising formula at the end. I never can remember what it is. Certainly a great "bread" for Thanksgiving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2004

      Excellent! I don't think I've ever made sweet potato bread before (only biscuits). I also used my Kitchenaid mixer and it was so easy. Really good; I'll be making this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2004

      Oh, oh, oh! This is good. I used the Splenda baking blend for the sugar, 1/2 cup applesauce for the oil and used regular raisins that had been plumped in hot water and then drained. For the sweet potato, I microwaved a whole potato and when done just peeled away the skin. I actually put everyting, except the raisins and nuts, in my Kitchenaid mixer. I will be making this for Christmas. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Sweet Potato Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (94 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 366.9
     
    Calories from Fat 181
    49%
    Total Fat 20.1 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 42.7 mg
    14%
    Sodium 261.8 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.2 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 25.4 g
    101%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes